Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Becky W. (kysmom02) - Reviews

1 to 16 of 16
Blackout at Christmas: Stranded with the Bridesmaid / Santa Under Cover / Kiss Me on Christmas (Silhouette Romantic Suspense, No 1583)
Review Date: 10/18/2009


This book had three cute, brainless stories. I read this book in an afternoon. I really like Cornelison's writing and haven't read the other two authors so I was excited to pick this up. I liked all three stories and the ideas behind them. They even made me laugh!

However, I didn't have enough time to get to know the characters or get totally engaged in the plot. There just wasn't enough to each of the stories for me. There wasn't much character development so I just didn't seem to care how things ended in each story.

Overall, all three stories are forgettable. The reason that the book still gets a decent rating is because sometimes that's what I need. I need something that isn't heavy, and that doesn't cause me to really evaluate the situations. They really were good stories, just didn't contain enough for me.


Blood Game (Eve Duncan, Bk 9)
Blood Game (Eve Duncan, Bk 9)
Author: Iris Johansen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 128
Review Date: 12/15/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I waited and waited for this book. I added it to every wish list available to see how I could get it quicker. And well.....I'm bummed. Yes, I think that this gets us closer to the end when it comes to Bonnie, and figuring out how Eve and Joe are going to make it, but this is not nearly as good as other books in the series. Not even close!

It's a good mystery. And it brings in Megan Blair from a past book in the series. Megan's involvement and impact on Joe is by far the best thing that came out of this book. While normally Eve is busy with her work, it's totally sidelined in this book and I found that I mised that. As usual, Jane is a part of the drama and finds herself in danger of being bait for deranged killer who is after Eve. Montalvo makes an appearance in this book and I'm curious as to where that's leading.

I read the book in only a couple of days even though I wasn't really interested in the mystery or crime. I was more interested in how all the individual pieces were going to piece into other coming boooks in the series. I kept hoping for more, but that hope will have to carry over to the next book in the series due out in 2010.


Dark Side of the Morgue (Spike Berenger, Bk 2)
Dark Side of the Morgue (Spike Berenger, Bk 2)
Author: Raymond Benson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/27/2009
Helpful Score: 2


What an interesting book! I don't know much about what happens behind the scenes with musicians so it was cool to have this backstage pass. The book was a very quick read for me. I finished it in two days and loved it! It was hard to put down. One of the things that I noticed right when I started the book was the track listing at the front. It's a list of chapters, but are referred to as tracks, a playlist of sorts. Each "track" is a specific song by a particular band. The fun part about it was that each song title had much to do with what was happening in that chapter. It was different and I enjoyed that part very much. I enjoyed getting to know Spike. The private investigator for Rockin' Security. He is an intriguing character which makes me want to pick up other books with him in it. A great things about the story line is that I wasn't able to solve the crime before Spike did. That's a big plus! Overall, a great read! I'd recommend it!


Dead Shot
Dead Shot
Author: Annie Solomon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 1/26/2010


In a word: gripping. This one had me from page one all the way to the end. Read it in almost one sitting. Only took a break long enough to sleep for a few hours!

Like my first Solomon book, there's a cop in this one. Though I don't think Ray is quite the hunk that One Deadly Sin used to keep us turning the pages, Gillian was a gal to watch. She was strong, yet vulnerable-- stubborn, yet yielding when necessary. She had a past that she thumbed her nose at rather than hiding from, and in an interesting way: photography.

I loved the plot. It's got enough differences in it that it didn't seem ordinary. I actually expected more from the Ray/Gillian relationship to happen during the story, but this really focused on finding Gillian's boogeyman. She was definitely the prime character in this one and I though very well developed. That is on of Solomon's strong capabilities. She does a fantastic job making them real.

Overall, another good one! Headed to PBS to find another Solomon book. Can't wait to read them all!


Divine Justice (Camel Club, Bk 4)
Divine Justice (Camel Club, Bk 4)
Author: David Baldacci
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 238
Review Date: 2/6/2009


Divine Justice is the fourth book in the Camel Club series. This story follows Oliver Stone, aka John Carr on a breathtaking ride to Divine, Virginia. Stone, a former hit man for the government is on the run after taking out two very high profile figures. He lands in Divine, Virginia a little by accident thinking that the small, quiet town will be a great place to hide out for a while. However, he gets pulled into a much larger situation that threatens his life as much as the feds that are after him.

This is the first book I've read of Baldacci's, but I will be adding the previous three Camel Club novels to my wish list. I enjoyed the audio version of this book, and was hooked by the middle of disc one. I almost listened to it all in one day! One thing that I really liked about the audio version was the music. There was a little bit at the beginnings and endings of some of the chapters, but best of all, there were also places where there were sound effects too. For example, there was gunfire, and also the screeching of tires. A couple of times I actually jumped out of my seat, but I enjoyed it! I found myself really liking the characters of the book, and I think that's why I'd like to go back to the beginning of the series so that I can understand how it is that these people are friends. They are each different, yet very loyal. Overall, great book!


Drawn in Blood (FBI, Bk 2)
Drawn in Blood (FBI, Bk 2)
Author: Andrea Kane
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 1/26/2010


Awesome book! Though I didn't like this one quite as well as Twisted, this one amazed me just the same.

The amount of research that Ms. Kane puts into her books is fantastic. It really helps make the story believable because it has such a ring of truth to it. This book delves into the world of art theft. Not anything that I'm familiar with, nor anything that I've read about before. That in itself made this book stand out.

Sloane and Derek are interesting characters. Each strong in their own way, yet willing to bend each other's way to make a relationship work. I liked that there wasn't a whole bunch of drama centered around their relationship. Sometimes with the romantic/suspense books you get the whole break-up/get back together thing going. It wasn't necessary in this book, and I think it might have ruined it. They worked together to strengthen their relationship and to solve a case. I actually think it made their characters seem much more real.

The ending was perfect. Usually in books with characters that I enjoy, I find myself mad that the book is over and wanting more because I need something more from them. However, this book ended, then went to an epilogue that closed out the stories. While Kane could easily bring these characters back, she wouldn't have to. I really liked how the epilogue put the finishing touches on the whole story.

Overall, if this is your genre, you HAVE to read Kane. Whether it's this book, Twisted, or any others, she is a fantastic writer who has a new and devoted follower.


Drive Me Wild: Double Trouble / Double the Pleasure / Double the Fun
Drive Me Wild: Double Trouble / Double the Pleasure / Double the Fun
Author: P. J. Mellor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 12/2/2009


Funny, sexy, quick-n-easy read! All three of these stories were great. Not heavy erotica, just overly sexy romance. All three included twins, but nothing kinky! I found myself laughing out loud a couple of times just because somethings just don't happen the way they did here.

The characters in all three are charming and each has their own set of problems. I found myself interested in the whole "being a twin" aspect and tried to imagine myself with a twin. While I didn't necessarily connect with the characters, I cared about them and was pulling for things to work out for each.

The third story, Double the Fun was my favorite of the three. Can't really say why, just seemed to like it best. I think it's because it pulls the first two stories together just a bit, and gave me more of an ending to the other two. I can definatly recommend this to someone who likes light-hearted sexy, without the hardcore! Thumbs up!


Eclipse Bay (Eclipse Bay, Bk 1)
Eclipse Bay (Eclipse Bay, Bk 1)
Author: Jayne Ann Krentz
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 215
Review Date: 11/4/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I really liked this story! I'm excited that it's a series and that I get to follow these characters a little further. Both Rafe and Hannah are incredibly independent individuals and to see them come together was fun. Hannah is very naive which was a little annoying at times, but it still worked for her in this book.


The little bit of drama that the two were involved in gave the story something more than just a love story. Most of all, their honesty and determination carry them through the investigation of who killed a young girl 8 years ago, and that same determination brings them together. I suppose that the investigation into the death of Rafe's old girlfriend eight years prior was a little bit of a stretch. After 8 years, you wouldn't think that finding the killer would be possible, but Rafe and Hannah uncover the secrets and in the end bridge the gap between their families.


Overall, this was a quick easy read and very enjoyable. I'm really liking Krentz's stuff and look forward to several that she's got coming out!


Heat Wave (Nikki Heat, Bk 1)
Heat Wave (Nikki Heat, Bk 1)
Author: Richard Castle
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 168
Review Date: 10/18/2009
Helpful Score: 16


Loved it! But, I'm a huge fan of the show, so I might be a little biased! And, I loved this in the way that I like brainless reads. Plus, I like the references during the show to the book. It makes me feel like I'm on the inside!

Rook and Nikki Heat have the same type of relationship and undercurrents as does Castle and Beckett on the TV show. It's got much of the same wit and sarcasm. I really enjoyed the book but it was totally forgettable. The case was fun, fast-paced and pretty standard for this type of book. There wasn't much conflict, or anything that really got my heart pumping. I actually laughed more than I frowned in concentration!

Overall, if you like the show, you'll enjoy the book. Otherwise, I don't think that anyone will find this very engaging. It's a light read that is more enjoyable due to it's underlying humor.


The Innocent
The Innocent
Author: Harlan Coben
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 394
Review Date: 1/26/2010


Though I finished this one, I didn't like it much. It was just very OK for me.

This is the second Coben book and I can't say that I'm in a hurry to pick up any others. His books seem very convoluted. That's the best word that I can come up with. I thought it of Just One Look and I thought the same thing here. He's definitely good with twists! As the reader, I never saw them coming and certainly couldn't predict any because there were to many.

Where I tend to look for and enjoy well developed characters, I don't get it from Coben because there are too many other things happening. The plot line was good and something different, but I'd have liked to know more about some of the key players. I never had that feeling of being in the characters shoes, or in their thoughts. It's that part of a book that suck me in give the book depth.

Overall, not good, not bad. It was a super slow read for me because I just couldn't get completely into it.


Malice (New Orleans, Bk 6)
Malice (New Orleans, Bk 6)
Author: Lisa Jackson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 96
Review Date: 6/15/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I'm a little jumbled over this one. While I liked the book and didn't ever think about stopping, I found myself tuning out. It seemed at times to go on and on and on and on....... I wasn't sure that I'd never make it to the solution of the mystery! I liked that the settings were well defined and the characters were well established, but there seemed to be more detail in places that was necessary. I wanted to shout "get on with it already!" more than once. There were several murders and many twist which came down to an ex-lover of Bentz's. This was made obvious by her talking in the first person. The rest of the story was told from a different point of view.

I liked that the villain was a woman. Most of the time that isn't the case, so that was a little bit of a twist right from the start. I couldn't wait to figure out which one she was. I just kept getting so lost in all the other stuff. It was like wading through the mud to determine what was really needed to solve this mystery.

Overall, not bad, but I waited for this book for a long time to not enjoy it as much as I'd hoped.


The Match: The Day the Game of Golf Changed Forever
The Match: The Day the Game of Golf Changed Forever
Author: Mark Frost
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 3/30/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This really isn't a book that I would pick up to read. However, I really enjoyed it! I'm new to the game of golf, so none of the men in the book were immediately recognized. I have heard a few of these names associated with the game, but didn't know anything about them, or how they pursued the game of golf. Much of this book is a history lesson about the game of golf and how it changed as a result of a few individuals. Learning about these men was actually quite interesting. Harvie Ward was the comic, Ben Hogan the silent and reserved, Byron Nelson the friendly coach and Ken Venturi was the youngster. I truly enjoyed getting to know these men and what they each brought to the game of golf. Of the four, Ward's story was one of achievement, and the one that I enjoyed the most. He was wronged, yet did not point fingers and blame. He grew from the whole escapade and became a much better person for it. His story was inspirational.

Ultimately, the story tells about what is referred to as The Match. It was an informal eighteen hole round of golf played by the games top two amateurs, as seen by Eddie Lowery, and the top to pros, picked by George Coleman. Lowery and Coleman had a bet on this match and the foursome each had their own side bets. When all was said and done, the pros won by 1 stroke. What this proves is that during that time in history, the sport was predominately played by amateurs, though some held professional status. Nowadays, there wouldn't be any two amateurs who could play against any two pros and put up the same numbers. Many of the records that these 4 men set are still standing, and at the least, still talked about. The game as a whole is much different today than back when these men played the game. Back then it was about pride, score improvement and bettering oneself. Now, it's largely about the money and the endorsements.


Nightwalker
Nightwalker
Author: Heather Graham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 1/26/2010


This book was not for me. I finished it, but I didn't enjoy it. I found it to be a cheesy ghost story that didn't have enough depth. I actually liked Ringo (one of the ghosts in this story) more than I liked either Dillon or Jessy.

I can't tell you why I even kept reading this. I guess I just wanted to finish it, but there wasn't any pull to even figure out what was really going on. I wasn't interested or even intrigued with the plot line and the death of the bodyguard. I wasn't even really into the whole hookup between Dillon and Jessy. For me, usually I'm at least into one part or the other!

Overall, the book isn't written badly, it just wasn't my cup of tea. I can't say that I'll give up on this author, but I won't be rushing for another one anytime soon.


One Deadly Sin
One Deadly Sin
Author: Annie Solomon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 4/30/2009
Helpful Score: 3


I LOVED this book! It was a great book that had me totally sucked in from the beginning. Once I picked this up, I didn't want to put it down. Besides, when you build a story around a big, hunky cop, you can't go wrong! (My hubby was a big, hunky cop when I met him!!)

Edie is set on revenge. So, she takes on the role of the bad guy in her pursuit of the truth about what happened to her father who died when she was young. When some of the folks that Edie is hoping to get answers from begin to die, she is quickly considered the likely suspect. Plus, she's the new kid in town. When Edie starts to fall for Holt, it gets a little messy considering that he's the town police chief, and his dad is on Edie's list of suspects in the cover up that killed her father. As Edie is trying to keep herself from becoming a victim, she's also trying to protect Holt and keep herself out of jail.

I liked that the villain of the story was female. That left the hero to be the hunky cop, Holt. Going in I knew that Holt and Edie would eventually hook up, but it was still interesting how it all came about. When Edie and Holt finally shared their first kiss, I found myself actually smiling! I love a good mystery thriller that has just a little romance/smut to it. They are my favorites and this one really hit it!

Throughout the book I tried to figure out who the real killer was, and just as I'd figure it out, my mind would be changed with a new twist in the story. The author kept me guessing all the way to the end. Each and every character that was a part of this story had a story of their own, so it was interesting trying to figure them all out. I loved Holt's character. He was loyal, dependable and a total gentleman. He was the good guy! He's a widowed father to a young girl and I liked this about him. It fit with the story and made him believable. He was painted as such a nice guy that as a reader I wouldn't have liked him being a divorced man. Edie was wild! She rode a Harley, had several tattoos and was stubborn. She had such a great attitude and personality! I couldn't help but want Holt and Edie to get together.

Overall, I really liked this and have already ordered another book by this author. I plan to keep my copy of this book. It's one that I would definitely read again and share with friends!


Risk
Risk
Author: Colin Harrison
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 12/2/2009


I finished this book. It's a short book, but now what I would call quick. I wasn't interested in the book enough to be quick. It actually took me much longer than it should have to read.




It's not poorly written, doesn't involve blood, gore or other things that would immediatly turn a reader off, but I just wasn't into it. I wasn't connected to any of the characters. In fact, I can't remember the names of them without opening the book, or looking in the summary. The author really tries to create an image of a secondary character, the girl-friend of the dead guy, but she's not even a big part, yet I remember more about her than anyone else in the book!


The fact that this old woman contacts a young lawyer who worked for her late husband in order for him to do some investigavie work seems a bit out of place. Granted, the ending kind of tries to put that piece together, but I still think it was odd.


Basically it boils down to this: The lawyer figures out what happened the night that the son of the rich woman died. I knew he would solve it before I was half-way through the book. I couldn't predict the exact outcome, so a couple of points there. Otherwise, this book didn't make my top 100 list for the year! But, don't take my word for it! It might appeal to you!


With No One as Witness (Inspector Lynley, Bk 13) (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Review Date: 3/27/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I did not like this book. I WILL NOT recommend it to anyone. That being said, I did listen to the whole story instead of quitting half way through.

I want to be truthful that there were things that I did like about the story. One, it kept my attention. Mainly because I'm one of those readers who is always trying to solve the crime before the characters do. There were enough potential suspects and persons of interest to make my guessing game difficult, but not so many that the story was cluttered. Two, there were surprises. There were crimes committed throughout that didn't seem to make any sense, until the entire picture came together at the end. One of those surprises being a death of someone that was not a high profile character, but the circumstances around that death were not at all what was assumed.


On to the things that I didn't like about this book. I am aware that this is a fiction book, not based on any actual event, and I'm not naive enough to think that a crime spree like this couldn't happen. I just don't happen to enjoy reading material in this genre to include children.

The primary story line is the quest for a serial killer who is murdering teenage boys. The crime scenes are gruesome detailing acts committed against these boys' bodies after they had been killed. Many of them had their navels removed. A couple had large incisions in their chest. One of the boys was sodomized. This information leads the detectives to question a man who later admits that he is a part of a group known as MABIL. An acronym for Men And Boys In Love. It is an organized group of adolescent boys who are brought together with other boys and made to feel like they are part of a group. Once the boys learn to trust the leaders, they are paired up with a man for their "first time." As if all of that isn't bad enough, there is a 12 year old boy who murders a pregnant woman for no apparent reason!


I also did not think that this book flowed well. I listened to this start to finish and didn't skip even one second of the book. Yet, there were things that would happen or pop up in the investigation that seemed like they came out of thin air. I remember thinking a couple of times that there really needed to be some sort of lead-in to an event, but it just wasn't there. Then, at the end of the story, the author threw in this "need for human contact" for one of the characters, and tried to end the story with a little romance. It just didn't fit or work for me. I'm sure that with such a horrific plot to begin with, she wanted to end on a more positive note, but with a plot this sinister, it would take much more than what was there.


1 to 16 of 16
Want fewer ads?