Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Maureen N. (bookloverinla) - Reviews

21 to 40 of 55 - Page:
The Hundred Secret Senses
The Hundred Secret Senses
Author: Amy Tan
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/26/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Incredible book, incredible story...I didn't love Amy Tan's (own) narration, but that was ok. This is my second favorite Amy Tan, The Bonesetter'd Daughter being my all time favorite.


The Illuminated Alphabet
The Illuminated Alphabet
Author: Theodore Menten
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/3/2012


Great help for designing, adding touches to papers, newsletters, art work, greeting cards, etc.


Julius Caesar: The Life of a Roman General
Julius Caesar: The Life of a Roman General
Author: Gary Jeffrey, Kate Petty
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/2/2012


Great illustrations, engaging text, great summer afternoon read for late elementary and middle schoolers. Includes glossary and historical context.


Kokoro From the Heart
Kokoro From the Heart
Author: Japanese Woman's Society of Hawaii
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/12/2014


Charming book - describes all those aspects of Japanese culture which become integral parts of Hawaiian culture. I loved the spiral binding so you can follow a recipe or craft.


La Bella Figura: A Field Guide to the Italian Mind
La Bella Figura: A Field Guide to the Italian Mind
Author: Beppe Severgnini
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 7/2/2012


Laugh out loud funny - read after traveling to Italy, wish I'd read it before we went, but then I might not have gotten the humor!


The Lady and the Monk : Four Seasons in Kyoto (Vintage Departures)
The Lady and the Monk : Four Seasons in Kyoto (Vintage Departures)
Author: Pico Iyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 11/15/2012
Helpful Score: 2


I mostly enjoyed this book but the side story with the woman friend started to wear a bit tedious. I found myself skimming over those sections. Other parts were very engaging and he certainly writes well which kept me reading through to the end. Overall, it's an enjoyable book.


The Last Battle
The Last Battle
Author: C. S. Lewis, Pauline Baynes
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/2/2012


Didn't want this series to end, a joy.


Learning About States and Capitals
Learning About States and Capitals
Author: Kahtleen Knoblock
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/3/2012


Excellent black line diagrams; excellent content.


Little Boys Bible Storybook for Mothers and Sons
Review Date: 8/13/2012


A charming book, my son asked for this every night around age 6 or 7.


London (City Guide)
London (City Guide)
Author: Rebecca Ford
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/14/2015


This was my go to book when I traveled to London Nov. 2014. Had a lot of interesting background info on the main sightseeing places, it was extremely well organized and the maps were terrific. Has lots of history and off- beat info.


Looking for the Lost: Journeys Through a Vanishing Japan (Kodansha Globe)
Review Date: 1/1/2014


I loved this book, what a fun, humorous and educational trip!


Matisse: A Portrait
Matisse: A Portrait
Author: Hayden Herrera
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/7/2012
Helpful Score: 1


A synopsis:
Matisse was confined by neither the academy nor the dogma of Neo-Impressionism but was instead rooted in his senses and in the sensuality of paint that is so much the focus of his art. Herrera ( Frida Kahlo: The Paintings , LJ 5/15/92; Mary Frank , Abrams, 1990) tells the story of the much-admired genius in this illustrated critical biography. The author demonstrates Matisse's progression from Fauvism to individual expression, illuminating some significant paintings along the way. She also explores the role of the artist's family in various creations: portraying the relationship with a doubtful but supporting father; examining Matisse's use of his wife and children as art models; and describing some pretty tortured times in France during both world wars. Herrera acknowledges more extensive books by Jack Flam, Lawrence Gowing, Nicholas Watkins, and John Russell, among others, in a bibliographic note; although she is breaking no new ground, comprehensive collections will want this book as a well-chosen window from which to observe the artist.
- Ellen Bates, New York
Copyright 1993 Reed Business Information, Inc.


A Mind at a Time:  America's Top Learning Expert Shows How Every Child Can Succeed
Review Date: 7/2/2012


Very useful information about how children learn - great for homeschoolers or for parents of children with 'learning disabilities' - helps to prepare you for dealing with special ed meetings and teachers. And ways to work with them.


The Modern Reader's Japanese - English Character Dictionary (Romanized Form])
Review Date: 6/26/2012


This is THE go to guide for all students of Japanese - an absolute must have. I bought mine around 1985 and used it every single day for years. It's well worn and well loved...I considered ordering this one just to have another copy...but it's one of those things, I feel loyal to my old, penciled-in-notes, worn, slightly falling apart copy...plus I wouldn't want to deprive another student from getting this one (I agree with the other reviewer, can't believe it's still here!)...I paid $35. for mine 25 years ago!!


Mosby's Memoirs & Other Stories
Mosby's Memoirs & Other Stories
Author: Bellow, Saul
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/2/2012


"A fine collection, deeply moving, written by one of the greatest literary artists that America has produced" says the Louisville Times about this book by the winner of the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1976. Stories include "Leaving the Yellow House," "The Old System," "Looking for Mr. Green," "The Gonzaga Manuscripts," "A Father-to-Be" and "Mosby's Memoirs."


Napoleon Bonaparte (Why They Became Famous Series)
Napoleon Bonaparte (Why They Became Famous Series)
Author: Donnali Shor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/3/2012


Very interesting youth (upper elementary to high school) biography. Full color illustrations on every page. Covers the whole span of Napolean's life and ventures. Has great reference area including several short bios of other major players in the appendix.


Nathaniel Hawthorne: The Introduction of an American Author's Work into Japan
Review Date: 5/2/2012


Such an interesting aspect of history -


Nautical Cut  Use Stencils : 92 Full-Size Stencils Printed on Durable Stencil Paper
Review Date: 7/3/2012


Great illustrations for nautical themes. On firm paper that allows for a very substantial stencil. Great for bulletin boards, book clip art, reports, etc. Great for classroom and tracing exercises.


On Familiar Terms: A Journey Across Cultures (Kodansha globe series)
Review Date: 7/29/2012


I loved this book - I started studying Japan and Japanese through a serendipity similar to Professor Keene's though about 40 years later. It was fascinating to read about how they did it way back then and how much could be achieved through scholarship (tough), we really have it so much easier now with so many study aids and texts.
It was a great time and amazing journey for Prof. Keene, I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book; he is a classy guy.


Pearl of China
Pearl of China
Author: Anchee Min
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 2/29/2016


Great read! It is historical fiction - characters are fictionalized but within their reasonable context - loved it!


21 to 40 of 55 - Page:
Want fewer ads?