Brian T. (bookboy1971) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 24 - Page:
The 8th Confession (Womens Murder Club, Bk. 8)
The 8th Confession (Womens Murder Club, Bk. 8)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 446
Review Date: 8/11/2009


I really enjoyed this book. Each of the characters had their own distinct storyline that, in the end, came together. There was not a lot of conversing of the women like in previous books but this installment was excellent.


Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter
Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter
Author: Seth Grahame-Smith
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 111
Review Date: 7/17/2012


What an awful book!!! I kept telling myself that it could get better but I was fooled. It was hard to follow while it jumped from the present to the past. I am so glad that I did not pay for this book. Do not waste your time!!!


Atonement
Atonement
Author: Ian McEwan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 274
Review Date: 8/15/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This book was beauitfully written. It was haunting yet sad in some parts. I agree with other ratings that this story carries with you days, weeks and in my case months later. I love this book and look forward in reading more by this great author.


Billy Strobe
Billy Strobe
Author: John S. Martel
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 11/15/2008


This book is a great read. The story is wonderful.


Cross Justice (Alex Cross, Bk 23)
Cross Justice (Alex Cross, Bk 23)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 9/19/2016


If I could I would give this book 10 stars. I love it when James Patterson is at the top of his game and this is the best Alex Cross book in a long while. The storylines are superbly written and the tension is palpable through the pages. I can't wait for the next Alex Cross to come out and see the new adventures the Cross family has.


Dead to the World (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 4)
Dead to the World (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 4)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2232
Review Date: 12/6/2009


I read the first three books quickly It took me less than a week to read the first 3. Then, I came to book 4. It took me almost 1 month to read it. It was slow in parts and I almost wanted to give up but I didn't. I am reading the fifth one right now (Dead as a Doornail) and I love it :)


The Dolls (BookShots)
The Dolls (BookShots)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 9/7/2017


I did not like this book at all. The premise was weak and I could see the twists coming from a mile away.


Fireproof
Fireproof
Author: Eric Wilson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 83
Review Date: 10/10/2009


This book impacted my life in many ways. It made me realize that my addiction to internet pornography needs to stop and throughout this book I have not had the urge to look at sinful things on the computer. I want to be a better husband. This book has been a stepping stone to a better relationship with God. I know that he is my rock. Thank you to the authors of this book!!!


Gentlemen and Players
Gentlemen and Players
Author: Joanne Harris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 8/19/2008


This is a wonderful story that has so many twists and turns it makes all the roller coasters at Six Flags tame. I loved envisioning the plot twists in my head. This is a book that will keep you up at night.


The Help
The Help
Author: Kathryn Stockett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 398
Review Date: 6/7/2012


I love, love this book. My wife read it and saw the movie last summer and told me that I would enjoy this book. I read and fell in love with it. I have seen the movie at least 4 times and I am rereading it right now. It is a fabulous book and a history lesson to boot.


The Host
The Host
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 9/5/2009


This was a great book. It was much different from Meyer's Twilight series but still thought provoking. I felt that this book was a look at our world from another perspective.


I Heard That Song Before
I Heard That Song Before
Author: Mary Higgins Clark
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 371
Review Date: 8/16/2008


This is a great book. The characters are very well developed and MHC keeps you guessing until the end. I could not put this book down when my family and I went to the beach. I warn you that this book will keep you up at night.


Julie and Julia: My Year of Cooking Dangerously
Julie and Julia: My Year of Cooking Dangerously
Author: Julie Powell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 238
Review Date: 9/12/2009


I devoured this book in less than a week. I loved this book because it is about a woman's journey to find meaning in her life.


Just Take My Heart
Just Take My Heart
Author: Mary Higgins Clark
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 195
Review Date: 9/20/2009


I loved this book. It was suspenseful and had a great storyline. MHC did it again!!!!


The Keepsake (aka Keeping the Dead) (Rizzoli & Isles, Bk 7)
The Keepsake (aka Keeping the Dead) (Rizzoli & Isles, Bk 7)
Author: Tess Gerritsen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 203
Review Date: 7/19/2015


Tess Gerritsen redeemed herself with this book. I had a hard time reading book #6- The Mephisto Club. This book had the same action and suspense that I could expect from her.


The Last Surgeon
The Last Surgeon
Author: Michael Palmer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 4/24/2010


This was the first book I read by Micheal Palmer and it won't be my last. I want to read more by this great author. I have The First Patient and The Second Opinion on my bookshelf and I can't wait to read them.


The Mephisto Club (Rizzoli & Isles, Bk 6)
The Mephisto Club (Rizzoli & Isles, Bk 6)
Author: Tess Gerritsen
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 356
Review Date: 7/13/2015


I loved the series Rizzoli and Isles on television and the books. I read the first five quickly and was engrossed in them from the start and continued until the end. The book, however, was far fetched and was hard to get through. I finished it but was frustrated that the author had to go a different route with the murder and the mystery. I am reading The Keepsake, book 7, and I am loving it so far. She grabbed me from the first page and hasn't let go yet.


Private Down Under (Private, Bk 6)
Private Down Under (Private, Bk 6)
Author: James Patterson, Michael White
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 4/13/2015


This was another great book by James Patterson. I loved the three story lines going on and how the characters are developed. I want to read more from Private Down Under.


The Reader
The Reader
Author: Bernhard Schlink, Carol Brown Janeway (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 291
Review Date: 2/20/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book had such a hold on me that I finished it in one day. The author captured my heart and made me feel empathy for Hanna despite the fact of her henious crimes. I, also, felt angry that she carried a secret that killed innocent people. I cannot wait to see the movie and how Kate Winslet brings to life this wonderful literary character and how the director brought to life this now beloved book.


Revolutionary Road
Revolutionary Road
Author: Richard Yates
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 235
Review Date: 6/10/2009


This book was wonderful. The characters were well written and you became sorry for both Frank and April. The saddness that these characters felt with their own lives were evident throughout the pages. I could not put it down!!! I can't wait to see the movie.


1 to 20 of 24 - Page: