Jon R. (swamprat) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 38 - Page:
Baseball's Most Wanted II: The Top 10 Book of More Bad Hops, Screwball Players, and Other Oddities (Brassey's Most Wanted)
Review Date: 7/4/2006


Trivia for the diehard baseball fan. A fun book!!


Best Little Ironies, Oddities, and Mysteries of the Civil War
Review Date: 7/4/2006


A good book for the Civil War buff. Full of unusual stories and odd occurances.


Blood Test (Alex Delaware, Bk 2)
Blood Test (Alex Delaware, Bk 2)
Author: Jonathan Kellerman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 7/4/2006
Helpful Score: 1


The second Alex Delaware novel - as good as the first, but not as long. Good Book!!


The Burning
The Burning
Author: Bentley Little
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 3/31/2007
Helpful Score: 3


A good book, but in my opinion not as good as Little's books usually are. Still, I would recommend it.


The Cabinet of Curiosities (Pendergast, Bk 3)
The Cabinet of Curiosities (Pendergast, Bk 3)
Author: Douglas Preston, Lincoln Child
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 471
Review Date: 3/12/2007


Agent Pendergast at his best. Good Book!!


The Devil Colony (Sigma Force, Bk 7)
The Devil Colony (Sigma Force, Bk 7)
Author: James Rollins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 12/21/2011


Continuation of the 'SIGMA' series. More US history in this book. I enjoyed it - if you are a fan of Rollins, this one will not disappoint (I also learned a few things about US history).


Dizzy and the Gas House Gang: The 1934 St. Louis Cardinals and Depression-Era Baseball
Review Date: 6/10/2006


A very good book on depression era baseball in St. Louis and of baseball in general. A lot of info on the "GASHOUSE GANG". Dizzy and Daffy Dean, Frankie Frisch, Leo Durocher, and the rest of the "Gang" are all here.


The Enemy (Jack Reacher, Bk 8)
The Enemy (Jack Reacher, Bk 8)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 479
Review Date: 1/9/2007


Great read!! Grabbed me fron page one!!


Fat Ollie's Book (87th Precinct, Bk 52)
Fat Ollie's Book (87th Precinct, Bk 52)
Author: Ed McBain
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 8/20/2006


Ed McBain - 87th Precinct. Another Winner.


Fleeter Than Birds: The 1985 St. Louis Cardinals and Small Ball's Last Hurrah
Review Date: 6/10/2006


The rise and fall of the 1985 St. Louis Cardinals and the beginning of the end of "Small Ball", Whitery Herzog style.


Forever Odd (Odd Thomas, Bk 2)
Forever Odd (Odd Thomas, Bk 2)
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 422
Review Date: 9/6/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Sequel to ODD THOMAS. Dean Koontz = Good Book!! This one is no exception.


Four Blind Mice (Alex Cross, Bk 8)
Four Blind Mice (Alex Cross, Bk 8)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 635
Review Date: 7/9/2006


Alex Cross novel.


The Girl on the Train: A Novel
The Girl on the Train: A Novel
Author: Paula Hawkins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 445
Review Date: 12/20/2015


Good book - I enjoyed it, but having said that I did not think it lived up to all the praise that has been heaped upon this book. It was an enjoyable read and has a few plot twists, but I had figured out who had committed the murder by the half - way point. I have read several 2015 books that I think are much better.


Review Date: 7/31/2006


Down home, laugh out loud stories and jokes!!


Killing Floor (Jack Reacher, Bk 1)
Killing Floor (Jack Reacher, Bk 1)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 419
Review Date: 1/9/2007


Great Book!! One of the best!!


Lake Wobegon Summer 1956
Lake Wobegon Summer 1956
Author: Garrison Keillor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 1/18/2007


In my humble opinion this book is not up to Keillor's usual fare. A little disappointed, but it is an easy read and probably worth the time.


The Last Child
The Last Child
Author: John Hart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 295
Review Date: 1/7/2012


The third John Hart book. As good as the first two, maybe better. The best book I have read recently. Highly recommended.


The Litigators
The Litigators
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 154
Review Date: 4/13/2012


John Grisham has scored again. A refreshing change from the mysteries I usually read. Good Book.


The Lovely Bones
The Lovely Bones
Author: Alice Sebold
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 2003
Review Date: 7/23/2006


I have not read this book; however my wife read it and she asys it is a very good book. I think she read it in about 1 1/2 days.


Naked Prey (Lucas Davenport, Bk 14)
Naked Prey (Lucas Davenport, Bk 14)
Author: John Sandford
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 326
Review Date: 7/22/2006


Lucas Davenport - great, as usual.


1 to 20 of 38 - Page: