Lyn S. - Reviews

1 to 11 of 11
Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress
Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress
Author: Dai Sijie, Ina Rilke (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 684
Review Date: 4/9/2010


Great literary read.


The Bone Garden (Medical Thrillers, Bk 5)
The Bone Garden (Medical Thrillers, Bk 5)
Author: Tess Gerritsen
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 277
Review Date: 2/28/2010


One of my favorite authors. Meticulous with her research and compelling with her text. I highly recommend this book as well as her other books. In particular the Surgeon was haunting.


The Friday Night Knitting Club (Knitting Club, Bk 1)
The Friday Night Knitting Club (Knitting Club, Bk 1)
Author: Kate Jacobs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1899
Review Date: 2/28/2010


This is an excellent character driven book about relationships among women. Very well-written, didn't want it to end.


The Girl Who Played with Fire (Millennium, Bk 2)
The Girl Who Played with Fire (Millennium, Bk 2)
Author: Stieg Larsson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 910
Review Date: 7/5/2011


A great read. Different from book 1 in that it captures your attention right away. In book 1 there is too much backstory right at the beginning that really slows the reader's interest. This book grabs you and holds you till the very end. I am trying to read it slowly but it keeps beckoning me back. Captivating characters, intricate plot, several twists and turns. All in all, a page turner. I highly recommend. Can't wait for Book 3 to be available in paperbackswap.


Hurt Go Happy
Hurt Go Happy
Author: Ginny Rorby
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 2/28/2010


Excellent children's book. My daughter and I both loved it. Compelling storyline and craftfully executed. One to remember.


The Mermaid Chair
The Mermaid Chair
Author: Sue Monk Kidd
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 1470
Review Date: 2/28/2010


A good read but doesn't compare to her debut book The Secret Life of Bees.


The Namesake
The Namesake
Author: Jhumpa Lahiri
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 842
Review Date: 3/31/2010


The author craftfully takes the reader on an amazing journey through the MC finding himself and his heritage.


The Reader
The Reader
Author: Bernhard Schlink, Carol Brown Janeway (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 1256
Review Date: 3/10/2010


Interesting, provacative and philosophically intruiging book.


Running with Scissors
Running with Scissors
Author: Augusten Burroughs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 2413
Review Date: 2/28/2010


Interesting psychological memoir. Makes ones own life seem dull as compared to the child's journey. Some parts a bit crazy, far-fetched but entertaining nonetheless.


The Surgeon (Rizzoli & Isles, Bk 1)
The Surgeon (Rizzoli & Isles, Bk 1)
Author: Tess Gerritsen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 607
Review Date: 12/6/2011


This is Tess's foray and one of her best in my opinion. Impossible to put down and very graphic. If you're squeamish, don't pick this book up. She is a master storyteller that adds the most intricate of details from a medical standpoint. Her background lends itself to writing amazing books like this as well as her others such as Harvest. I am a big Tess fan and have communicated directly with her in email. Very personable and a brilliant storyteller.


Tell No One
Tell No One
Author: Harlan Coben
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 733
Review Date: 2/28/2010


Awesome thriller. Unexpected twists and turns. Could not put it down.


1 to 11 of 11