Mg N. (reading-voraciously) - , - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
Casting Off
Casting Off
Author: Nicole R. Dickson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 6/10/2011
Helpful Score: 4


Casting Off is a beautiful and poignant story. It is complicated so may seem confusing, but it all comes together in such a wonderful and clear way. There is mystery, adventure, history, and love.
There are multiple flashbacks and several characters who seem unrelated. One of the best characters is a child! One old man has so much depth to his character you just won't believe it. One father is peripheral but a good story because of the town's feelings about his poor wife and helping her.
Of real interest to me was the many knitting patterns and their meanings. The story centers around the history of the Irish fisherman sweaters. There is a lot more to them than pretty patterns and colors. They are distinctive enough to use in identifying those lost at sea.


The Headhunter's Daughter
The Headhunter's Daughter
Author: Tamar Myers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 4/26/2011


The Headhunter's Daughter is a great sequel to The Witch Doctor's Wife. Myers' early childhood memories as the daughter of missionaries in Congo have formed a basis for these two stories. What a surprising story and interesting characters who are sometimes what I'd say are typical! The story is a mystery about a white girl found in an African tribe and the setting is a small village where there are many Europeans, several African tribes represented, and a few Americans. Wherever did the girl come from? What a great story!
If you didn't already read The Witch Doctor's Wife you will be eager to where several of the characters are the same.


The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks
Author: Rebecca Skloot
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 242
Review Date: 12/28/2011


This is a must-read by everyone! It tells of people being taken advantage of, but that is not the main point. We all have benefited in some way by these immortal cells.
I was not sure how so much science could be understandable to a non-scientist like me, but there is enough definition to get the picture. The people are so interesting! The story moves so fast that it is a real page-turner.
I cannot recommend this book more.


In the Company of Others (Father Tim, Bk 2)
In the Company of Others (Father Tim, Bk 2)
Author: Jan Karon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 1/26/2012


Though Jan Karon said this is her favorite, I said before I was half finished that it is her BEST. She is such a good writer, and her characters are so well developed. I have been enjoying her books for years ~ plus I enjoy books about Ireland. This is very enjoyable.


Nine Parts of Desire : The Hidden World of Islamic Women
Nine Parts of Desire : The Hidden World of Islamic Women
Author: Geraldine Brooks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 94
Review Date: 6/23/2011
Helpful Score: 3


Nine Parts of Desire was Geraldine Brooks' first book. I wish she would write an update of it, but there is so much which has not changed in these last 17 years that this is still very timely.
It is written in her very readable award-winning style. This goes deeply into the Islamic culture and tells why both men and women want this covered dress style to continue. She is an excellent researcher and reporter. The people she has encountered are very interesting. I highly recommend this.
Of interest just this last week was a news story of Saudi women who hold international drivers' licences who staged another "demonstration". It is strange that women can not drive but have unrelated hired male drivers. So many countries require women to be chaperoned by a male relative in public.


Playing for Pizza
Playing for Pizza
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 525
Review Date: 2/4/2009
Helpful Score: 4


This was my favorite Grisham, a very different theme, and yet it was very much in his readable style. The characters are real people who just grab your attention and make this the great story it is. I almost think if I were there I would be looking for those people even though I know it is a novel. . . . Come on, ideas have to come from somewhere.


Seabiscuit
Seabiscuit
Author: Laura Hillenbrand
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 528
Review Date: 3/14/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is so much better written than 90% or more of today's books. It is really beautiful even if you know the whole horse, jockey, trainer, and owner story. I feel it is a must-read. I could not believe how beautifully it was written. It is the classic page turner.


Sing You Home
Sing You Home
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 138
Review Date: 12/28/2011


This is the last time I order a Jodi Picoult book without having any idea what it is. I thought that though I do not like country western music that that was the scene of the story. I could live with that.
I knew there was a lesbian woman in the story, but I did not know that was the main story line. I feel marriage is between a man and a woman, and that propaganda is not something I want to read about.
How you are made is how you ARE. What you do is the SIN. I know we all sin, but I do not want to advocate it. May God bless you. (Oh, I did not finish the book. I skipped to the end and was really not surprised how it ended. Not a usual exciting Picoult ~ just contrived for her message.)


Tinkers
Tinkers
Author: Paul Harding
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 135
Review Date: 11/14/2012
Helpful Score: 2


Unlike the person who couldn't understand the negative reviews, I couldn't understand the positive! It seems to me they are pretentious.
I thought there was some colorful imagery but TOO MUCH and OVER DONE. I think the author could have had an interesting short story or two out of this with some left over metaphors to use more sparingly in other stories.
The father's epilepsy was too ephemeral and would have made an interesting story because of the prejudices of the day. I like that kind of insight into what it was like and what may still be unacknowledged in these "modern" days.
The only reason I finished the book after having to start over to see if I missed something, is because my cousin sent it. I did not miss anything but wish I had so reading it would have had some real value.


The Witch Doctor's Wife (Amanda Brown, Bk 1)
The Witch Doctor's Wife (Amanda Brown, Bk 1)
Author: Tamar Myers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 4/26/2011


The Witch Doctor's Wife is wonderful. You need to try it even if you don't read her Antiquities and Penn Dutch stories. This draws on Myers' early childhood memories as the daughter of missionaries in Congo. It is an intriguing story and full of different characters ~ some mystifying and some really likable. The story is a mystery and the setting is a small village where there are many Europeans, several African tribes represented, and a few Americans.
After The Witch Doctor's Wife you will be eager to read The Headhunter's Daughter. Several of the characters return to the same Congo setting.


1 to 10 of 10