Tracy B. (TBBooks07) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 21 - Page:
The Almost Moon
The Almost Moon
Author: Alice Sebold
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 467
Review Date: 8/6/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Waste of time. All I kept thinking throughout this book is "Why am I reading this?". This could have been a great story but was ruined by the main characters morbid & disturbing thoughts. The beginning was hard to get through. Then just when it was getting good, she would throw in some random morbid thought that made you just want to put the book down in frustration. I only finished this book because it was short. And yes the ending was just as disappointing. Sebold was way off the mark with this one.


Atonement
Atonement
Author: Ian McEwan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 893
Review Date: 7/1/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I saw the movie first, then decided to read the book. I found the book to be very slow in the beginning and it struggled to keep my interest. But gradually it picked up until I found I didn't want to stop reading even though I knew how it ended. I enjoyed the book but I think I liked the movie better. Which is usually never the case.


Bedrock
Bedrock
Author: Britney King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 9/23/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This book starts off with a gripping first chapter, where there is no way you can stop reading because you just have to know what happened.

I was a little disappointed towards the middle because it started to have a "Fifty Shades of Grey" feel to it. But the Author did a good job not focusing on the shock factor and keeping to the story. It was a little slow in the beginning but picked up after a few chapters to the point where you want/need to know what is going to happen next.

Some people may hate the ending, I kind of liked it. Life and marriage is not all Black & White. There is a lot of grey area. And sometimes we find ourselves stuck in that grey area for the good of the others in our lives.

I hope this is not that last we hear from these characters. I would definitely be interested in reading a sequel to this book.


The Glass Castle
The Glass Castle
Author: Jeannette Walls
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3410
Review Date: 8/22/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Wow what a family! This is a great life story that reminds us that it doesn't matter where you come from or who your family is. It is what you do with your life that does.


Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter, Bk 7)
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter, Bk 7)
Author: J. K. Rowling
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 2066
Review Date: 10/3/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Loved it! A series that will last for decades to come.


The Kite Runner
The Kite Runner
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5712
Review Date: 8/10/2007
Helpful Score: 12


I loved this book. Sometimes the subject matter was disturbing and hard to read but it was well worth it. This book kept me captivated from beginning to end.


Love in the Time of Cholera
Love in the Time of Cholera
Author: Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Edith Grossman (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 560
Review Date: 1/28/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I just could not get into this book. I didn't like the style of writing, I found it boring to read. Didn't even finish the book.


Magyk (Septimus Heap, Bk 1)
Magyk (Septimus Heap, Bk 1)
Author: Angie Sage
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 150
Review Date: 10/22/2007
Helpful Score: 1


If your looking for the next Harry Potter this probably isn't it. A good story but not quit as engaging. Definately a good book for kids and enjoyable for adults.


Marsupial Sue Presents "The Runaway Pancake": Book and CD
Marsupial Sue Presents "The Runaway Pancake": Book and CD
Author: John Lithgow
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/23/2007
Helpful Score: 1


My Kids (6 & 8) love this book. They love to sing the song even when they are not listening to the CD!


Middlesex
Middlesex
Author: Jeffrey Eugenides
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 929
Review Date: 8/10/2007
Helpful Score: 8


I was a little disappointed that the majority of the book was about the generations of her family before her. It seemed like just when you are getting to know Calliope/Cal, the book is over. I thought overall it was a good book, just not great.


My Sister's Keeper
My Sister's Keeper
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4035
Review Date: 9/1/2007
Helpful Score: 1


What a conflict between what is right & wrong for your children. You will find yourself wanting to side with BOTH sides. A great read with an unexpected ending.


The Mystery of Revenge
The Mystery of Revenge
Author: G.X. Chen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/18/2013


I received this book through the Goodreads Giveaway.

This book was a very quick read as it is only 160 pages long. It wasn't a bad story, I just felt like it was all over the place. It kept jumping back and forth in time and between characters. Which kind of disrupted the flow of the story, for me at least. The writer did a good job at keeping you wondering who the actual killer was. Usually I can figure out how its going to end half way through, but didn't really expect the ending I got.


Necessary Lies
Necessary Lies
Author: Diane Chamberlain
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 7/7/2013


I won this ARC through a Goodreads Giveaway. It is the first Diane Chamberlain book I have read.

I enjoyed her writing style very much. The story was told from the perspective of both the main characters, Ivy & Jane.

My favorite type of book is one where the story revolves around actual events that have happened in our history. Chamberlain did an amazing job creating a story about a subject matter that most people probably didn't realize happened during that era. This story has a way of sucking you in and your definitely routing for the main characters to prevail.

I was worried about the ending. It seemed she was going to leave you with a bunch of unanswered questions. But was pleasantly surprised on how she answered them all for you. It even brought a few tears to my eyes, which is very rare for me while reading. For those of you waiting for this book to come out, you will not be disappointed. Enjoy!!


New Moon (Twilight, Bk 2)
New Moon (Twilight, Bk 2)
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1141
Review Date: 11/7/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This book was just as engaging as the first. Even though Edward is missing through most of the book, I think it was necessary for the readers to have a chance at liking Jacob. Page turner from start to finish. Can't wait to start the next one.


Perfect Match
Perfect Match
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 733
Review Date: 4/6/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Great characters that keep you interested throughout the book. A hard subject to read about. Picoult did a great job of giving you enough details to understand the situation without being overly graphic. And of course had a great little twist at the end.


Stop Dressing Your Six-Year-Old Like a Skank
Stop Dressing Your Six-Year-Old Like a Skank
Author: Celia Rivenbark
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 9/16/2007
Helpful Score: 4


I found a lot of the things she talked about to be funny but I felt like there was just a little bit to much sarcasim in the book. If you are a mother with kids you can relate to much in the book. If you are from the south, then you REALLY can relate. Good for a few chuckles.


Sugar Pop Moon: A Jersey Leo Novel
Sugar Pop Moon: A Jersey Leo Novel
Author: John Florio
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/9/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I won this book in the Goodreads Giveaway. :)

Overall a good story. Liked how he captured the Era. Wished he would have wrote a little more about some of the relationships. Giving the reader a better insight of how they got to the point they were at. Sometimes I don't like when a book jumps back in forth in time, like he did. But he did a great job of making it flow and coming all together in the end so it made sense. Quick & suspenseful read.


Tent City
Tent City
Author: Kelly Van Hull
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/23/2013


This was a great story. A YA book that is not just for teens but great for Adults too. Characters you find yourself routing for. A story you can vividly imagine happening. With just a little bit of a twist of the unknown to keep you captivated. And an ending that can only mean there will be a book 2!


Twilight (Twilight, Bk 1)
Twilight (Twilight, Bk 1)
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5135
Review Date: 10/30/2007
Helpful Score: 5


I was definately surprised at how much I loved this book. Written for Teens but a book that will capture the attention of adults too. I loved the relationship between the main characters. Forbidden Love w/on the edge of your seat suspense!


Water for Elephants
Water for Elephants
Author: Sara Gruen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 4733
Review Date: 9/1/2007
Helpful Score: 2


One of the best books I've read. The subject matter is different and refreshing. She did a great job of capturing the period & lifestyle of the Circus. This book will keep you captivated from beginning to end.


1 to 20 of 21 - Page: