Facebook

Mary P. (TSgt--Ret) - , - Reviews

1 to 16 of 16
Ammie, Come Home
Ammie, Come Home
Author: Barbara Michaels
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 1/20/2014


Gave me chills, even though I read it before and knew what was coming.


Ashes in the Wind
Ashes in the Wind
Author: Kathleen E. Woodiwiss
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 6/22/2009


Excellent Read


Barbara Cartland: Three Complete Novels : A Night of Gaiety
Barbara Cartland: Three Complete Novels : A Night of Gaiety
Author: Barbara Cartland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/5/2017


Fast and entertaining read.


Curtains for Three  (Nero Wolfe, Bk 18)
Curtains for Three (Nero Wolfe, Bk 18)
Author: Rex Stout
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 5/14/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Rex Stout has again written 3 great stories about Nero Wolf and Archie Goodwin. He gives all the clues neatly and yet in just the right way to keep the reader uncertain to the end. A good read.


From Hell to Heaven
From Hell to Heaven
Author: Barbara Cartland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/5/2017


Fast and entertaining read.


The Golden Rendezvous
The Golden Rendezvous
Author: Alistair MacLean
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/4/2016


Non stop action, a man both out of his element and yet strangely perfect for the job, and a budding romance. What more do you need.


The Handmaid's Tale (Handmaid's Tale, Bk 1)
The Handmaid's Tale (Handmaid's Tale, Bk 1)
Author: Margaret Atwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 788
Review Date: 2/9/2016
Helpful Score: 1


I was really affected by the ending of this book. Make sure you read the "Historical Notes" at the very end. It changes the whole perspective of the book.


Mrs. Pollifax and the Second Thief (Mrs Pollifax, Bk 10)
Mrs. Pollifax and the Second Thief (Mrs Pollifax, Bk 10)
Author: Dorothy Gilman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 5/31/2012


An elderly spy, a retired agent and a reluctant assassin makes a great combination for a wonderful series.


Mrs. Pollifax Pursued (Mrs. Pollifax #11)
Mrs. Pollifax Pursued (Mrs. Pollifax #11)
Author: Dorothy Gilman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 11/2/2013


A fast and entertaining read about two strong and determined women.


Mrs. Pollifax Unveiled (Mrs Pollifax, Bk 14)
Mrs. Pollifax Unveiled (Mrs Pollifax, Bk 14)
Author: Dorothy Gilman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 5/1/2014
Helpful Score: 1


The last in a great series. It is nice to have a character who uses her retirement years to follow a dream and prove that age and knowledge can be just as important as youth and gadgets.


Stranger In Paradise (Jesse Stone, Bk 7)
Stranger In Paradise (Jesse Stone, Bk 7)
Author: Robert B. Parker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 110
Review Date: 6/13/2012


Jesse Stone at his best.


Testimony of Two Men
Testimony of Two Men
Author: Taylor Caldwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/2/2012


An excellent story of small town, USA at the beginning of the 1900s and the people who use gossip to bring a good man down to their level.


They Shoot Canoes, Don't They?
They Shoot Canoes, Don't They?
Author: Patrick F. McManus
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 9/11/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Very funny and entertaining.


The Thief of Love (Pyramid, No 63)
The Thief of Love (Pyramid, No 63)
Author: Barbara Cartland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/5/2017


Fast and entertaining read.


Uncertain Voyage
Uncertain Voyage
Author: Dorothy Gilman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 9/8/2015


I found the main character depressing and childish, but the story line was fast paced and kept me guessing.


The Virgin Suicides
The Virgin Suicides
Author: Jeffrey Eugenides
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 107
Review Date: 2/9/2016


I wasn't sure what to expect. I'd heard it was a classic, so I gave it a try. It's written from the perspective of the neighborhood boys and how they try to understand what happened.

The story didn't really align to my views about suicide. I think that kept me from feeling satisfied about the story. I couldn't find sympathy for the characters. For something that should be emotionally charged, it just felt detached.


1 to 16 of 16