Melissa B. (dragoneyes) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 489 - Page:
77 Shadow Street
77 Shadow Street
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 89
Review Date: 1/26/2012
Helpful Score: 3


I've been a long time Koontz fan. The last 5 or 6 years I have been on hiatus from his books because they were becoming such disappointments. I love the way Koontz pulls you in and doesn't let go but lately he hasn't been doing that. Then I got this book and decided to try him again. Although the pull was only "somewhat" there in the beginning it still held my interest. That pull did arrive about the middle of the book and then all the way until the end. I could hardly put it down!
The Pendleton is a luxury apartment complex built on 77th Shadow Street. The building has had a lot of weird things happen there and people have died but that was a long time ago. But now the building has seemed to awaken and everyone who lives there will be fighting for their lives.
The book is set up differently than other Koontz books. He had sections that were short snip-its of the characters, he had a section on "The One", and sections on things that were happening in the Pendleton and around. The ones on the characters were my favorite parts to read. Although I found them a bit confusing because there were so many characters, it didn't take but one or 2 sentences in each section to realize who they were exactly. I found myself really liking a lot of the characters and not liking others but thought the development of each was enjoyable.
I personally recommend this book but it seems that some of Koontz's fans like this one and some didn't. Guess you'll have to give it a try and see what you think.


Abhorsen (Abhorsen, Bk 3)
Abhorsen (Abhorsen, Bk 3)
Author: Garth Nix
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 155
Review Date: 11/16/2010


I just finished the Abhorsen. What a wonderful read. The book picks right up from where Lirael left off. We find Lirael, Sam, the Disreputable Dog, and Mogget off on their quest to stop the Destroyer and all that stand with It. I went through the book wondering if Lirael would be able to handle being the Abhorsen in waiting, what the role of Wallmaker, for Sam, would be, who really was the Disreputable Dog and which side is Mogget really on? It was very fast paced and I could hardly put it down. Sad to see it end though.


The Affair of the Mysterious Letter
The Affair of the Mysterious Letter
Author: Alexis Hall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/4/2020


Vampires, necromancers and pirates... oh my! You'll find all of them and more crammed into this marvelous book. This was a fun adventure that is told by Captain John Wyndham. After looking for somewhere to live he finds a spot that he shares with the outspoken Ms. Shaharazad Haas. She a little much for his delicate sensibilities but the adventure that she offers him is one that he cannot pass up.
I loved going on this adventure with these two and watching them get in trouble at every turn. The only part that took away from it was that a great many of the characters seemed to have foul mouths. Don't worry, it would be beyond John to put those words in this book but we were repeatedly told that. At first it was funny but after awhile, it got a bit annoying. All in all I am hoping to see another adventure in future.


After the Flood: A Novel
After the Flood: A Novel
Author: Kassandra Montag
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 6/3/2020


This book had the potential to be great but didn't quite make it. It started out strong and I was immediately captivated with the world and what was going on. Taking place in a post apocalyptic world where most of the earth is flooded and there is very little land. On top of that, there is no government and people struggle everyday whether it is on dry land or out in the water.
In this story we travel around with Myra and her daughter, Pearl, as she looks for her other missing daughter, Row. We travel with her and learn of her past and of her present journeys.
I was very much into this story but about halfway through, I was getting to the point that I didn't like our main character or her daughter too much. The mother came across as self-centered and had poor decision making. The daughter was just kind of weird. I still enjoyed the story but at about three quarters through I felt the book should've ended by now. It seemed to be 100+ pages too long for me. I think I could've walked away and enjoyed it with that but as Myra kept making bad decisions and putting everyone around her in danger, my irritation with her grew stronger. Yet, when a decision needed to be made, everyone in the group looked at her for her final say. Why would you do that?? Luckily, there were a couple of characters I really liked but most of them, not so much.
Anyway, it was still a good read especially for a first novel. Would look at reading more from this author.


Air Awakens (Air Awakens Series Book 1)
Air Awakens (Air Awakens Series Book 1)
Author: Elise Kova
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 12/6/2017


Really enjoyed this book. The idea was a bit different and the characters were well drawn out. The main character is someone I could relate to. She was a hard worker, funny, smart and loved books. I enjoyed reading about her and her days in the library. When the story takes off further to forbidden magic, I enjoyed reading about that as well. Even the romance wasn't too overly done (which tends to happen in YA). Looking for to the next book in the series!


The Alchemaster's Apprentice: A Novel
The Alchemaster's Apprentice: A Novel
Author: Walter Moers
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 1/22/2014


What a fun book! I enjoyed every ounce of it. It's about a creature called a Crat. Which is very close to being a cat but can speak many languages. They are pretty rare. This particular Crat is named Echo. Echo finds himself in a quandary when his mistress dies and he has no where to go. He wanders the streets of Zamonia starving. When, at the point where he cannot go any further, he meets Ghoolion, the town's Alchemaster. Ghoolion strikes up a deal with Echo... I'll feed you the finest food but after a month is gone, I get to kill you so I can render your fat. Starving, Echo takes him up on his deal. But Ghoolion has another thing coming if he thinks this will be easy.
I loved how much fun this book was. I enjoyed all the different characters I got to meet. The only downfall was my own doing. I listened to the audio book instead of reading it. Even though the narrator was perfect, I have now seen the book and all of the wonderful illustrations and wish I would have read it instead. Looking forward to more of Moers' books.


The Alchemist: A Fable About Following Your Dream
Review Date: 11/15/2010


I wasn't sure what to expect from this book. One friend that read it really loved it. Another friend couldn't stand it and couldn't even finish it. I went into it not sure if I even wanted to try. It turns out to be a very simple read. Nothing profound, no big flattering words, no elegant prose but I found myself enjoying it all the same. It had a lot of ideas and philosophy that I liked to sit back and ponder on. I love a book that makes you think. It is about a simple shepherd boy who seeks out his own personal legend. The book is about the journey he makes, the people he meets and the things he learns. Don't open this book thinking it is a literary masterpiece... just ease into it a look at it for the simple meaning and beautiful story it gives.


The Alchemists of Loom (Loom Saga, Bk 1)
The Alchemists of Loom (Loom Saga, Bk 1)
Author: Elise Kova
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/3/2020


Good story with great characters. The story itself was interesting and the world that it was centered around was captivating but what sold the story for me was the characters. By then end of the book I was so endeared to Ari, Florence & Cvareh. I'm very excited to find out what happens with this group. Will continue to the next book.


Aleister Arcane
Aleister Arcane
Author: Steve Niles
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/20/2020


This was a fun read with really nice artwork. It had a great story but it felt really rushed as well. Would've liked the story to be more drawn out and a bit more attention to the characters.


All Systems Red (Murderbot Diaries, Bk 1)
All Systems Red (Murderbot Diaries, Bk 1)
Author: Martha Wells
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 8/30/2018


I am so impressed on how much could go into such a small book. Loved it!
This story is about Murderbot, a security robot with organic parts. These robots are used to protect the crew from danger except this one has gone rogue... in a good way. He hacked his governor switch and now can do and think on his own. In that time, he likes to stay clear of humans (they make him uncomfortable) and watches entertainment feeds. Yet, when the crew comes under danger, can Murderbot be trusted to help the crew?
Ready to jump into the next book in this series!


The Amazing Screw-On Head and Other Curious Objects
The Amazing Screw-On Head and Other Curious Objects
Author: Mike Mignola, Dave Stewart
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/3/2018


I really enjoyed this one. It is a compilation of short stories. The first story was one of my favorites. It had me snickering throughout. The other stories we very good as well. The art work was great. There were a few places where I couldn't tell exactly what was going on but it didn't take away from the story.


American Predator: The Hunt for the Most Meticulous Serial Killer of the 21st Century
Review Date: 1/20/2020


A very creepy and disturbing read. I remember seeing info on Keyes here and there but I don't remember it really becoming much of a big deal. This book explains why.
Israel Keyes was a serial killer and one that was quite different from many of the others. He didn't have a "type" that he went after, he didn't have a certain area that he hunted, and he supposedly had a good childhood. Here was a guy who read a lot, who could build about anything and accomplished whatever he set out to do and yet he had a horrifying dark side. He definitely would've been one to really study but alas, it wasn't to be so.
The writing of the book kept me hooked from the beginning. I thought the author did a great job. A couple things that bothered me was the complete bias against some of the people involved and there were parts that seemed contradictory. Other than that a great story that will keep me thinking way on down the road.


The Amulet of Samarkand (The Bartimaeus Trilogy, Bk 1)
The Amulet of Samarkand (The Bartimaeus Trilogy, Bk 1)
Author: Jonathan Stroud
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 186
Review Date: 11/16/2010
Helpful Score: 1


The Amulet of Samarkand is the first book of The Bartimaeus Trilogy. It is about a 12 year old boy named Nathaniel who becomes an apprentice to a magician. The magician is uncaring and hard on Nathaniel while the magician's wife is very kind to him. Nathaniel dreams of going to Parliament with the other magicians and is bored by how slow his studies are going. He decides to study on his own and learns a great deal more than an apprentice his age should. After being humilated in front of many other magicians by Simon Lovelace (a magician himself), Nathaniel is set for revenge. He summons a djinni named Bartimaeus. From there many things happen that seem to get the both of them into more trouble than they were in the beginning. But they both know that Simon Lovelace is up to something bad but can they prove it? Will they ever be to overcome their bad luck? Will Nathaniel's dream of Parliament ever come true? You must read to find out!


And Every Morning the Way Home Gets Longer and Longer
Review Date: 7/24/2017
Helpful Score: 2


A very heartwarming and sentimental read about love and growing old. It battles the effects of slowing losing your mind and how difficult it is for the person experiencing it and to their loved ones. It was a short read but very sweet nonetheless.


Anna Dressed in Blood (Anna, Bk 1)
Anna Dressed in Blood (Anna, Bk 1)
Author: Kendare Blake
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 9/5/2013


I picked up this book mainly because of all the hubbub about it. I was hoping for a creepy book that sent chills up my spine but didn't really think that this would be the one... I was wrong!
It's about a boy named Cas that is a ghost killer. He took up the profession just like his dad but now he's on the lookout for the same ghost that killed his dad. He travels with his mom, who is a witch, to many different places looking for ghosts that cause trouble. This leads him to a place where the local ghost story is about a girl named Anna Dressed in Blood. Cas decides to check it out and when he does his whole ghost killer business gets turned upside down.
From the very first chapter of this book I was hooked. I love the way Blake writes. Not a boring moment at all. She has a fine catch on how teenagers act and talk and they were all very believable. Cas was charmingly witty and I very much enjoyed reading about him and the rest of the crew as well. When the book got to Anna, I actually had the chills go down my spine. She totally creeped me out. The author throws some gore in there as well. Now to read the 2nd book... Can't wait!!!


Annexed
Annexed
Author: Sharon Dogar
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/13/2011


While I enjoyed this book, I did not think it was outstanding. It's a fictional account from Peter, the young boy that was in the annex with Anne Frank. That being said, it was hard for me to get into a "diary like" book knowing that it wasn't really his diary. Since Peter didn't have a diary, the author went by Anne's diary and other facts that they knew about Peter and what he went through. I think the author did a very good job. I liked the way she ended the book the most. I thought it was a very beautiful way to end it. I also liked the follow up at the end of the book that let's us know what happened to each member of the annex. The only reason I gave it 3 stars was because I found it never really grabbed my attention until close to the end. I didn't necessarily struggle with the book but did not feel compelled to pick it up and read it whenever I had time. I think it was a good book and would recommend it.


Another Fine Myth (Myth, Bk 1)
Another Fine Myth (Myth, Bk 1)
Author: Robert Asprin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 120
Review Date: 12/22/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This was such a fun read for me. A bit a fantasy mixed up with a lot of humor. I found myself giggling through the whole book. At the beginning I wasn't too sure about the book but it soon took off and didn't stop until the end. The story line was good and the funny comments was great but the best thing about this book was the characters. I loved them all. Even the evil wizard was a hoot. I look forward to reading the rest of the books in the series.


Apocalypse Meow Meow
Apocalypse Meow Meow
Author: James Proimos
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/10/2019


It was a very simple, easy read with some good fun. Stayed with the whole thing just to see how it ended up. Had a few chuckles throughout. Looks like Apocalypse Bow Wow came first but I haven't read that one. Guess I'll have to get my hands on it.


The Art of Racing in the Rain
The Art of Racing in the Rain
Author: Garth Stein
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 287
Review Date: 3/9/2012


Being an animal lover and also getting a recommendation from my dad, I had high expectations for this book. Maybe that was the problem to begin with. I started it with much anticipation and as I was reading my large grin implanted on my face started to falter. I really wasn't enjoying it but I had to keep on. Which I'm glad I did because I ended up liking it for most part. The book is done by the family dog's point of view. Which most of the time was cute. A lot of the book was done around racing as well. I guess this is a big place where this book fell short for me. Especially in the beginning. I'm not a race fan and don't care for it at all but that's what was talked about throughout most of the book. Sometimes it was okay when they gave little snip-its of racing quotes or thoughts but sometimes it seemed to go on and on which quite bored me. There were some funny parts (like the evil zebra, eating peppers for the twins, etc) but for most part the book was just okay for me.


Arthur Spiderwick's Field Guide to the Fantastical World Around You (Spiderwick Chronicles)
Review Date: 11/16/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I love this book! I can look through it over and over again and never get tired of the beautiful illustrations. This illustrated book ties into the Spiderwick Chronicles books. It is the actual field guide that they talk about in this series that all of the fantasy creatures are trying to get ahold of. It is not supposed to be in human hands. No telling what the humans would do if they knew their secrets!


1 to 20 of 489 - Page: