Facebook

Lora C. (tcarlora) - Reviews

1 to 13 of 13
Angela's Ashes
Angela's Ashes
Author: Frank McCourt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 6/16/2006


WOW! Take your guts and wrench them out. All you want to do is go and pick little "Frank" up and say, I'll fix it honey, don't you worry", but you can't. He's grown up and telling you the story, but you still wish you could at least give him a hug.


Boundaries in Marriage
Boundaries in Marriage
Author: Dr. Henry Cloud, Dr. John Townsend
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 6/14/2018


If you have a chance, read this! If you have the time, read all the Boundary Books. They will make a difference in your life. I mentioned this book to a friend the other day and said if she was married, she should definitely read it. She had read the other Boundary books and her statement to me was, "I should read it, just in case I get married again. I will be better prepared". She is right! READ!


Empire Falls
Empire Falls
Author: Richard Russo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 635
Review Date: 6/16/2006


Who thought a man could do the work of a woman, emotionally and physically.


The Millionaires
The Millionaires
Author: Brad Meltzer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 197
Review Date: 6/16/2006


Can you really get away with something big and not get caught!


Psalm 91: God's Shield of Protection
Psalm 91: God's Shield of Protection
Author: Peggy Joyce Ruth, Angelia Ruth Scum
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/19/2019


Thought provoking! We used this book for a Bible Study in my women's group. It was wonderful to see how God is always there for us and especially for our Military. The testimonies in the back will make you grab tissues and send prayers.


Secrets of the Vine: Breaking Through to Abundance (Breakthrough Series)
Review Date: 5/9/2017


If you liked Prayer of Jabez, then this is a must read for building on the prayer and the life it calls you to. It is also a good stand alone book.


Snow Falling on Cedars
Snow Falling on Cedars
Author: David Guterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 1055
Review Date: 6/16/2006


Way better then the movie and I hope you read the book before you watch the movie. This book caused quite a stir at our local high school even getting one teacher fired. This was life during WWII, told better then some history book could.


Sullivan's Island (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 1)
Sullivan's Island (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 1)
Author: Dorothea Benton Frank
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 229
Review Date: 6/16/2006


A book for the 45+ woman. You will see yourself in these pages especially if your even a little bit southern.


Sweet Tea & Jesus Shoes
Sweet Tea & Jesus Shoes
Author: Deborah Smith
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 6/16/2006


Sweet Book, being southern will make you go "aha" not being southern will give you a little insight to those of us below the Mason Dixon line.


A Theory of Relativity
A Theory of Relativity
Author: Jacquelyn Mitchard
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 78
Review Date: 6/16/2006
Helpful Score: 1


If you like The Deep End of the Ocean, you will like this book. It is a story of a little girl caught between two families and all the deep emotions someone one has for their children, their grandchildren and our ability to do the right thing for the wrong reasons out of love.


The Wailing Wind (Joe Leaphorn and Jim Chee, Bk 15)
The Wailing Wind (Joe Leaphorn and Jim Chee, Bk 15)
Author: Tony Hillerman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 187
Review Date: 6/16/2006


If you like mysteries and your like the Southwest then you have to read Tony Hillerman. Its just the right amount of easy read, have to think a little book to get you through those hot summer nights.


Whisker of Evil (Mrs Murphy, Bk 12)
Review Date: 6/16/2006


Just the right amount of fluff to get you over whatever bad thing you don't want to think about.


Y Is for Yesterday (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 25)
Y Is for Yesterday (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 25)
Author: Sue Grafton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 7/8/2019


Sue stayed true to her usual good form of a great mystery with fun intertwined. I was happy one very seriousl matter was resolved (no spoiler alert here) since we unfortunatly will never get to read Z is for Zero.

Sue Thank you for the ride, it was great having Kinsey as that brash friend we wish we had the courage to be sometimes. I will miss Henry's kitchen and Rosie's restaurant. Here's to a writer that made sitting on the beach even more enjoyable.


1 to 13 of 13