Sarah W. (StephaniePlum) - Reviews

1 to 15 of 15
Anne of Green Gables (Anne of Green Gables, Bk 1)
Anne of Green Gables (Anne of Green Gables, Bk 1)
Author: L. M. Montgomery
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 338
Review Date: 2/13/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Any one who reads this book will become a kindred spirit. Anne is just one of the most exciting people in the world! She keeps you on your toes and cause you to really look at life and find the joy and love in it. And who doesn't want a Gilbert Blythe? Still a master piece after 200 years!


The Bridges of Madison County
The Bridges of Madison County
Author: Robert James Waller
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 797
Review Date: 8/30/2009


I felt that this book was a generational/age appropriate book. It was good but I can see it hitting a woman older and in a marriage right on. I am neither of those. It wasn't what I expected it to be and thought that it would have been more detailed about their time together. Wasn't bad, wasn't great.


Charlie St. Cloud
Charlie St. Cloud
Author: Ben Sherwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 7/19/2010


I didn't even know about this book until I saw the preview for the movie. Like most movies, they come from books and I wondered if this one did too. Sure enough. I couldn't put it down! I read it in two days and wanted to keep reading. I was sad when it ended!
I am even thinking of recommending it to a friend who lost her sone almost two years ago.
I loved the charaters and the lanugae was great. Very descriptive and painted a great picture in my mind. I would recommend this book to anyone!


Eldest (Inheritance, Bk 2)
Eldest (Inheritance, Bk 2)
Author: Christopher Paolini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 245
Review Date: 12/6/2009


I complained about this book the whole time I was reading it but did like it. There was just way too much in it. There is such thing as too much detail. I thought that the first book was very vocabulary rich but this one didn't have as much. Not one I would read again but if you have read the first one then you should read this one too. Still very impressive for such a young writer.


Even Now (Even Now, Bk 1)
Even Now (Even Now, Bk 1)
Author: Karen Kingsbury
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 302
Review Date: 6/25/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Oh my goodness! I haven't cried in a book for so long but this one kept my crying most of it! It is probably the best Karen Kingsbury book I've read. You really felt the emotion of the characters and ached with them when they were aching. Lots of happy tears too!
Every one has been hurt by someone at some degree and we can learn to forgive and to heal our broken hearts from this book.
I would recommend this book to anyone who is thinking about reading it.


A Good Woman
A Good Woman
Author: Danielle Steel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 85
Review Date: 2/13/2009


I read Danielle Steel when I was a freshman in high school...probably shouldn't have. I have always known her books to be a little on the sexy side but this one was different from the ones that I have read in the past. This one had no sex! But as all of them do there was tragedy. When each tragedy struck she handled each one with such grace. I found myself wondering if I would react the same way. She never spoke badly of those that caused her pain. I only wish that I too could react to life with grace.
I didn't like how it ended though. I didn't realize it was over until I turned the page and there was nothing there! Who does that? So maybe a little more closer at the end or at least set it up better for a sequel.


Hearts Awakening
Hearts Awakening
Author: Delia Parr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 7/30/2010
Helpful Score: 5


What a sweet love story! Similar to Love Comes Softly yet different enough to make it it's own story. Many times the book pointed out that Ellie was plain in her looks but I pictured her so beautiful in my mind. It was a nice lesson to be reminded of that beauty truly is who you are as a person on the inside and that when you have God in your heart, you will radiate beauty to those around you.


He's Just Not That Into You: The No-Excuses Truth to Understanding Guys
Review Date: 2/21/2009
Helpful Score: 1


So eye opening! I have a friend that is going through this very thing right now and I want her to read this book so much!! I wish I had known all this stuff about ten years ago. Made me realize what is going on in a few of my "relationships" with a few guys in my life! Every girl needs to read this book!


Love's Long Journey (Love Comes Softly, No 3)
Love's Long Journey (Love Comes Softly, No 3)
Author: Janette Oke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 140
Review Date: 8/10/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Oh I loved this book! I liked it the most out of the three I have read so far. I missed Marty and Clark but it was fun to learn more about Missie and Willie. I learned a lot from this book also and have started to apply Isiah 41:10 to my every day life.

If you liked the first two in the series you will like this one also.


The Magician's Elephant
The Magician's Elephant
Author: Kate DiCamillo
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 11/21/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I read this book to my class. It was good but hard to read outloud. A book about love and following your heart. Good book, another plus for Kate!


Naughty Neighbor
Naughty Neighbor
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 583
Review Date: 5/9/2008
Helpful Score: 4


Well I have been ruined by Stephanie Plum so it wasn't as good as the Plums but it was good. I laughed out loud at some of the comments made by the characters...they were just things that people would say in real life! I'm excited to read the other books by Janet.


Nowhere but Home
Nowhere but Home
Author: Liza Palmer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 6/29/2014


I loved the Never Been Kissed ending! This one might be my favorite Liza Palmer book. Going on the to keep shelf! I am also going to go eat a chicken fried steak!


Sonnet to a Dead Contessa (Lady Trent, Bk 3)
Sonnet to a Dead Contessa (Lady Trent, Bk 3)
Author: Gilbert Morris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 8/26/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I figured out who the killer was before they revealed who it was!!! I have never done that before!
I loved this book. I think it might be my favorite of the three Lady Trent books. I don't know if there will be another one but I think that Morris ended it very well and wouldn't necessarily need to write another one.
I loved how Serefina finally let God into her life and was once again amazed at his love and gentleness that he showers on us!
A great read!


Sweet Home Alabama (Inspirational Romance Readers)
Review Date: 7/2/2009
Helpful Score: 3


Super cute book! I loved how all four stories still mentioned the others before and update on their lives. Mindless reading but kept you entertained and wanting to read more. Sappy romance but nice and clean.


Tallgrass
Tallgrass
Author: Sandra Dallas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 2/21/2009
Helpful Score: 4


I thought that this book was pretty good. I felt it was very similar to To Kill a Mockingbird, just I different time, place and race. Being from Colorado it was fun to read about places that I know of. I was thinking there was going to be more about how they were treated at the camp and instead of more about the family. I don't know much about what happened with the camps and was hoping to increase my knowledge about the subject but with some fiction.
I would recommend this book to other people and would read more from the author.


1 to 15 of 15