Daniel B. (fouroftwo42) - Reviews

1 to 17 of 17
Berserkers : The Beginning
Berserkers : The Beginning
Author: Fred Saberhagen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 9/8/2008


I really enjoyed this book - unusual for me as usually collections of short stories tend to bore me. I read this one, and found each story to really enhance the overall feeling of the plot.


The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, Bk 2)
The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, Bk 2)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 3346
Review Date: 3/30/2008


This is the controversial Dan Brown book. Not a bad storyline, but written like a movie script. Character development is absent, but it is definitely a page-turner.


Darwin's Radio
Darwin's Radio
Author: Greg Bear
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 10/18/2007


Interesting Book, I lost interest about 3/4 through though. I think I stopped liking the main character. Not my favorite Bear.


Derelict
Derelict
Author: Robert L. Hovorka Jr.
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/18/2007


A very creepy book about a derelict space ship that happens to have its own agenda...


Dune (Dune Chronicles, Bk 1)
Dune (Dune Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Frank Herbert
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 470
Review Date: 9/8/2008


A beautiful book - the type of story that you're sad to see end. Very excited for the rest of the series.


Einstein's Dreams
Einstein's Dreams
Author: Alan Lightman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 96
Review Date: 3/30/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This is a fun book that poses alternate theories of the nature of time. Makes you think deeply about your own universe, but is light enough to consider "pleasure reading"


Emergence (Night's Dawn: Reality Dysfunction, Bk 1)
Emergence (Night's Dawn: Reality Dysfunction, Bk 1)
Author: Peter F. Hamilton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 86
Review Date: 9/25/2008


An excellent and exciting read. Three story arcs, each of which are very fun to read on their own, come together at the climax of this book, to release an incredible evil upon the universe. Beware: this is only the first part of a 2 part series! I wanted closure and of course got none - my own fault of course. I've just ordered the second book, as the story is very addicting.


Empire of the East
Empire of the East
Author: Fred Saberhagen
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/8/2008


This trilogy was absolutlely fantastic! I liked it better than the famous "Swords of Power" series. Saberhagen at his best.


The First Swords : The Book of Swords, Volumes I, II, III (Swords)
The First Swords : The Book of Swords, Volumes I, II, III (Swords)
Author: Fred Saberhagen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 12/5/2007


Excellent series!!!


The Fourth Deadly Sin
The Fourth Deadly Sin
Author: Lawrence Sanders
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 12/5/2007


Not the best book in the deadly sin series, but still a fun read!


Fragile Things: Short Fictions and Wonders (P.S.)
Fragile Things: Short Fictions and Wonders (P.S.)
Author: Neil Gaiman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 85
Review Date: 9/8/2008


Each story is a wonderful read. The best, however, is a story told by the month of December...


Humpty Dumpty : An Oval
Humpty Dumpty : An Oval
Author: Damon Knight
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 12/5/2007


Very interesting, perplexing, and at times, infuriating. Beautifully written as if a dream was narrated. Reminds me a bit of Phillip Dick.


The Lost Swords: Endgame
The Lost Swords: Endgame
Author: Fred Saberhagen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 6/3/2008


A disappointing end to an otherwise incredible series. A must read if you love the Swords series, but it felt as though FS was ready for the series to be over. Ah well.


The Metamorphosis
The Metamorphosis
Author: Franz Kafka, Stanley Corngold (Translator)
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 178
Review Date: 3/30/2008
Helpful Score: 1


A literary classic, deeply disturbing but difficult to ignore. The character's dilemma is haunting, and has the creeping familiarity of a nightmare.


Psychlone
Psychlone
Author: Greg Bear
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 10/18/2007
Helpful Score: 1


A downright disturbing book. I couldn't put it down, but the imagery horrified me (a great read!)


Seven Sons
Seven Sons
Author: Alex Grecian, Riley Rossmo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 12/5/2007


Just beautiful work. I thoroughly enjoyed this comic.


Thrice Upon a Time
Thrice Upon a Time
Author: James P. Hogan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 10/18/2007


I enjoyed this book, exploring a little informational time travel paradox. Preserves a sense of wonder throughout the book.


1 to 17 of 17