Facebook

Miriam S. (perennialstudent) - , - Reviews

1 to 13 of 13
The Big Sort: Why the Clustering of Like-Minded America is Tearing Us Apart
Review Date: 5/10/2017


Anybody can see the increasing political homogeneity of both urban and rural areas. Bishop traces this process to some surprising origins, and documents the gradual transformation of the American political landscape. Along the way he up-ends some conventional wisdom as well.


The Changing Faces of Jesus
The Changing Faces of Jesus
Author: Geza Vermes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/15/2014


This is a beautiful and lucid presentation of the development of the Christian theology of the nature and meaning of the person of Jesus. I have not yet been able to check all the references, but from what I know of the early years of Christianity and its split from Judaism, the author takes many relevant texts and traditions into account to develop his picture. I highly recommend this book to anyone who is interested in Jewish/Christian relations and in the development of early Christianity from its Jewish roots.


Class
Class
Author: Paul Fussell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 6/13/2014


This was a wonderful nostalgia trip back to an earlier world. Paul Fussell draws quick, sharp pictures of the hallmarks of the various strata in American society at the time. The strata may not have changed, but the hallmarks certainly have. Great fun!


Death In A White Tie (Roderick Alleyn, Bk 7)
Death In A White Tie (Roderick Alleyn, Bk 7)
Author: Ngaio Marsh
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 6/13/2014


This copy replaces my old one that was coming apart. It's Ngaio Marsh at her best, an intricate mystery, a fascinating background, a cast of interesting and believable characters, very good writing; a book you can re-read even when you know exactly whodunit and how he gets found out.


Death in Holy Orders (Adam Dalgliesh, Bk 11)
Death in Holy Orders (Adam Dalgliesh, Bk 11)
Author: P. D. James
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 11/15/2014


An absorbing read, finely drawn locale, believable and interesting characters, and an intriguing whodunit puzzle. A novel that can be re-read as such, even after the reader knows whodunit.


Faith and Fratricide
Faith and Fratricide
Author: Rosemary Radford Ruether
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/26/2017


A panoramic and detailed survey of the reasons why the early Christians adopted anti-Judaism, how anti-Judaism evolved in the writings of the Church Fathers, and how theological anti-Judaism morphed into social anti-Semitism as the Roman Empire adopted Christianity and the worldly empire became identified with the messianic one. Even for a Jew like myself who has long been interested in Christian attitudes toward Jews and Judaism, this book was an eye-opener. After reading Ruether's account of the Church Fathers' fulminations against Jews and Judaism, I understand better why so many Christian clergy did not protest Hitler's actions against the Jews. Gregory Baum's Introduction/"mea culpa" helps sharpen the thrust of the argument that anti-Judaism was an intrinsic feature of Christianity from the beginning. The book was originally published in 1974 and I am not sure to what extent Ruether's thesis has been accepted or her suggestions for possibly remedying the anti-Judaic strands in Christianity have been implemented, but I think her ideas are still valuable.


How Doctors Think
How Doctors Think
Author: Jerome Groopman, M.D.
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/13/2014


This is a wonderfully wise and sensitive disquisition on the interactions of physicians and patients, how these interactions should ideally go, where they can go wrong, and what both patients (and their families) and physicians can do to help insure that they go right. Groopman's insights into these complex relationships are precise and delicate, and his prose is equally precise yet never cold or dry.


Making Globalization Work
Making Globalization Work
Author: Joseph E. Stiglitz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/2/2016


This is an excellent discussion of the problems caused by globalization in the developing world (and in certain segments of the developed world). The author advances many suggestions to redress the imbalances (and misery) caused by the developed nations' (or more specifically, their large corporations') "hijacking" of the globalization process to their own benefit. Some of them seem utopian, and some of them make a citizen of a first-world country hesitate. If the basic premise that with globalization and the free flow of capital there will be either equalization of wages or migration of labor is indeed true, what will happen to the economies of first-world countries?


My Folks Don't Want Me to Talk About Slavery
My Folks Don't Want Me to Talk About Slavery
Author: Belinda Hurmence (Editor)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 12/11/2019


A fascinating look at the various experiences and attitudes of people who actually went through the experience of slavery. I would have expected more bitterness, but perhaps people did not speak as frankly as they might. I wish the book were bigger and contained more voices.


Say Good Night to Insomnia
Say Good Night to Insomnia
Author: Gregg D. Jacobs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/10/2017


I think this book is addressed primarily to people who are already taking sleeping pills and want a way to get off them. The introductory sections on the physiology and psychology of sleep are very useful. The specific program seemed to me much too complicated and demanding for somebody who simply suffers from insomnia. A cognitive behavioral therapist gave me a much simpler program which worked fine for me, but I didn't take sleeping pills. Once you've gone down that road, the program described in this book may be necessary and helpful.


The Two-Income Trap: Why Middle-Class Mothers and Fathers Are Going Broke
Review Date: 11/15/2014


Interesting, well-documented, and strikes a chord of recognition. The nature of the "trap" seems obvious once you've thought about it, but the data and references are convincing.


Why Shoot a Butler?
Why Shoot a Butler?
Author: Georgette Heyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 4/6/2018


I enjoyed both the slyly humorous writing style and the well-constructed puzzle.


A Wreath For Rivera
A Wreath For Rivera
Author: Ngaio Marsh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/15/2014


Vintage Ngaio Marsh: well-drawn characters, realistic yet sympathetic; an interesting mise-en-scene; and a pretty whodunit puzzle. Well up to her usual standard.


1 to 13 of 13