Facebook

Chris V. (monchero) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 25 - Page:
1632 (Assiti Shards, Bk 1)
1632 (Assiti Shards, Bk 1)
Author: Eric Flint
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 131
Review Date: 5/25/2008
Helpful Score: 1


A friend gave this book to me. She really liked it and thought I would too. Reading the back, I kept putting it off. It really did not sound that interesting to me. I read about 10 pages and put it down again. Then I finally picked it up & read it. I absolutely loved it. There are some hard to believe areas, but over all a brilliant read. Just ordered 1633.


The Autobiography of Eleanor Roosevelt
The Autobiography of Eleanor Roosevelt
Author: Eleanor Roosevelt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 5/18/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Good book. She was straight forward in her writing. It made me want more information. She does not toot her own horn, which means if you want more information on something she did, you will need other books. Great ending.


A Caress of Twilight (Meredith Gentry, Bk 2)
A Caress of Twilight (Meredith Gentry, Bk 2)
Author: Laurell K. Hamilton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 654
Review Date: 7/20/2009


I bought all the books in the series (5 at the time of this writing) for 50 cents a piece. I made it to book 2 (this one)before just getting rid of them. Anita.. I mean Merry.. I mean Anita... is there really a difference, because I really do not see one. Doyle/Micah whatever. I loved the first 3 or 5 books of the Anita series and was so hoping that the first of this series would be good as well, before LH trashed it with repeated sex scenes. Which by the way seem to blend together in sameness at times. There are people who read this for the the sex and more power to you, but if you want a story forget about reading any more drop the series.


Complete Tales & Poems of Edgar Allen Poe
Complete Tales & Poems of Edgar Allen Poe
Author: Edgar Allan Poe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 3/17/2008


Repetitious. I can see the fright factor for the time period and the fact that Mr. Poe did not publish them all at once, so it would not of been so repetative for the readers. Put all together in one book, not so much. I had higher hopes going into the book from all the other writers referencing his work. I was let down. For example, I found Mr. McCammon's Usher's Passing more frightful, then Mr. Poe's House of Usher. Sad am I.


The Earthsea Trilogy: A Wizard of Earthsea / The Tombs of Atuan / The Farthest Shore
Review Date: 6/4/2008


3 books in 1. The first was A Wizard of Earthsea and was an okay story. The beginning was great, the end was lacking. The second story The Tombs of Atuan was pretty sweet. It made you forgive the first story. The third one was The Farthest Shore. I really liked this story as well. I am glad all 3 stories were in 1 book, if I had gotten the first story by it self I would of not gone on to the rest.


Eclipse (Twilight, Bk 3)
Eclipse (Twilight, Bk 3)
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 2883
Review Date: 7/19/2009
Helpful Score: 3


Bella Swan is one of the most whiny characers that I have had the displeasure to read about. I was hoping for her demise through out the last half of the book. Twilight was good, New Moon was okay, Eclipse was bad... I have the last book in the series and I am really debating if I want to waste any more time on it.


Equal Rites (Discworld, Bk 3)
Equal Rites (Discworld, Bk 3)
Author: Terry Pratchett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 254
Review Date: 3/20/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Fanciful. I found this book to be light hearted and fun. I had to chuckle here and there.


Evil Unveiled (Speaks the Nightbird, Bk 2)
Evil Unveiled (Speaks the Nightbird, Bk 2)
Author: Robert McCammon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 3/20/2008


A different avenue for Mr. McCammon and I liked it. Not as good as some of his other books, but worth a read.


The Farthest Seeking : Ghatti's #2 (Ghatti's Tale)
The Farthest Seeking : Ghatti's #2 (Ghatti's Tale)
Author: Gayle Greeno
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 3/20/2008


I really liked the Ghatti's Tale trilogy better.


Four in Hand
Four in Hand
Author: Stephanie Laurens
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 195
Review Date: 3/17/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Playful. I am not usually into romance stories. I am as romantic as a wet wash cloth. Yes I am. I've had complaints. So I am reading some romance stories. This one actually had me laughing. Can't knock that.


The God Effect: Quantum Entanglement, Science's Strangest Phenomenon
Review Date: 5/18/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Very nicely written book. It is quantum entaglement explained so that the average person can understand the subject. Author has good sense of humor and throws in some interesting side notes on different scientists.


The God of Small Things
The God of Small Things
Author: Arundhati Roy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 476
Review Date: 3/17/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Abominable. What I learned: Arundhati Roy is a good writer and yet this story is horrible. I wanted to scratch my eyes out.


The Harlequin (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 15)
The Harlequin (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 15)
Author: Laurell K. Hamilton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 377
Review Date: 4/7/2008


I so miss the original Anita Blake... when she actually raised zombies and there was a plot/mystery. Then it became all sex. I like so many characters and lately they haven't even been in the books. In this one some of them came back, not exactly how I wanted them but whatever... it's like a car wreck... you keep buying, looking and hoping that Ms. Hamilton will smack her head up against a wall and come back to good writing.


Inorganic Chemistry (3rd Edition)
Inorganic Chemistry (3rd Edition)
Author: Gary L. Miessler, Donald A. Tarr
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/20/2008


I loved this book. I had it with Advance Inorganic class. Would not recommend for anyone with out a higher chemistry education.


Key of Light (Key, Bk 1)
Key of Light (Key, Bk 1)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1024
Review Date: 3/17/2008


Cute II.


Key of Valor (Key, Bk 3)
Key of Valor (Key, Bk 3)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 1057
Review Date: 3/17/2008


Cute III.


A Kiss of Shadows (Meredith Gentry, Bk 1)
A Kiss of Shadows (Meredith Gentry, Bk 1)
Author: Laurell K. Hamilton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 176
Review Date: 7/14/2009


It was an okay book written by an okay author. Merry is Anita Blake, there is no difference really between the two; They even have the same dialog. The supporting characters are the same but with different names. The only real difference I see is that over sexualization of characters within this series starts right away, where as the Anita Blake series takes awhile. I ejoyed the first 5 or so books in the Anita Blake series, but not the rest. I understand that there are people who like her soft porn, but if you only liked the first batch of books from Anita Blake you will not like this series. Laurell Hamilton needs a new personal fantasy to write about.


Land of a Thousand Hills : My Life in Rwanda
Land of a Thousand Hills : My Life in Rwanda
Author: Rosamund Halsey Carr, Ann Howard Halsey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 4/10/2009


It was a good story.


Like a Charm
Like a Charm
Author: Candace Havens
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 101
Review Date: 5/30/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I love the Sweet, Texas ladies. Not an in depth series of books, but fun reading.


Made in Detroit
Made in Detroit
Author: Paul Clemens
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/20/2008


The racial, economic and religious changes within the predominantly black city of Detroit, from the point of one resident. Very interesting. I related to the book because I am from the area, but I had no idea that this did not happen in all big cities. Where as people not from the area may find the book even more informative then I did. I do recommend this book.


1 to 20 of 25 - Page: