Laura R. (lreinbach) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 31 - Page:
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 3675
Review Date: 8/28/2005


Fast paced. Good story and characters.


Atonement
Atonement
Author: Ian McEwan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 893
Review Date: 6/29/2006
Helpful Score: 1


One of the best books I have read in a long time. Memorable story and characters.


Autobiography of a Face
Autobiography of a Face
Author: Lucy Grealy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 10/25/2005


Beautifully written memoir.


The Bean Trees
The Bean Trees
Author: Barbara Kingsolver
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 510
Review Date: 7/22/2005
Helpful Score: 3


I enjoyed this book. I love Kingsolver's witty, funny narrative and the characters are very likable. I would recommend for a nice easy read.


Breath, Eyes, Memory
Breath, Eyes, Memory
Author: Edwidge Danticat
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 255
Review Date: 1/1/2007


Good book.


Brokeback Mountain
Brokeback Mountain
Author: Annie Proulx
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 112
Review Date: 5/23/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Short and sweet. A well written short story.


The Crystal Cave
The Crystal Cave
Author: Mary Stewart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 9/23/2005


First book in Merlin series. The entire series is excellent.


Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight: An African Childhood
Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight: An African Childhood
Author: Alexandra Fuller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 259
Review Date: 1/16/2007


I really enjoyed this book. I would recommend. It is worth reading.


Dragonfly in Amber (Outlander, Bk 2)
Dragonfly in Amber (Outlander, Bk 2)
Author: Diana Gabaldon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 1011
Review Date: 9/14/2005


Second book in the Outlander series. Great characters and story. Some parts drag a bit. Overall a really good book. I do want to keep reading this series to find out what happens to these characters. You definitely get attached to them!


Elli
Elli
Author: Livia E. Bitton Jackson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/23/2005


Memoir of a young girl during the holocaust. Difficult subject but very well written.


Escape from the Moonies
Escape from the Moonies
Author: Susan Swatland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/30/2006


Interesting read.


The Hollow Hills (Arthurian Saga, Bk 2)
The Hollow Hills (Arthurian Saga, Bk 2)
Author: Mary Stewart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 9/23/2005


Second book in Stewart's Merlin series. Excellent.


Housekeeping
Housekeeping
Author: Marilynne Robinson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 201
Review Date: 1/27/2006
Helpful Score: 9


A little difficult for me to get into. Her poetic use of language has been highly praised. However, as someone who is not a literature or english major, I don't think I could appreciate this book as much.


Jesus Land
Jesus Land
Author: Julia Scheeres
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 5/13/2007


Moving and memorable.


The Kite Runner
The Kite Runner
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5712
Review Date: 1/5/2006


Excellent! Very moving story.


Kushiel's Dart (Kushiel's Legacy, Bk 1)
Kushiel's Dart (Kushiel's Legacy, Bk 1)
Author: Jacqueline Carey
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 504
Review Date: 10/9/2005


I didn't like the writer's style at first. She is very wordy and her sentences didn't flow well for me. However, I was able to get past that and this story is really good. Strong characters, adventure, and a good, interesting story line.


The Last Enchantment (Arthurian Saga, Bk 3)
The Last Enchantment (Arthurian Saga, Bk 3)
Author: Mary Stewart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 9/23/2005


third book in Merlin series. Entire series is excellent.


A Million Little Pieces
A Million Little Pieces
Author: James Frey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 2148
Review Date: 5/23/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Even with all the negative press regarding the untruths of this book, it is still a good read. It would have made a great novel. It didn't have to be a fake memoir.


Nights Of Rain And Stars
Nights Of Rain And Stars
Author: Maeve Binchy
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 175
Review Date: 10/19/2005


Characters you come to know and care about. A good, light read.


Outlander (Outlander, Bk 1)
Outlander (Outlander, Bk 1)
Author: Diana Gabaldon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 1583
Review Date: 8/18/2005
Helpful Score: 1


I have been wanting to read this book for a long time so was looking forward to it. However, I had a really hard time getting into it for some reason. I don't know why. It took me half way through before I was drawn in and this is a long book. After that point I really enjoyed it and am wanting to read the sequels. Having said that I would still recommend reading Outlander.


1 to 20 of 31 - Page: