Facebook

Sherry H. (Monkeytoes) - Reviews

1 to 16 of 16
Ice Cold (aka The Killing Place) (Rizzoli & Isles, Bk 8)
Ice Cold (aka The Killing Place) (Rizzoli & Isles, Bk 8)
Author: Tess Gerritsen
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 122
Review Date: 8/10/2012


I love all the Rizzoli and Isles books. This story focuses more on Maura as the last few books have. It keeps you in suspend until the end and the story was very well written. This is a book that grabs you and doesn't let go until you are finished. Plus, this book was so enjoyable to read, it was a fast read as with all the Rizzoli and Isles books.


The Keepsake (Rizzoli & Isles, Bk 7)
The Keepsake (Rizzoli & Isles, Bk 7)
Author: Tess Gerritsen
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 199
Review Date: 8/16/2012


Another great book in the series. Very well written, did not want to put the book down. Mummys, and serial killers together, great combination and different.


Life After Death
Life After Death
Author: Damien Echols
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 9/29/2012
Helpful Score: 2


I came into this book already being aware of the case and the background of Damien Echols. I would really like to read his first book Almost Home but I am not going to spend $80.00 for it. Anyway, this book really made me think even more about what he went through and how he was treated. I can understand when he writes about people who let so called power go to their heads. I can and do believe that there are hateful people working in the prison system just to get their daily dose of belittling and hurting people to make themselves feel superior. I do not think I have read a book that reached me as this book did. I would come home from work at night and have a few hours to read this and then I could not sleep just thinking about what I had just read. The words would linger with me the next day and days after I read this. I will never forget the line that reads, "When life eats you, it always starts with your heart." This was so true to me. Because with every hurt, every disappointment in life it does take from your heart. No, I have not lived through what Damien has endured, but I can understand somewhat on a very minuscule scale as we have all been hurt in some way. If I were to live through what he did, I would no longer have a heart, it would all have turned to hate.
For anyone who has followed the WM3, you must read this book. Even if you have no idea who the WM3 are, find out and then read the book. I did not know much about Damien before he went to trial. Or what happened to him after he left the court room, but I got an inside look from this book. He wrote what he meant. Even if he uses the words magick over and over, its his life and his book; he should write it the way he wants. He really had a way of making me feel what he was feeling. Reading this book, I was happy, sad, mad, disappointed, and just dazed. I actually wish at times it was more in depth and at other times I thought it was just perfect the way it was. I got the feeling that not only was Damien naïve at the beginning of this but he also learned to hate those that abused him and that he must still live in fear of people because of that treatment. I think a weaker person who had not lived such a hard life as his would have never made it through.


Locke & Key
Locke & Key
Author: Joe Hill, Gabriel Rodriguez
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 8/10/2012


I also did not know this was written as a comic book, but once I started to read this book I had to buy the other 4. It is about a family who loses their father/husband and they move to a new home that is full of keys that reveil lots of surprises. This book is not the same old thing that we read over and over again. It was very refreshing to see and read some new ideas. I read all 5 that are in this series and everyone I could not put down until I was done. And the art work was amazing. I think there will be one more in the story line to finish it up and I can not wait to read it.


Mannheim Rex
Mannheim Rex
Author: Robert Pobi
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 11/17/2018


I wish Stephen King still wrote like this. This was an incredible story, with multiple killers. This book was creepy and had me checking doors and windows before bed. A story about friendships and monster hunting.


The Nightrunners
The Nightrunners
Author: Joe R. Lansdale
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/6/2016


This is one of the creepiest stories I have read since I started reading Bentley Little about 7 years ago. If you like scary, this book is for you.


Northwest Angle (Cork O'Connor, Bk 11)
Northwest Angle (Cork O'Connor, Bk 11)
Author: William Kent Krueger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 8/11/2017


I used to love this series, but since his wife was written out of the series these books have not been that good. This book has been hard for me to get through. Every other sentence is about god or praying. If I wanted a religious experience I would read the bible. I am very disappointed in where this series has gone. Other then all the religious comments this story is drawn out and not very exciting.


One Bad Apple (Orchard Mystery, Bk 1)
One Bad Apple (Orchard Mystery, Bk 1)
Author: Sheila Connolly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 153
Review Date: 8/21/2012


Well written. Great characters. I can not wait to read the 2nd book in this series.


One on One
One on One
Author: Tabitha King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 12/25/2014


I really loved this book. It is very in depth about to two teenage basketball stars and them falling in love at a young age. Very well written. A book that when I read it, I literally forgot all that I had on going on around me. It really draws you in.


Robert B. Parker's Killing the Blues (Jesse Stone, Bk 10)
Robert B. Parker's Killing the Blues (Jesse Stone, Bk 10)
Author: Michael Brandman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 1/8/2014


From the first page I could tell this was not the same Jesse Stone. This book is more like the movies than the original books. I think I realized that because I read the series one after the other and when I got to this one, I really noticed the change. Jesse seemed more harsh to me, then he was previous. Previous he was more smooth on how he said and went about things, not in this book. I saw the same characteristics in Molly as well. Other than that I did enjoy the book. It was like Michael Brandman saw the movies and wrote a book. Maybe he should of read the books and wrote a book. Or maybe it was decided to go off the movie.


The Skull Throne (Demon Cycle, Bk 4)
The Skull Throne (Demon Cycle, Bk 4)
Author: Peter V. Brett
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 12/5/2015


The beginning of the book left off at the end of book 3. But I never got past the 4th chapter as it went back into the past and lingered there and was uninteresting to me. This series started out so good and I could not wait until the next book. But with all the strange languages and customs I just could not get back into the book as it was not an interesting story line. I bought this book brand new so I hope the next person who gets this book will get some use out of it. I for one am finished with the Demon Cycle.


Sleeping With the Fishes (Fred the Mermaid, Bk 1)
Sleeping With the Fishes (Fred the Mermaid, Bk 1)
Author: MaryJanice Davidson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 661
Review Date: 8/16/2012


This book could have been much better. The beginning was very difficult to understand. I kept trying to figure out who was and who was not a mermaid. It came clear within a few chapters but was very confusing. The story line was ok, but not great. The characters are there, but the writer did not do enough with them to make them more believable. It seems she just threw everyone together with no background at all on the characters. I hate to say it but this is just a bad written book. I think this is something that a high school kid could have achieved very easily if writting an essay for school. If you have an afternoon to waste on something brainless to just relax go for it. I did however, get intrigued by the future of Fred so I did order the 2nd in the series of three, even though I see bad reviews for those as well.


This Perfect Day: A Novel
This Perfect Day: A Novel
Author: Ira Levin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/3/2018


Story of the world being controlled by a computer system and one man who insists on freedom. It is really an interesting story. Even though this was written in the 60's, it seems to mean more today then it would back then with the technology we have today. I really enjoyed the book and see references in the book that I see in the world today.


Three Lives of Tomomi Ishikawa
Three Lives of Tomomi Ishikawa
Author: Benjamin Constable
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/4/2017


Ben Constable and Tomomi Ishikawa are friends. They meet for drinks, late-night cigarettes, and witty imaginative and often surreal conversations. But ben's life is turned upside down when he receives what seems to be a suicide note from Tomomi Ishikawa. Not only does the note announce her death, but it invites Ben on an extraordinary treasure hunt that takes him through the streets of Paris and New York City. There are clues and hidden treasures that gradually reveal aspects of Tomomi Ishikawa that Ben did not know. They also appear to disclose a startling revelation. Tomomi Ishikawa is a murderer. Combining cleverly funny dialogue with quirky, enigmatic characters and a fantastic premise that will leave readers guessing. Three Lives of Tomomi Ishikawa will undoubtedly resonate long after the past page is finished.

I copied the above from the summary. I wanted to read something that was totally different then my usual books. This was it and I really enjoyed the suspense of this book and constantly wondered where it would take me next.


You Don't Want To Know
You Don't Want To Know
Author: Lisa Jackson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 7/21/2016


This book was very hard to read. It was all over the place and the characters were not that interesting. I felt like it was not well written. I was glad when I had finished it. The story line felt forced, like the writer knew where the book should go but had no idea of how to get the story there.


Zombies! Zombies! Zombies! (Vintage Crime/Black Lizard Original)
Zombies! Zombies! Zombies! (Vintage Crime/Black Lizard Original)
Author: Otto Penzler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 12/25/2013


This book was long and hard to get through. The stories averaged from short to long, but mostly took place in Haiti and were about voodoo in the 1920's. There were some modern stories but very few. I would most definitely not read this again, or any of the stories again. I think I bought this for the Stephen King story, but I realized that I had already read that one before. I gave it 2 1/2 stars because there were about 3 stories that interested me.


1 to 16 of 16