Karen F. (earlsgirl) - Reviews

21 to 40 of 189 - Page:
Blue Dahlia (In the Garden, Bk 1)
Blue Dahlia (In the Garden, Bk 1)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1542
Review Date: 6/11/2007


I don't usually read Nora Roberts's books, but decided to try this trilogy. It's a laid-back romance. I found it enjoyable, and will be ordering the 2nd book.


The Body in the Transept (Dorothy Martin, Bk 1)
The Body in the Transept (Dorothy Martin, Bk 1)
Author: Jeanne M. Dams
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 2/3/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I wanted to love this first book in the series, but I have to describe it as just okay. None of the characters were all that interesting except Dorothy, who is very likable, if kind of goofy. Nothing is very memorable about the story, the detection, or the resolution of the murder.


Bones to Ashes (Temperance Brennan, Bk 10)
Bones to Ashes (Temperance Brennan, Bk 10)
Author: Kathy Reichs
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 219
Review Date: 1/20/2008


I actually liked this book better than her previous novels. There's more personal information about Temperance in this one. Must say I didn't care for Harry, her sister. Loved the plot, lots of characters and suspects. Fans will probably enjoy it.


Burn Factor
Burn Factor
Author: Kyle Mills
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 100
Review Date: 6/11/2007


This is the first book written by Kyle Mills that I have read. I loved it and read it in two days. Apparently readers who have read previous novels of Kyle Mills didn't like it, but I thought it was a great read and I found it hard to put down.


The Burnt House  (Peter Decker & Rina Lazarus, Bk 16)
The Burnt House (Peter Decker & Rina Lazarus, Bk 16)
Author: Faye Kellerman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 105
Review Date: 2/7/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Delving into another Decker/Lazarus book is always a delight, and this one was no exception. Decker is such a lovable, honest detective that you are right there with him as he picks up clues. There were some typos and misspellings that were annoying (Tampax spelled Tampex), but that's small stuff compared to my enjoyment of this ever-talented writer's latest book.


Cane River
Cane River
Author: Lalita Tademy
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 153
Review Date: 6/11/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Cane River is the fictionalized account of Lalita Tademy's family history, the story of four generations of African-American women whose destinies were not of their own choosing, but who fought to keep their families together. This is one story that stays with you for a long time! You won't forget Elisabeth, Suzette, Philomene, Gurtie, and many other characters in this book.


The Children's Blizzard
The Children's Blizzard
Author: David Laskin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 6/11/2007
Helpful Score: 10


Wonderful true story about the devastating blizzard in 1888 before storm warnings like this were made known to the people. Yet politics did play a part in the disaster. A fascinating look at the background and how it all happened. Graphic descriptions of death make it real for the reader. Lingers in the mind long after you have finished the book.


Chill of Night (Night, Bk 6)
Chill of Night (Night, Bk 6)
Author: John Lutz
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 7/20/2007


John Lutz is fabulous! This book is "The Perfect Thriller". Very satisfying ending. Excellent all the way!


Christ the Lord: Out of Egypt
Christ the Lord: Out of Egypt
Author: Anne Rice
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 161
Review Date: 4/28/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This book falls flat. A wonderful idea, but lacks the richness and depth that it should have had with this subject. I was hoping for something a lot better than this. It seemed to me that this was a book outline that never got filled in.


Christmas Revels
Christmas Revels
Author: Mary Jo Putney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 6/11/2007


A delightful, warm holiday read!


City of Light
City of Light
Author: Lauren Belfer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 11/18/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Not the kind of book I usually order, but it looked interesting and was actually quite good. This writer's debut is first class. The most intriguing thing was not the mystery, but where the writer was going with an idea. The book had many fascinating characters and themes. The narrator was not as likeable as I wanted her to be. Some of the characters who were supposedly "greedy" and "harsh" were the characters I liked best and identified them as the more "moral" ones despite the author's intent. An interesting book with a definite socialist view of progress.


Creepers (Frank Balenger, Bk 1)
Creepers (Frank Balenger, Bk 1)
Author: David Morrell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 200
Review Date: 9/2/2007
Helpful Score: 4


I've read other books by David Morrell which were excellent so I ordered this one. I kept thinking it would surely get better, but halfway through it didn't, so I stopped reading. I felt like I was reading a Hardy Boys mystery. Adults stumble through an abandoned hotel looking for adventure. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone who likes thrillers. This one isn't!!


Cruel Sacrifice
Cruel Sacrifice
Author: Aphrodite Jones
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 6/11/2007


This is the true account of a really fascinating story of four teenage girls who murder another twelve year old girl. Quoting a statement in the book by Mike Walro, "Stephen King couldn't come up with a plot like this." These girls were from extremely dysfunctional families. The characters are unbelievably evil. A problem with the book I had was that it goes back and forth so much from the present to the murder. The people were hard to keep straight: Melinda/Melissa, Amanda/Shanda, etc. Worth reading if you like true crime and can stomach descriptions of domestic violence.


Crying Wolf
Crying Wolf
Author: Peter Abrahams
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 4/30/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Not edge-of-your-seat suspense, but you still keep reading to find out what's next. It took a long time to get to the shape of the novel, and even longer to get to the "crime", but it eventually comes together at the end. Plods along a bit too slowly for me, but I will read anything Peter Abrahams writes.


Dead Silence (TV Newsroom, Bk 4)
Dead Silence (TV Newsroom, Bk 4)
Author: Ron Handberg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 2/17/2008


I liked Malice Intended better, but this one was quite good. Inspired by a true story, this novel is well-written and an excellent tale.


Dead Sleep (Mississippi, Bk 3)
Dead Sleep (Mississippi, Bk 3)
Author: Greg Iles
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 331
Review Date: 7/20/2007
Helpful Score: 10


This is the first book I have read by Greg Iles and I will definitely read his other books. Although it didn't "scare the living daylights out of me" as promised on the cover, it was
a well-done and satisfying thriller. I recommend it highly to anyone who likes this genre with some thought and originality in a book.


Dead Watch
Dead Watch
Author: John Sandford
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 132
Review Date: 6/11/2007


I don't want to keep any of John Sandford's fans from reading this book, but to me it was flat.


Dearly Beloved
Dearly Beloved
Author: Wendy Corsi Staub
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 6/11/2007
Helpful Score: 4


I wouldn't read this book while home alone. It was scary and hard to put down. If you like Wendy Corsi Staub, this book is for you. I thought it was a whole lot better than Mary Higgins Clark's recent books!


Death at Devil's Bridge (Victorian-Edwardian Mystery, Bk 4)
Death at Devil's Bridge (Victorian-Edwardian Mystery, Bk 4)
Author: Robin Paige
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 2/16/2013


The 4th book in this charming series opens with the fact that Kathryn and Charles are married. What?? Their reader fans weren't invited to the ceremony? I wanted to hear all the details of this event and would have enjoyed that instead of so much automotive information. Disappointed about the absence of wedding news, but this series in still quite delightful and well-done.


Death by Darjeeling (Tea Shop, Bk 1)
Death by Darjeeling (Tea Shop, Bk 1)
Author: Laura Childs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 297
Review Date: 7/20/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This was a quick, fun read. I will definitely read the others in the series.


21 to 40 of 189 - Page: