Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Julie Q. - Reviews

1 to 16 of 16
Escape
Escape
Author: Carolyn Jessop, Laura Palmer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 340
Review Date: 11/13/2015


This is a fascinating but sad story of how polygamists abuse, control and manipulate women and families. It is not well written, in that they repeat some facts so many times that you feel they are beating you over the head, but other than that, An informative and good read.


Everything on a Waffle (Coal Harbour, Bk 1)
Everything on a Waffle (Coal Harbour, Bk 1)
Author: Polly Horvath
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 1/24/2011


This is a very cute book that deals with a difficult situation in a funny and light manner while still being grounded in reality. When Primrose's parents disappear, she has to face going into foster care and not everyone is one her side, etc. but she finds a way to cope while many people around her are just a little quirky and fun.
Not a memorable character, but a fun book to read.


A Fairy Went a-Marketing
A Fairy Went a-Marketing
Author: Rose Fyleman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/22/2012


Excellent Children's book that can be sung to a child to the tune of "Ensy Weensy Spider." The Illustrations are top-notch. So very hard to find a book about fairies and mythical creatures where they dress modestly, and this is a very modest and proper Fairy with a conscious. The story illustrates fair-play and compassion.


Guide Me to Eternity
Guide Me to Eternity
Author: Christine Tuttle Monsen, Stan Zenk, Aspen Books
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 11/13/2015


This is the tragic story of a woman with a large family loosing her husband. She then shares intimate details of the spiritual blessings that come to her to give her strength that seem so fantastic that she either made them up or she should have kept them sacred and not written a book about it. I had a hard time believing any of it and thought the people involved were overly "Spiritual" and were making things up to either bring solace or to make themselves seem like "Spiritual Giants." I for one, did not enjoy this book and do not recommend it.


Hidden Child of the Holocaust: A True Story
Hidden Child of the Holocaust: A True Story
Author: Stacy Cretzmeyer
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 1/24/2011


Fascinating Book. I read this book at a time in my life when I was living with my Daughter and her Husband and his parents. I had a home of my own, but my daughter was very ill and needed me to be there for her. It was fascinating to see how awful life could really become and gave me a new perspective on how good we have it even if life is difficult. No one was chasing me, I did not have to hide from the authorities or live in the woods, I had food, a warm place to sleep and was happy that I could freely associate with my family.


Lone Woman: The Story of Elizabeth Blackwell, the First Woman Doctor
Review Date: 2/29/2012
Helpful Score: 2


Excellent read. I have read the book twice, and plan in reading it again. It is inspiring and insightful, and Dorothy Wilson gives an accurate view into the world and culture of the 19th & early 20th century, and what Elizabeth had to go through to achieve her goal. If it had not been for a few good men who helped her on her way, she may not have achieved her goal. It is not all about "I am Woman, hear me roar", but about careful planning, and diligent work towards her goal, quietly and steadily. Totally an awesome story!!!


Medieval Woman : An Illuminated Book of Days
Medieval Woman : An Illuminated Book of Days
Author: Sally Fox
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/25/2011


Beautiful Journal for you to write in with lots of Medieval Paintings on every page. THis is a lovely book!!


Millicent
Millicent
Author: Millicent Collinsworth, Jan Winebrenner
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 1/25/2011


Millicent is not a professional writer and it really shows. She tends to ramble at times, especially in the beginning, but her story is worth telling and worth reading. It is too bad that she didn't have better editors. It is very uplifting and I would read it again.


Paul Revere's Ride : The Landlord's Tale
Paul Revere's Ride : The Landlord's Tale
Author: Henry Wadsworth Longfellow
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/10/2018


this is the Classic Poem by Longfellow that made Paul Revere Famous. It is fantastically Illustrated and is thrilling to read and the illustrations are beautiful and creative, and I think my grandkids like it too.


Peace Like a River
Peace Like a River
Author: Leif Enger
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 9/22/2012


Though it is very well written and extremly engaging, In the final analysis I am sorry that I ever read this book. I have known people that were murdered, and it is not something I think of as entertainment, and the bottom line is that this book is about premeditated murder, and it is up close and personal. Book clubs talk about the miracles, and relationships very carefully sidestepping the fact that people were gunned down in cold blood, and I was in a bad mood for a week after reading this. I would rather read Classics by Charlotte Bronte, history books by Barbara Tushman, or make believe like J.K. Rowley. Not this.


The Relationship Seasons: Navigating the 5 Stages of Relationships
Review Date: 3/4/2011


I have not read this book yet, but I have attended a series of lectures that the book is based on, and it is life changing!! If you want to learn how not to get divorced, then you need to learn to date before you get married. My two adult children attended the lectures with me before they got married, and it was wonderful. They both have awesome marriages. and this book spells out the stages of dating that should occur in order for the relationship to last. Some of us were lucky, and it worked out anyway, but I certainly wish I had this book when I was dating. I can't wait to get it!!!!


Revenge of the Whale: The True Story of the Whaleship Essex (Boston Globe-Horn Book Honors (Awards))
Review Date: 1/11/2015


I read the Full version of this book, "In the Heart of the Sea" and it was a fascinating account of the whaling industry on Nantucket and life there, life on a whaling boat, and life in the 19th Century. Where Moby Dick ends is where the real story begins, and it is fascinating. This book is well written and was a pleasure to read. I highly recommend this story.


Sing Down the Moon
Sing Down the Moon
Author: Scott O'Dell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/23/2012


Incredible account of Life for Native Americans that lived in the Grand Canyon are of the United States. A realistic view of their lifestyle, culture, and habits. We live such a life of pampered luxury, it was a real eye opener.


The Three Blind Mice: The Whole Story
The Three Blind Mice: The Whole Story
Author: Rh Value Publishing
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/11/2011


Great to sing to toddlers to teach music and train their ear, and the story line is fun for adults as these mice learn lessons of life.


Train Song
Train Song
Author: Diane Siebert
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/1/2012


Excellent illustrations and wonderfully cadenced poem about trains that can be recited to sound like a train, slow at first, then faster, then slowing down again. Beautiful!


Wine Notes
Wine Notes
Author: Julia Hecomovich
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 2/25/2011


This is a Hardcover Journal for Wine lovers. It has some instructional text in the front, but it has sections for recording your tasting and vineyard trips, labels, wine cellar, with your wine cellar history and inventory. The last 2 sections are a place to record your outings to "wine and dine" and an address "book" for wine merchants. It is a nice little journal with 127 pages.


1 to 16 of 16
Want fewer ads?