Sheila C. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 39 - Page:
90 Minutes In Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life
90 Minutes In Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life
Author: Cecil Murphey, Don Piper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 874
Review Date: 5/26/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I couldn't agree with Nichole S. more. I was a bit disapointed there was so very little time spent about the "90 Minutes in Heaven" experience and the bulk of the book was about the painful recovery Don faced in the aftermath of his accident but towards the end it really all came together. I would recommend this book and did get some very meaningful take-aways from it.


Accident (Large Print)
Accident (Large Print)
Author: Danielle Steel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 11/20/2008


This book pulls you in from the get go. Recommended!


Ageless: The Naked Truth about Bioidentical Hormones
Ageless: The Naked Truth about Bioidentical Hormones
Author: Suzanne Somers
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 5/22/2009
Helpful Score: 3


I have read a number of Suzanne's books. I would consider myself neutral to her in general...in other words, I'm not a Suzanne zealot but I don't dislike her. I ordered this book after seeing her on Oprah participating in the hormone discussion with Dr. Christiane Northurp and others. I have to say that every other line in this book came across to me as a marketing ploy to plug bioidentical hormones. Of course I expected there to be alot of coverage on it but there was absolutely no other content than Suzanne plugging the bioidenticals. I was really disappointed in this book.


Are You Hungry, Dear? Life, Laughs, and Lasagna
Are You Hungry, Dear? Life, Laughs, and Lasagna
Author: Doris Roberts, Danelle Morton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 9/12/2007
Helpful Score: 3


I really enjoyed this book. It was a quick, fun read with some great recipes. I did try the Lasagna recipe and the family loved it.


Audition: A Memoir
Audition: A Memoir
Author: Barbara Walters
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 6/24/2011


I like non-fiction so I picked this up not really being a Barbara Walters fan but of course have seen her interviews as well as the Saturday Night Live skits over many years. I have to say I really enjoyed this book. As others have said, the first part of the book is when Barbara was a young girl and growing up in the 40's, 50's etc in Boston, NYC and Miami. I think she did herself a favor including this information because you can tell it is really what shaped her, gave her drive and also makes Barbara very human. I highly recommend this book.


Blue Dahlia (In the Garden, Bk 1)
Blue Dahlia (In the Garden, Bk 1)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1542
Review Date: 9/12/2007


Was okay. Nothing spectacular. I will continue with books 2 & 3 of the series because I've read they are much better than the first.


The Broker
The Broker
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 1001
Review Date: 9/4/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Nice, easy read. Captures you quickly. Enjoyable and suspenseful.


Dead By Sunset : Perfect Husband, Perfect Killer?
Dead By Sunset : Perfect Husband, Perfect Killer?
Author: Ann Rule
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 10/2/2007
Helpful Score: 3


A very good, suspenseful read. I could not put this book down. Highly recommended.


Dispatches From the Edge of the World: A Memoir
Dispatches From the Edge of the World: A Memoir
Author: Anderson Cooper
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 119
Review Date: 7/27/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I remember seeing Anderson Cooper on an Oprah episode when he first released this book and was happy to pick it up on the swap because I remember being intrigued when I saw the interview. It sat on my bookshelf awhile but having read it now, I wish I had picked it up sooner. Cooper fully engages the reader by integrating his own very private family tragedy somewhat in the spotlight with his Mom being Glovia Vanderbuilt with his work spotlighting the devastation around him. He is humble and shares his story from the very early days as he tried to make it as a reporter to the present time. Easy flow and easy to get lost in.


Dr. Atkins' New Diet Revolution
Dr. Atkins' New Diet Revolution
Author: Robert C. Atkins
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 188
Review Date: 9/4/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I always turn back to this way of eating post-holidays or whenever I need to get the sugar out for a while. I always refer to it for motivation and to get a reminder of how sugar and over processed, simple carbs can really harm you.


Dream When You're Feeling Blue
Dream When You're Feeling Blue
Author: Elizabeth Berg
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 12/13/2011


I enjoy Berg's books and enjoyed this one as well. Nice, easy read and emotional at times.


East of the Mountains (Vintage Contemporaries)
East of the Mountains (Vintage Contemporaries)
Author: David Guterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 4/13/2009
Helpful Score: 7


I found this book ripe with meaning and messages about life, aging and compassion for all walks of life. Once again, Guterson has the ability to transport the reader from the written word into a captivating picturesque world through his story.


Eye of the Needle
Eye of the Needle
Author: Ken Follett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 124
Review Date: 8/27/2008
Helpful Score: 1


As others have reviewed, great suspenseful thriller. By the time I got to the midpoint of the book, I couldn't put it down. A great page turner and a story that will transport you back in time. Recommended!


The Good Guy
The Good Guy
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 338
Review Date: 5/27/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I was able to get into this book immediately from page 1. Great read, great story. I really enjoyed it. I haven't read Koontz for many years but will revisit more of his newer titles. Recommended!


Human Body: Pocket Guide
Human Body: Pocket Guide
Author: Oceana
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/4/2007


This is actually a hard cover book. Nice pocket sized excellent for reference use or as coffee table book. Includes straightforward text and great illustrations to understand how the human body works.


The Husband (Large Print)
The Husband (Large Print)
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 7/20/2008


I really enjoyed this book, got hooked on it right away. It flowed nicely and had some great twists and turns. Recommended!


I Am the Central Park Jogger : A Story of Hope and Possibility
I Am the Central Park Jogger : A Story of Hope and Possibility
Author: Trisha Meili
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 9/4/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I remember hearing about this story in the newspapers. The book is very well written and Trisha is very inspiring. After the headlines were over, reading what Trisha went through was unbelievable. A good read.


I, Tina
I, Tina
Author: Tina Turner, Kurt Loder
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 6/21/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I requested this book after seeing Tina recently on the Oprah show. She is 60 (or somewhere near 60), looked great, seemed so well grounded and had this wonderful demeanor about her. I remember seeing the Tina movie about her relationship with Ike and thought I'd read her book. I really liked it. It was a quick read. The story was not just about Tina coming up in the business and the horrendous relationship with Ike, but also had some very interesting stories of touring with the Stones, the history of music and encountering segregation issues. I recommend it!


It's Not About the Bike: My Journey Back to Life
It's Not About the Bike: My Journey Back to Life
Author: Lance Armstrong, Sally Jenkins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 182
Review Date: 9/4/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I really enjoyed the book. I did find it inspiring and it's always interesting to hear first-hand someone's true account of how their struggles, challenges and successes really played out. Recommended!


The Key to Rebecca
The Key to Rebecca
Author: Ken Follett
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 122
Review Date: 1/13/2009
Helpful Score: 3


Ken Follett does not disappoint. At first, I was a little ho-hum about this one but once he added a little sizzle, the characters started to really pop, the story line picked right up and it was a real page turner that kept me up at night. Give this one a try, you will really enjoy it!


1 to 20 of 39 - Page: