Silvercat - - Reviews

21 to 40 of 103 - Page:
Charles M. Schulz: Conversations (Conversations With Comic Artists)
Review Date: 1/7/2009


The "Peanuts" strip was always one of my favorites and the man behind its whimsical content is the reason why. He was a positive and caring man and the strip was an amazing extension of his talent and impressive integrity.


Chinese Carpets and Rugs
Chinese Carpets and Rugs
Author: Adolf Hackmack
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/26/2007


Profusely illustrated with photos and containing much information about Chinese rugs and carpets. There are also a number of design plates to explore.


The Chow Chow
The Chow Chow
Author: Anna Katherine Nicholas
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/13/2007


Published in 1985 by T.F.H. Publications, Inc., this breed book dedicated to the Chow Chow, covers all aspects of breed care and ownership. The photos are prolific and should prove of great interest to the breed fancier who welcomes seeing and owning photos of past champions in his dog's pedigree.


Collectible Mice
Collectible Mice
Author: Albert Eschen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 11/26/2007
Helpful Score: 1


The author writes of he and his wife's introduction to collecting this whimsical animal. They share their collection with the reader through photos and list values of the pieces as well.


Complete Book of Wood Finishing
Complete Book of Wood Finishing
Author: Robert Scharff
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/7/2009


There is a lot of information here to get anyone started on the road to successful refinishing!


Concerning Cats: My Own and Some Others
Concerning Cats: My Own and Some Others
Author: Helen M. Winslow
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/5/2018


Although a beautiful-looking book and one originally published in 1900 and re-printed in 1996, it was a large disappointment. It was tedious reading and I was unable to finish it.


The Concord Desk Encyclopedia
The Concord Desk Encyclopedia
Author: Robert A. Rosenbaum (Editor)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/7/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is a handy little 3 volume desk set that defines more than just words; it also includes people and places of note. The only drawback to it is that publication was in 1982; so much has happened since which seriously dates it. The other side of the coin is that there is a possibility that some of the facts in it have been dropped from newer tomes of this kind. Definitely a curiosity to lovers of older books.


Dancing With Cats
Dancing With Cats
Author: Burton Silver, Heather Busch
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 12/29/2008
Helpful Score: 1


While I think the concept of dancing with cats is intriguing, I have to admit that the text brought out some very odd ideas from "cat dancers" shown in this book. That said, I feel I should add that the photographs were great fun to sift through!


The Disaster of the Hindenburg: The Last Flight of the Greatest Airship Ever Built (Time Quest Book)
Review Date: 9/13/2007
Helpful Score: 1


A fascinating photo essay with text of the plight of the Hindenburg and its crew in 1937.


Dog On It (Chet and Bernie, Bk 1)
Dog On It (Chet and Bernie, Bk 1)
Author: Spencer Quinn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 143
Review Date: 2/17/2014


Thinking this might be a rather silly book, I found Quinn's tale funny and charming. It was rather like eating ice cream on a hot day!

The team of Chet and Bernie are a detective team that's hard to beat. I look at dog's differently now.


Dubliners
Dubliners
Author: James Joyce
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/15/2014


My mother died almost exactly thirty-one years ago, and in a small red leather notebook she left behind that my sister gave to me last year was a note: "Dubliners - James Joyce."

A few months ago I was able to secure a copy of the book and began to read. It was a rough go, wading through dated phrasing and Irish expressions I didn't understand. I struggled.

The book, having lain on my bedside table for a few weeks, beckoned me to continue. Little by little I began to get into the flow of Joyce's writing and descriptions of Dublin life. I became fascinated with the characters he wrote of and worried and rejoiced right along with them.

A wonderful book for sure! And I say a silent thank you to my mother for introducing me to the writings of an amazing author.


Dude, Where's My Country?
Dude, Where's My Country?
Author: Michael Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 11/26/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Moore always cuts to the chase with his own slant on things. Agree with him or not, I always find his books thought-provoking.


Eleven on Top (Stephanie Plum, Bk 11)
Eleven on Top (Stephanie Plum, Bk 11)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1216
Review Date: 2/28/2008


Another action-packed and humorous chapter in the continuing saga of Stephanie Plum, bounty hunter. Evanovich's style pulls you into the story quickly and before you know it, you are spit back out and craving more. I love this series!


Enslaved by Ducks : How One Man Went from Head of the Household to Bottom of the Pecking Order
Review Date: 2/18/2014
Helpful Score: 1


I could not get into this book.

When people make the decision to keep multiple animals and then basically grump about their lot in life as caretaker, I just have to shake my head. The humor was forced and silly.

After twenty pages, I put the book down - permanently.


Evergreens
Evergreens
Author: James Underwood Crockett
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/11/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Evergreens are more than a standing tree; this book explores many varieties that may surprise you! Profusely illustrated with color photos, this 1971 publication let's you explore the possibilities, like the Weeping Colorado Blue Spruce and St. John's Wort, to name but a few.


Fight Club
Fight Club
Author: Chuck Palahniuk
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 11/26/2007


This is typical Palahniuk...gritty, shocking and with that odd sense of humor thing he does. Entertaining read.


A Flask of Fields: Verbal and Visual Gems from the Films of W.C. Fields
Review Date: 9/12/2009


This tome should be a lot of fun for the dedicated oldtime movie fan! It is full of wonderful photos and is sheer detach-your-brain reading --


Flowering House Plants (Time-Life Encyclopedia of Gardening)
Review Date: 7/7/2007


There is a lot of information here! Lush photography...


French Paradox and Beyond: Live Longer with Wine and the Mediterranean Lifestyle
Review Date: 7/7/2007


An interesting commentary about the pluses in drinking red wine.

"More than 1.5 million Americans will have a heart attack this year; 500,000 of them will die. Now you can learn the pleasurable no-deprivation secrets that can help you avoid being a coronary statistic and live longer in the process."

The author, Lewis Perdue, has written 13 books and has worked as an investigative reporter for more than 20 years.


Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistlestop Cafe
Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistlestop Cafe
Author: Fannie Flagg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 301
Review Date: 2/28/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Flagg writes a story about a small town with a homey little cafe where everyone likes to hang out to eat some great tomatoes and barbeque. You could say it is a story about a place that artist Norman Rockwell might have painted - as American as apple pie. Or is it? Strange things are happening!

Loved the movie with Jessica Tandy and Kathy Bates. The book moves slower, but has a lush and rich narrative. It also has a recipe index for some good down home cooking.


21 to 40 of 103 - Page: