Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Lisa M. (foodie) - Reviews

1 to 15 of 15
Alexis Bespaloff's Complete Guide to Wine
Alexis Bespaloff's Complete Guide to Wine
Author: Alexis Bespaloff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/14/2008


Here is everything you need to know about making, buying, storing, serving, and enjoying wine. This new edition updates the material on France, Italy, and other traditional regions, as well as Spain, Portugal, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, and Chile, which are growing in popularity.


American Dreams (Crown Family Saga, Bk 2)
American Dreams (Crown Family Saga, Bk 2)
Author: John Jakes
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 10/27/2008


I really enjoyed this book! I had never read anything by John Jakes and was a huge skeptic because of the number of books that he has written that have been turned in mini-series. But as fate would have it i was stuck at my mom's one day, finished the book i was reading and went a hunting. Took me a couple of pages to get into it but I really did get into this story about a corner turning time in the united states. It was all about Ford and the creation of the assembly line and creating uniform parts, about the beginnings of the file industry and how it grew from the cheesy black and whites with the actresses having horrible reputations to becoming a respected medium. I never read the first book of the series but I truely enjoyed this one.


The Biograph Girl
The Biograph Girl
Author: William J. Mann
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 10/27/2008
Helpful Score: 2


A great telling of the story of a woman who has lives in three centuries. She was born in the last 1800's and was "discovered" by a film writer looking to interview some one who had lived that long and seen , lived the changes in America. From her start in vaudville to her retirement in an upstate New York nursing home, it was certainly a great ride. The book does jump from present to past but they tell you the year at the beginning of each chapter. I did not find it a problem but i know some people dislike that.


The Blood Knight: Book Three of The Kingdoms of Thorn and Bone
The Blood Knight: Book Three of The Kingdoms of Thorn and Bone
Author: Greg Keyes
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 7/9/2011


i love this book and the entire series. Because it is so in depth and written in real time the books are long and detailed so there is something for everyone. There may be parts that you read faster than others because it is not your gig and then parts you read slower because you want to savor every moment but it is worth every moment. i did take "breaks" by reading two books at a time because this was definitely not a drs. office book or because i needed a break to let a section 'sink in'


The Border Lord's Bride (Border Chronicles, Bk 2)
The Border Lord's Bride (Border Chronicles, Bk 2)
Author: Bertrice Small
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 6/20/2014


I love Bertrice Small and this is one of her less sexually explicit texts. It is awesome to have a strong female lead instead of a simpering fool waiting to be rescued. (spoiler)I also like how they get to know each other before getting married. Life is not all fireworks and you should have a mate who is your friend too.


The Briar King (Kingdoms of Thorn and Bone, Book 1)
The Briar King (Kingdoms of Thorn and Bone, Book 1)
Author: J. Gregory Keyes
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 11/2/2009
Helpful Score: 1


A fantasy novel that i really thought i would not get into and was surprised i love the series as much as i do! there are tempting clues about the past and the future of this land that keeps you coming back for more! there are several stories going on at once as all the parties converge in the beginning , separate to go their own ways then reconvene again. it is like a rubber band explosion ! the separate stories are easy to follow because they are by chapter , not switching around in the middle. The is a little magic and properties of this land that do not apply to ours but mostly the interaction and growth of the characters is fantastic! I just finished book two and am on my way to tear through three.


The Charnel Prince (Kingdoms of Thorn and Bone, Bk 2)
The Charnel Prince (Kingdoms of Thorn and Bone, Bk 2)
Author: Greg Keyes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 11/2/2009


A fantasy novel that i really thought i would not get into and was surprised i love the series as much as i do! there are tempting clues about the past and the future of this land that keeps you coming back for more! there are several stories going on at once as all the parties converge in the beginning , separate to go their own ways then reconvene again. it is like a rubber band explosion ! the separate stories are easy to follow because they are by chapter , not switching around in the middle. The is a little magic and properties of this land that do not apply to ours but mostly the interaction and growth of the characters is fantastic! I just finished book two and am on my way to tear through three.


City of Dragons (Rain Wilds Chronicles, Bk 3)
City of Dragons (Rain Wilds Chronicles, Bk 3)
Author: Robin Hobb
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 8/22/2018


It was a real trial to put this book back on the swap because I had enjoyed it so much and I am a bit of a book hoarder when it comes to those novels that strike me. I have never met a book of Robin Hobbs that I did not like, undoubtedly some more than others but this tale of the dragons and the Rain Wild is just amazing. I have read many books with dragons in them and many books about dragons and many books about people and their interactions with dragons but this was truly a Wonder to read. yes I have some of Robin Hobb books that I'm not that crazy about but this one definitely not in that category. I can't wait to read the next and see what she has in store.


Damsel Under Stress (Katie Chandler, Bk 3)
Damsel Under Stress (Katie Chandler, Bk 3)
Author: Shanna Swendson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 125
Review Date: 8/22/2018


A cute light-hearted story with magic creatures and Galore! I sometimes hate it that all of the best science fiction novels are 500-page long but this fantasy is short and sweet and funny and I definitely am on the bandwagon with Katie's work. Now all I have to do is wait for her other novels to make their rounds to me!


A Dirty Job (Grim Reaper, Bk 1)
A Dirty Job (Grim Reaper, Bk 1)
Author: Christopher Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 8/22/2018


Absolutely as sarcastic and are reverent as only more can be. I will admit that always takes me a few pages to get into the groove of his books but they always leave me laughing smiling and having a great time. Even if I am sitting in the doctor's office. maybe it's even better that way because everybody is trying to figure out why I'm smiling so big while I'm waiting such a trial. I highly highly recommend this and make sure to pass it on to all your friends. It was very hard for me to let go of this book!


The Drafter (Peri Reed Chronicles, Bk 1)
The Drafter (Peri Reed Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Kim Harrison
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 12/7/2019


I loved this book. It is very very different from her previous series has but I thoroughly enjoyed it anyway. I made sure I didn't go into it expecting it to be just like the hollows series


The Kissing Game (Escapade, Bk 2)
The Kissing Game (Escapade, Bk 2)
Author: Kasey Michaels
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 12/13/2012


i love Kasey Michaels and her cute lighthearted books. I usually read them between larger and deeper novels i read or on trips but they are great and usually have a nice plot line, plus i can pass them on to my mom.


Monster Madness
Monster Madness
Author: Joseph Rosenbloom
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/6/2013


This is a cute little book of jokes riddles and tongue twisters that my daughter loved.

(from the back cover)
Horrors!
The gang's all here- from Count Dracula and King Kong, Frankenstein and Jaws to a gleeful gaggle of ghouls, ghosts, gremlins, zombies, werewolves, dinosaurs, demons, skeletons, spirits, bats and spooks- in the biggest, rowdiest convention of creepy creatures ever assembled.
Listen as they reveal their hilarious horror-ble jokes, their horrendous riddles and hideous tongue twisters! Watch as they, tear and tumble all over these pages!
Some of their riddles and jokes are old -some are new- some will delight you and others will make you moan and groan (ha-ha), but chances are you'll never hear something go bump in the night without stifling a giggle!
Happy Haunting!


The Panther (John Corey, Bk 6)
The Panther (John Corey, Bk 6)
Author: Nelson DeMille
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 12/28/2014
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this book. Once again did DeMille produce a thrilling story but he made me want to expand what i know about American relations overseas and what is going on politically. Absolutely a well written enticing book


To Light a Candle (Obsidian, Bk 2)
To Light a Candle (Obsidian, Bk 2)
Author: Mercedes Lackey, James Mallory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 112
Review Date: 9/19/2009


Absolutely fantastic! i read it so fast! a great smooth transition from the first book to this one.


1 to 15 of 15
Want fewer ads?