Charlene Y. (CharleneY) - Reviews

21 to 40 of 81 - Page:
Ellen Foster
Ellen Foster
Author: Kaye Gibbons
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/19/2007


It's a quick read but not unsubstantial-- it's narrated by an 11-year-old put in the foster system in her southern town after her mother dies and her alcoholic father abandons her.


Eva Moves the Furniture
Eva Moves the Furniture
Author: Margot Livesey
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 1/19/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Unique, haunting story which moved me to tears; the author is very talented and this book is a must if you enjoy literary fiction.


Everything Is Illuminated
Everything Is Illuminated
Author: Jonathan Safran Foer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 323
Review Date: 1/19/2007
Helpful Score: 1


LOVE LOVE LOVE this one. it made me all kinds of weepy.


Fall on Your Knees
Fall on Your Knees
Author: Ann-Marie MacDonald
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 503
Review Date: 1/19/2007
Helpful Score: 8


One of my all-time favorites. This was out of print when I read it-- a coworker gave it to me who also loved it. I sent an email through Oprah's website because I thought it was tragic that people could no longer get this fabulous story. (I NEVER feel that strongly to actually email!) Well, two months later Oprah's selection was... take a guess. Coincidence? Well, I choose to take credit for supplying the world with all those additional copies. (You're WELCOME. LOL)


Floating Opera
Floating Opera
Author: John Barth
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/19/2007


Really good-- it surprised me in college when i was assigned so many books that were totally awesome -- who would've guessed? (Can you tell what decade i went to college? LOL)


For Kings and Planets
For Kings and Planets
Author: Ethan Canin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 1/19/2007


I loved this book when I read it but now it's a little fuzzy. I know my friend let me keep her copy b/c she wasn't as into it as I was.


Gap Creek
Gap Creek
Author: Robert Morgan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 173
Review Date: 1/19/2007
Helpful Score: 1


SO boring!! If this is marriage, let me please never be subjected to it!! LOL


The Giant's House: A Romance (P.S.)
The Giant's House: A Romance (P.S.)
Author: Elizabeth McCracken
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 1/19/2007


Amazing and unique story!! You'll have to read to understand. But it made me cry, and that's a thumbs-up for me! LOL


The Girls' Guide to Hunting and Fishing
The Girls' Guide to Hunting and Fishing
Author: Melissa Bank
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 618
Review Date: 10/16/2006


great book, not just chick lit


The Great Gatsby
The Great Gatsby
Author: F. Scott Fitzgerald
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 1/19/2007


One of my all-time favorites, SOOOO GREAT.


The Habit of Loving
The Habit of Loving
Author: Barbara Lazear Ascher
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/19/2007


i make a habit of finishing all books i start, but that's the ONLY reason i got through this thing. don't believe the hype (i'm pretty sure there was some, somewhere, which is why i got it). BO-RING!


The Healing
The Healing
Author: Gayl Jones
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/19/2007


it's stream-of-consciousness which can make it hard to read (try three pages in a row without any punctuation, LOL) but also makes it really intriguing and interesting.


A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius
A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius
Author: Dave Eggers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 697
Review Date: 1/19/2007


I LOVE books that make me bawl, and this therefore is one of the tops on my list. Also, being a Real World fan, I must note the brief appearance of Puck (it's memoir-ish). LOL


Here on Earth
Here on Earth
Author: Alice Hoffman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 421
Review Date: 1/19/2007
Helpful Score: 6


It was really scattered and I didn't like the way the author told the story or her style. Pretty much turned me off Alice Hoffman novels.


In the Drink
In the Drink
Author: Kate Christensen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 1/19/2007


Loved it. I really like the author's style, very humorous.


Invisible Man
Invisible Man
Author: Ralph Ellison
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 307
Review Date: 1/19/2007


excellent classic


Isabelle the Navigator
Isabelle the Navigator
Author: Luke Davies
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/19/2007


it's a sad romance, very poetic.


It's Not About the Bike: My Journey Back to Life
It's Not About the Bike: My Journey Back to Life
Author: Lance Armstrong, Sally Jenkins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 1/19/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Maybe because I don't like sports?? It was very uninteresting. I would say the writing style didn't help matters. It would be nice if he (or his ghostwriter?) had more of a sense of humor.


Jemima J.
Jemima J.
Author: Jane Green
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 1/19/2007
Helpful Score: 1


reminded me of bridget jones diary, in that it was a british, fluffy novel with somewhat stereotypical characters. this one is sort of a cinderella story-- the chubby girl loses weight and gets a really hot guy but then realizes looks aren't everything. the title character is likeable but don't expect much more than entertaining, breezy chick lit.


Jewel
Jewel
Author: Bret Lott
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 333
Review Date: 1/19/2007
Helpful Score: 7


Good book-- if you're sensitive the racism can be disturbing. My friend is black and said she couldn't continue with it. Personally, nothing stops me from finishing a book, and if you look beyond what is really only an attempt to portray the real atmosphere of general ignorance in the early 1900s in the South, you find a touching story.


21 to 40 of 81 - Page: