Stephanie B. (blucanary) - Reviews

1 to 15 of 15
Angels (Walsh Family, Bk 3)
Angels (Walsh Family, Bk 3)
Author: Marian Keyes
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 373
Review Date: 4/2/2009
Helpful Score: 1


So good I bought it twice. Figured I could part with my paperback version. I like Keyes and enjoy her work.


Brand New Cherry Flavor
Brand New Cherry Flavor
Author: Todd Grimson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/2/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This is by far one of the strangest books I've read, but I found it almost riveting. I also found myself going, "What the...?!" But I liked it enough to read it a couple of times.


Charlie All Night
Charlie All Night
Author: Jennifer Crusie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 495
Review Date: 3/27/2009
Helpful Score: 3


Ok, so this wasn't my favorite Crusie by a long shot. But, a bad Crusie is better than most chick lit any day. This one seems fluffier and more mindless than the rest I've read, but still written with style and wit.


City Dog
City Dog
Author: Alison Pace
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 4/2/2009
Helpful Score: 1


The book started off slow, but I ended up liking it in the end. A nice simple read for a mindless afternoon.


Confessions of a Contractor
Confessions of a Contractor
Author: Richard Murphy
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 4/2/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I don't know if it's just because we've had a lot of contractors around the house over the years, but I really loved this book. I liked Murphy's writing and it all rang so true.


Crazy for You
Crazy for You
Author: Jennifer Crusie
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 483
Review Date: 3/27/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I can't recommend any Crusie book enough. She's just too funny, offbeat, and not the same tired chick lit.


Faking It
Faking It
Author: Jennifer Crusie
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 125
Review Date: 3/27/2009
Helpful Score: 4


I'm sure there were plot holes a mile wide, but I just can't seem to care when it comes to Crusie. This wasn't my absolute favorite of hers, but it ranks up there. Here's to suspension of disbelief, a glass of wine, and a good book.


Getting Rid Of Bradley
Getting Rid Of Bradley
Author: Jennifer Crusie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 452
Review Date: 3/27/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I absolutely LOVED this one. It might have been my favorite Crusie.


The Girlfriends' Guide to Pregnancy
The Girlfriends' Guide to Pregnancy
Author: Vicki Iovine
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 4/3/2009
Helpful Score: 1


If you want a medical (what to expect) guide...this isn't it.

This is the book I picked up because all the other books scared the living s*** out of me while I was pregnant.

It made me laugh and that's what I needed most. It was honest, but not even remotely scary with all the this-is-what-could-go-wrong stuff I found everywhere else. This book got me through my pregnancy. 5 stars to Vicki for making me feel comfortable with my crazy body and not telling me every statistic.


Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)
Let's Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir)
Author: Jenny Lawson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 132
Review Date: 5/6/2012
Helpful Score: 7


I've been following The Bloggess for about a year and I've found her blog hilariously funny. She's self-described as broken, but it's in a completely relatable way.

I was trying to read this book while my husband was taking a nap and it almost killed me. I was trying so hard not to laugh, but some of the stories are so side-splittingly hilarious that I ended up just shaking and crying, occasionally managing a gasp of breath.

I can't recommend this book enough. And so sorry, but I won't be posting my copy once I'm completely finished with it! This one makes the shelf!


The Martini Diet: The Self-indulgent Way to a Thinner, More Fabulous You!
Review Date: 4/3/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Surprisingly one of the most helpful, most logical diet books I've read. It sounds ridiculous, but it works.


Pretend You Don't See Her
Pretend You Don't See Her
Author: Mary Higgins Clark
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 437
Review Date: 4/2/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This one is probably my favorite MHC book. Most of her stuff I find a little simplistic, and this was really no different, but the mixture of the writing style and the plot really added something this time around.


There's a (Slight) Chance I Might Be Going to Hell: A Novel of Sewer Pipes, Pageant Queens, and Big Trouble
Review Date: 4/2/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Just love Notaro, and while this wasn't at ALL what I expected after reading her nonfiction, it was good. Not laugh-out-loud funny, but an amusing read.


Tongue In Chic (Fortune Hunters, Bk 2)
Tongue In Chic (Fortune Hunters, Bk 2)
Author: Christina Dodd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 385
Review Date: 4/2/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Totally mindless, but a good read!


What Would Emma Do?
What Would Emma Do?
Author: Eileen Cook
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 4/2/2009


While this isn't something I would have normally picked up, I'm glad I did. It was a refreshing YA read. Very good.


1 to 15 of 15