Facebook
Want fewer ads?

DESHIRL Y. - Reviews

1 to 13 of 13
An Hour Before Daylight
An Hour Before Daylight
Author: Jimmy Carter
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 9/30/2009


This was a very delightful book about the life of Jimmy Carter. I felt as if I knew him and would love to spend time with him at the kitchen table. Reading about his years growing up was very captivating. I felt this was a very enchanting book. Anyone who wants to know more about the life of Jimmy Carter should definitely indulge in this marvelous book.


Big Little Lies
Big Little Lies
Author: Liane Moriarty
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 144
Review Date: 9/26/2015
Helpful Score: 2


Excellent book! I finished this story a week ago and cannot stop thinking about it and talking about it. I had a very (surprising to me!) visceral response when the big secret was revealed. The beginning of the book was so high-school and blah, blah, blah, BUT! It is a necessary set up so that when you get to the exciting parts you understand why it is so amazing. I read it as a book on CD and loved the reading of this story. I lent this CD set to another person in my book club to read and she told me she was "chained" to the CD player! I HAD! warned her. Read the beginning knowing that there is something great at the other end of it. This is seriously a MUST READ!!!


Change of Heart
Change of Heart
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 486
Review Date: 10/1/2009


I read this book because I had read her previous book called Nineteen Minutes. I really like her writing style and how she lets the reader know how the issue affects each of the different characters of her book. This book was not a disappointment and I would highly recommend reading any of her books if you are a reader who wants to understand the psychology of people when they are in crisis. I also always believe that she has known someone in each of the situations that she writes about or that she has done a great deal of research or interviews with the people who are dealing with these conditions. She is a wonderful writer. Her books are very provocative and can launch a great bookclub conversation.


The Christmas Shoes (Christmas Hope, Bk 1)
The Christmas Shoes (Christmas Hope, Bk 1)
Author: Donna VanLiere
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 197
Review Date: 12/5/2009


What a great story. It can be read any time of the year. It is so absolutely touching -- a MUST READ!!!


Confessions of an Economic Hit Man
Confessions of an Economic Hit Man
Author: John Perkins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 85
Review Date: 10/8/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is a most interesting book that EVERY AMERICAN should read. It is very fascinating and it could be an explanation for why September 11th happened.


Divining Women (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Divining Women (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Kaye Gibbons
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 8/24/2010


This is a really interesting women's story. It's a story of triumph over tragedy and how one can come to this point through the power of friendship and support. It was a great read. It is read by the author and at first her voice really irritated me, but I grew to accept the voice during the course of the story. It is an UNABRIDGED story on 5 CDs. I really liked this book!


Hold Tight (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Hold Tight (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Harlan Coben, Scott Brick (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 7/4/2010
Helpful Score: 5


I really liked this story! It was a very smart book with an intelligent well-thought-out conclusion. I also loved that at the beginning, the CD lets the reader know that the technology referred to in the story is all real. The book tells you how to access this technology! I actually learned some technological things. These tips were the icing on the cake! Since being in PBS I first heard of Harlan Coben and I love all of his stories. He is highly entertaining!

Deshirl


Nickel and Dimed: On (Not) Getting By in America
Nickel and Dimed: On (Not) Getting By in America
Author: Barbara Ehrenreich
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 1099
Review Date: 10/8/2009


This is a book that should be read by every high school person in America, especially those students who are underachieving -- a foretelling of their future if they do not work hard in school. Then once they read it someone needs to let them know that, yes, these are VERY REAL experiences for the downtrodden. I think the book should not be criticized because B.E. was not really economically challenged and could get away from the situation after she decided the experiment was over, because no one who is that poor has written any books like that to tell us about that eperience. I feel like I have lived a very little of that and I always take on 2nd and 3rd and 4th jobs to earn etra money and there is a lot of degradation in working in people's homes, cleaning their toilets and doing the work for them that they don't want to do for themselves. Also, just last night I started the book that 1700 people on this website have on their wish list -- The Help -- and these two books have lots of similiarity so far.


Nineteen Minutes
Nineteen Minutes
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 1258
Review Date: 10/1/2009


My first Jodi Picoult book. I'm hooked on her now...need I say more?


One Thousand White Women: The Journals of May Dodd
One Thousand White Women: The Journals of May Dodd
Author: Jim Fergus
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 686
Review Date: 10/21/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I recently finished this book and I must say that I was thoroughly captivated by it the entire time I read it. I loved how the women were thrown together on a train (not many of them knew each other before hand) and learned to consider each other to be "family." their adventure was fascinating, and yes, though it was fiction, you really are left wondering if it is not based on a real person's life. I suspect it is. It is a really wonderful read that I will be recommending to my book club!


Puddnhead Wilson : And, Those Extraordinary Twins (The Penguin English Library)
Review Date: 7/15/2010


This is a most interesting book of raial relationships during the period of slavery. It is a book that I think many of today's school children should read because it deals with cruelty and the repurcussions of bad acts. Definitely worth the read!

Deshirl


The Red Hat Club (Red Hat Club, Bk 1) (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Review Date: 9/10/2010


I just finished this book and I thought it was so cute. It was a little mean, but very funny and definitely entertaining and worth the listen. I really loved this book! The reader made the book very entertaining. She sounds to me a lot like Rue McClannahan and it was fun. Listen to it! Deshirl


The Road Home (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Review Date: 12/9/2015


I liked that this story of family members who were inextricably bound to each other, due to their history, both family and personal, once that opened up to each other. This is a very interesting story, discussing their parallel to Thelma and Louise. This is a very feel-good story that is worth the read.


1 to 13 of 13
Want fewer ads?