Susan D. (leecat2) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 41 - Page:
Arbitrage: The authoritative guide on how it works, why it works, and how it can work for you
Review Date: 5/4/2015


Chris Green is the best. Join his facebook groups for the latest in info.
I am an FBA seller and this is viral info on how to succeed


Before I Go to Sleep
Before I Go to Sleep
Author: S. J. Watson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 109
Review Date: 9/15/2013


My take on the book is a little different from the rest here. I really didn't want to read the book, but I was given a copy and decided to try it.
It is much better than I thought that it would be. There is not a lot of repetitive plot.
However, the big twist I saw fairly soon on. It was worth reading, but I would not have sought it out.
Still it is a unique book and well written.


Before I Go To Sleep
Before I Go To Sleep
Author: S. J. Watson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 192
Review Date: 10/22/2013


I love the diary style of the book and the basic premise. I did guess the twist early on, but still enjoyed it. It is one of those plots that if one person had asked questions or checked facts on earlier, the entire plot would fall apart. The fact that she lost her memory in 87 helps with technology invented since then.
A good, fast read, but not a necessary one. Good for the beach, etc.


Better Homes and Hauntings
Better Homes and Hauntings
Author: Molly Harper
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 4/9/2015


I am new to Molly Harper, so I just took the book on it's own merits.

A ghostly story, a lost love affair, a murdered wife from the past, but by who? Real life villians, who keep appearing.

I enjoyed the book once it got going, but I almost stopped reading during the first few chapters. I could have lived with out the boatride to the island.

This is one of those books, in which many of the heroine's problems could have been avoided, if only she had sought help or contacted the police.


Bridge to Terabithia
Bridge to Terabithia
Author: Katherine Paterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 686
Review Date: 3/24/2007


Do not read this book if you don't want to cry.


The Children Act
The Children Act
Author: Ian McEwan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 5/4/2015


A lovely book about a woman High Judge in London, whose marriage is falling apart, emotional life is taking a toll and 2 of the most difficult cases of her life.


Code Name Verity
Code Name Verity
Author: Elizabeth E. Wein
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 10/19/2016


There is nothing that I can add to the reviews of the book, except to say that I loved it. One of the best books that I had read in 2016.
I found that it was a little hard for me to get into in the beginning, but once the 2 women meet, I was hooked.
I actually stayed up till 4:30 am to finish it and cried like a baby. A truly beautiful and moving book.


Crossing to Safety
Crossing to Safety
Author: Wallace Earle Stegner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 95
Review Date: 5/4/2015


A brilliant book on the friendships we wish for and the extent of the impact on our lives.
Simply brilliant.


A Deadly Cliche (Books by the Bay, Bk 2)
A Deadly Cliche (Books by the Bay, Bk 2)
Author: Ellery Adams
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 4/21/2015


The series is getting better and the characters, who were first just odd, are rounding out and becoming more people than groups of characteristics.
The book ends with a nice addition of characters to join our crew. No one could resist the resident poodle, either.
My only complaint is that I wish that there was more attention to plot development. It is the weak part of the series. In both books, it seems tacked on the characters lives, as in, Hey, it's a cozy, we better get some crime going.
The huge plus is the addition of the ongoing novels written by the writer's group.
I will read the rest of the series with great affection.


Don't Go Home (Death on Demand, Bk 25)
Don't Go Home (Death on Demand, Bk 25)
Author: Carolyn Hart
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 5/29/2017


Any death on Demand book is far better than your typical cozy, but this is the least of them. Carolyn Hart has written this superb series, but it is clear that her heart is not in this last installment.
Annie is virtually alone as most of the other characters are on vacation. I miss the community and surrounding people.
The story is fine, but lacking in the humor and warmth of the others.


Eileen
Eileen
Author: Ottessa Moshfegh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 9/9/2019


Your outlook may vary. I read this for a book group that only reads highly awarded books, literature, if you will. I really disliked this book.
The characters are repulsive and the plot is dreary.
The details of an alcoholic household are there; the writing itself is good...the story, as a whole, is one I could have lived happily without.


The Fault in Our Stars (Movie Tie-in)
The Fault in Our Stars (Movie Tie-in)
Author: John Green
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 4/5/2015


If I were a teenage girl, I would have gladly swooned. YA cancer romance, which is well written and interesting. Deals with death and life with chronic illness quite well.

A must for YA'ers today, and an excellent movie, to boot.


Founders: A Novel of the Coming Collapse
Founders: A Novel of the Coming Collapse
Author: James Wesley Rawles
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/18/2016


I have read all 3 of his books in this series. This is the worst of the 3. Patriots is the best.
Worthwhile bits: The military equipment, jargon, tactics, etc. are incredibly helpful to anyone who thinks SHTF will be coming.
Even if you think that it will 100% never happen, it still is very useful info.
Unworthy bits: The Christianity, romance or not. Mr Rawles believes that Christians are an endangered species, radical right Christians are the only moral people on Earth, radical right Christians are the only ones who believe in God and do good, ect.....
Women are only referred to as someone's wife or daughter, even if they are major characters, even if they do asd much or more than the men, they are still his objects.
The new constitution as reported on the back i not one most people would radify. Repeal of 14th and 26th amendments (no naturalized citizens or 18 year old voters), banning of welfare and foreign aid, no gun control, no taxes, no deficit spending, low salaries for elected officials, repeal of all Supreme Court decisions and no federal land.
Thank goodness women and non-white citizens can vote.
Read for the practical items and disregard the rest
Or, better yet, just read Patriots, with more info and less to disregard.


A Gate at the Stairs (Vintage Contemporaries)
A Gate at the Stairs (Vintage Contemporaries)
Author: Lorrie Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 6/28/2015
Helpful Score: 1


I had great hopes for this book, as the author has local ties and it got rave reviews.
However, I just hated it. I kept reading, as it was a book club book, and I hate to go, unless I have read the book. And, yes, I did get it, having been young and gifted myself, also from a small town, moved to a large, more intellectually affluent place.
Tassie is odd, but not odd in any good way. Naive, yes, and that part of her is charming in too small a way.
Ultimately, she is too much of a cipher. Her summer at the farm could have been so ethereally uplifting, instead, it just drags on. OK, she has a bird costume, but what of it? Her behavior at the funeral?
My major complaint is the unbelievable dialog, especially from the Wednesday group. Were they just reading magazine articles aloud?
Tassie talks like a precocious 13 year old. My friends and I talked like this and thought we were so clever...in junior high, for goodness sake.For example, so clever of her to turn rejoice into Read Joyce. No wonder the poor girl has no friends.
Now, the adults seemed more like real characters, except again with the dialog. Her parents were rooted, but why throw in the Jewish mom? She makes no sense. Again, it's oddness for the sake of being odd. The same with the brother.
Odd is not good alone. There must be a method beyond the madness.
I was constantly reminded how much a superior book "An Education" is.


Going Home
Going Home
Author: A. American
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/22/2017


I love this series. I especially like the detailed equipment info. BUT, he loses a point for the political prejudice. If you want to know what left wing voters believe, ask them. Don't just make up nonsense.


The Goldfinch: A Novel
The Goldfinch: A Novel
Author: Donna Tartt
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 168
Review Date: 9/1/2015


I cannot tell you how much I hate this novel. I absolutely hate Theo. I read the first 100 several times, with the same results and am reading only to satisfy my book club.


Intelligence Failure : How Clinton's National Security Policy Set the Stage for 9/11
Review Date: 2/13/2017


The failure for intelligence on 9/11 lies squarely with the Bush administration ignoring warnings. This is prejudiced partisan nonsense.


Justice for Sara
Justice for Sara
Author: Erica Spindler
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 4/14/2015


Sara and Kat are sisters orphaned by their parent's death in a car crash. They are left wealthy, with Kat's money in trust. Kat turns wild and sneaks out nightly to visit her illicit lover, Ryan.
When Sara finds out, she grounds Kat and locks her in her room overnight. When Kat wakes up, her sister is murdered and she is the likely suspect.
Found not guilty by a jury, she leaves for 10 years. Coming back, she is determined to find the real killer and get justice for Sara.
A very readable book. the final twists were predictable, but I enjoyed it still.


A Killer Plot (Books by the Bay, Bk 1)
A Killer Plot (Books by the Bay, Bk 1)
Author: Ellery Adams
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 130
Review Date: 4/14/2015


I am always looking for a new cozy series and this one is acceptable. The characters are interesting enough and the locale charming. The mystery is convoluted and does not make much sense at the end. But, I still enjoyed it and will be reading the rest of the series.


The Last Camellia
The Last Camellia
Author: Sarah Jio
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/7/2015


Just a dreadful book.
The plot had such good potential. In the hands of a good gothic author, this could have been great. An old English manor, hidden heirloom plants, disappearance of young girls, death of a Lady
Instead, we have a moronic modern day heroine, whose dilemma could be solved in an instance.
60 years is too long a timespan for 2 interweaving stories, esp for Mrs. Dilloway, and who is she married to anyway?
Second heroine is an idiot. First heroine disappears for no good reason.
We learn nothing about camellias, except that they are hardy. In fact, throughout the book, no one is allowed to go to the orchard.


1 to 20 of 41 - Page: