Facebook

Stef S. (bookgoddessme) - Reviews

41 to 60 of 107 - Page:
Haunting Bombay
Haunting Bombay
Author: Shilpa Agarwal
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/31/2012


One of my FAVORITE books. I was NEVER bored, had rich characters and descriptions of food and traditions in India in the 1950's. Amazing story that will have you on the edge of your seat the entire time.


Hollow City (Miss Peregrine, Bk 2)
Hollow City (Miss Peregrine, Bk 2)
Author: Ransom Riggs
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 9/14/2014


The adventure continued in this book with our beloved peculiar friends. The author put our little heroes into the most impossible situations throughout the book right up to the end. Here's the thing though, I experience this over and over with any series, I can only feel the amazement and awe the first time around. Now when our friends use their powers, I already know they exist. when they encounter the bad guys, I know what they are capable of. I was less enchanted this time around. Well written regardless. Try it, there is another on the way, and a movie coming out. Will try them all.


HOME : American Writers Remember Rooms of Their Own
HOME : American Writers Remember Rooms of Their Own
Author: Sharon Sloan Fiffer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/21/2014


Another book I had high expectations for, but those fell slightly short. I am enamored with the idea of *home* myself personally, so I guess the selected authors seeing the concept of home with different eyes than I were a let down. I have great nostalgia for my concept of home, and theirs were often melancholy, sad, or even tragic. Try it yourself, it is overall a quick read being a series of short tales.


Home to Big Stone Gap  (Big Stone Gap, #4)
Home to Big Stone Gap (Big Stone Gap, #4)
Author: Adriana Trigiani
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 2/3/2015


I fell head over heels for Adriana's characters, setting, and overall writing style. This is the first of her novels that I have read, and had ordered 4 more before I was even done with it. It is set between autumn and winter, my favorite times of the year, and her characters are delightful and flawed. HIghly recommend that you try it!


Homeland and Other Stories
Homeland and Other Stories
Author: Barbara Kingsolver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 134
Review Date: 4/11/2015


Oh, my first taste of non-fiction Barbara Kinsolver, and I wasn't crazy about it. Perhaps it is because her fiction is so magical and uplifting, even after your heart gets slammed down. These stories seemed abrupt and often sad. I could see where she borrowed some character's personalities from in the stories told here. I will try her other non-fiction offering because she is an excellent author, but not my favorite book.


The Honey Thief
The Honey Thief
Author: Elizabeth Graver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 2/1/2014


Enjoyed meeting all the characters and seeing their flaws. I really felt for them when they perpetuated their own misery by not following their hearts. Good, entertaining story, easy to follow and enjoy. Graver really created people that were easy to believe and care about.


How To Survive In An Organization
How To Survive In An Organization
Author: James J. Heaphey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/14/2014


I had high expectations for this book, but in my opinion found it a big disorganized. I felt like each chapter was promising to explain some great theory in a later chapter, and that never really came. Although I made some notations, and copied down some quotes, I was disappointed overall personally. What this will do is encourage me to try other books on the same subject, and see what's out there. Try it yourself, and report back on your findings.


In the Garden of Beasts: Love, Terror, and an American Family in Hitler's Berlin
Review Date: 12/21/2013


Big expectations for the book, and I found it to be okay. Although I appreciated a lot of the interesting historical details, I felt like many could have been left out because they were irrelevant to the story overall. I did find that I craved more story overall, perhaps it was the non-fiction format of the book. A good retelling of the behind the scenes history of a difficult to understand time in history. Larson really lifts the veil and reveals all the ego and corruption of a fascinating time in history.


Inferno (Robert Langdon, Bk 4)
Inferno (Robert Langdon, Bk 4)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 1/27/2015
Helpful Score: 1


I appreciate Dan Brown's predictable formula when he writes. This book is close to my heart having lots of family living in Italy, and visiting myself a few times. The story was interesting and as always kept you guessing at what would happen next, and wondering how Robert and his attractive helper would get out of the next impossible situation. I always have my phone close by looking up historical references and images that he is discussing. A really fun book!


Inner Peace For Busy Women: Balancing Work, Family, And Your Inner Life
Review Date: 1/18/2015


It was okay, I just think the market is saturated with books like this, and this one didn't stand out for me. I think the author wrote it mostly for herself. Try it, you may like it? I would never choose green text for a book though.


Iron John: A Book About Men
Iron John: A Book About Men
Author: Robert Bly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 12/21/2013


Iron John read like someone's master's thesis to me. I think the author really dragged out the tale with too many details drawing away our attention instead of just taking a fascinating folk tale and just telling it with some contemporary analysis based on his varied experiences with it. It kind of set out a disclaimer right away that it was not a book intended for women (thanks) but for men to help themselves, as it is too often, in the author's opinion, that women would participate in these types of male centered books, lectures, and retreats. Oh well, it's a good book that many will enjoy I'm sure, I'm just not one of them.


Krampus: The Yule Lord
Krampus: The Yule Lord
Author: Brom
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 11/15/2013


A well told story, full of action and well written characters. This is often challenging in the horror/monster genre. Tells a great tale, with lots of historical details, and connects it seamlessly with present day life. Insightful and detail oriented. This had me with my nose deep in the book. Recommend for those who enjoy this genre, the historical story of Krampus the Yule Lord, or Christmas fiction.


The Language of Flowers
The Language of Flowers
Author: Vanessa Diffenbaugh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 178
Review Date: 3/1/2014
Helpful Score: 1


Breathtaking, Heartbreaking, Riveting. Has become a favorite book. The journey that you take with main character Victoria is absolutely life changing. The empathy and perfect flaws that the author creates in her main characters is like listening to the most beautiful symphony ever written. Your heart will feel like it is on a roller coaster. The book has my favorite type of ending, a neat & hopeful one. Enjoy it!


Leaping Beauty : And Other Animal Fairy Tales
Review Date: 2/3/2015


Unfortunately, this was a Gregory Maguire "miss" for me. I will try anything that he writes, and have enjoyed most of his other offereings. The book poorly retold classic fairy tales with bratty characters, and poor grammar that will be outdated as soon as new sayings are coined. I would not even read this to children. Not his best work in my opinion, but read it yourself to see, I got through it in about an hour.


Leonardo's Swans
Leonardo's Swans
Author: Karen Essex
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 9/14/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Don't get me wrong, the book was well written, and had beautiful, detailed descriptions of life in Italy in the 1500's. My heart ached for my beautiful main character Beatrice. All the excess, and lies, and betrayal, and greed just put me off. The nobles taxed the poor to have expensive tokens of their ego made. It's amazing how little has changed, and how yes, history repeats itself. A wonderful novel for a different person than me. Lovely descriptions of real historical figures, architecture, and artwork. A beautiful written description of the culture and norms of the time.


Let It Snow: The Jubilee Express / A Cheertastic Christmas Miracle / The Patron Saint of Pigs
Review Date: 12/9/2014


Very cute, quick read to raise your holiday spirits. More suited for teens and young adults in my opinion.I absolutely loved the format of how one story flowed into the next even though they were penned by three different authors. Very sweet, recommend.


A Lion Among Men (Wicked Years, Bk 3)
A Lion Among Men (Wicked Years, Bk 3)
Author: Gregory Maguire
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 139
Review Date: 1/23/2014


This was my favorite so far in the Wicked series, but maybe it's because these characters have become friends and creatures I care about. Maguire is an environment weaver of sights and sounds that are so detailed and creative and unique. Maguire writes from a very male voice for me, yet I still keep reading him. There has got to be something about him, and I think it's the vision and wonderful details that he depicts. Recommend.


The Lost Symbol (Robert Langdon, Bk 3)
The Lost Symbol (Robert Langdon, Bk 3)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 1047
Review Date: 1/27/2015


As someone who just loves American History and Masonic conspiracies this book was like a dream. I was riveted throughout and took copious notes on all the fun references. This was a really engaging story in Brown's predictable format. It keeps you reading, and takes you on a 24 hour adventure of a lifetime.


Love Without Conditions: Reflections of the Christ Mind
Love Without Conditions: Reflections of the Christ Mind
Author: Paul Ferrini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 10/25/2014


This book reads quickly, but I just didn't find it inspiring or very helpful to me. Not sure why. Give it a try yourself.


Loving Frank
Loving Frank
Author: Nancy Horan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 580
Review Date: 10/16/2013
Helpful Score: 2


I have to begin with a WOW. What a story! I just love historical fiction with a strong female character, and boy did I get what I wanted. Highly recommend. I found myself looking up architectural references constantly, and being in awe each time. This author really did her homework, and provides us with a rich, detailed, emotional tale with characters we really care about. Amazing!


41 to 60 of 107 - Page: