Facebook

Julie D. (pindari) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 39 - Page:
1001 Things Every College Student Needs to Know: (Like Buying Your Books Before Exams Start) (1001 Things)
Review Date: 10/30/2013


Written with humor, but also full of great ideas. Although mostly common sense, it is still full of ideas and suggestions that you might not think of in the chaos of beginning college.


1001 Things Every Teen Should Know Before They Leave Home: (Or Else They'll Come Back) (1001 Things)
Review Date: 10/30/2013


As a parent I loved it - thorough, with a sense of humor, filled with common sense, and details that you might not be thinking of as you prepare to leave home. I'd hoped my 16 yr. old would read it - but he had little patience for it as he already knows it all! Perhaps in a year or 2, when his departure is imminent, it will appeal more.


The Age of Innocence
The Age of Innocence
Author: Edith Wharton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 109
Review Date: 10/5/2013


this was an interesting visit to another era. A glimpse of a world as it begins to change. I was saddened that I wasn't able to see the true love blossom, but happy to see characters behaving with consideration of others.


Alaska
Alaska
Author: James A. Michener
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 90
Review Date: 9/29/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I know this is a great book - but I just couldn't get into it. I bought it because we were traveling to Alaska, but never found the time to read it.


The Amber Room
The Amber Room
Author: Steve Berry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 397
Review Date: 9/17/2011


A fun, slightly dated book. The action takes place just before the restoration of the Amber room. Fun to read about what could have happened to the original, and not too hard to believe that it could be true.


The Bonesetter's Daughter
The Bonesetter's Daughter
Author: Amy Tan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 147
Review Date: 9/17/2011
Helpful Score: 3


A wonderful read detailing one woman's journey through life from pre-communist china through to near present times in CA. Enough detail to make you feel you are there, and to understand somewhat the culture. Also an exploration of the Mother / Daughter dynamic.


The Book of Daniel
The Book of Daniel
Author: E. L. Doctorow
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 9/16/2013


This was a challenging read. The way the author has organized the development of the plot left me struggling to keep up, but the feeling is intense and the political message is applicable today. I was often not in sympathy with any of the characters either, which makes it easy to put down, but something about it always made me pick it back up.


Butt Rot and Bottom Gas: A Glossary of Tragically Misunderstood Words
Review Date: 9/29/2010


This is a glossary of tragically misunderstood words - and just plain odd ones. Fun for anyone interested in language.


The Call of the Wild (Puffin Classics)
The Call of the Wild (Puffin Classics)
Author: Jack London
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 9/17/2011


How does one lowly reader review such a classic? I loved it of course, I wanted to save Buck so many times - and was so happy at his freedom.


The Creative Spirit : Tie-in (PBS)
The Creative Spirit : Tie-in (PBS)
Author: Daniel Goleman, Paul Kaufman, Michael Ray
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/22/2012


This book was written as a companion to the television show - and made me wish I'd seen it. Filled with theories about creativity, and exercises to bring out creativity in the reader, it's an interesting read.


Dave Barry Is Not Making This Up
Dave Barry Is Not Making This Up
Author: Dave Barry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 9/29/2010


This is a great book for those who just love how silly things can get sometimes. I always enjoyed Dave Barry's newspaper column, and this book is much the same. His alert readers send notice of oddball happenings or newspaper articles that are a bit odd - and off Dave goes! Good for kids 13 to 80 (I don't remember exactly, but there may be a bit off-color humor there)


Equal Rites (Discworld, Bk 3)
Equal Rites (Discworld, Bk 3)
Author: Terry Pratchett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 254
Review Date: 9/17/2011


The whole discworld series is such a fun read. An adventurous romp through an impossible world. It's lighthearted, but engaging enough to keep you reading at night long after you should have turned out the light!


False Impression
False Impression
Author: Jeffrey Archer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 9/17/2011


A thriller involving the art and insurance worlds. Gripping and very hard to put down!


Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them
Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them
Author: J. K. Rowling, Newt Scamander
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 173
Review Date: 9/29/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This is a companion to the Harry Potter series - just adds a bit more info for die-hard fans!


A Farewell to Arms
A Farewell to Arms
Author: Ernest Hemingway
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 9/17/2011


An amazing perspective on WWI. An American serving in the Italian army? A crazy amount of alcohol, even in the hospital! And a lovely ending.


The Funny Thing Is...
The Funny Thing Is...
Author: Ellen DeGeneres
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 78
Review Date: 1/22/2012
Helpful Score: 2


I love Ellen - love her show, and think she'd be a great person to know, but I had trouble with this book. I didn't find it funny at all as I started reading. It's written just as if she were reciting one of her monologues and it wasn't until I heard her voice in my head as I read that I found the funny.


Genesis  (Projekt Saucer, Bk 3)
Genesis (Projekt Saucer, Bk 3)
Author: W. A. Harbinson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 9/29/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I started this book thinking it was a Sci-fi novel, but it had quite a twist. I don't want to give it away, but although the story was a bit slow paced, and filled with much detail that seemed irrelevant, I couldn't put it down.


Girl with a Pearl Earring
Girl with a Pearl Earring
Author: Tracy Chevalier
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1456
Review Date: 9/17/2011
Helpful Score: 1


While I really enjoyed this book for it's view of the life lived then, I found it hard to understand the choices made by "the girl with a pearl earring" and accordingly wasn't as engaged in the story as I would have liked.


How to Have Sex in Public Without Being Noticed
How to Have Sex in Public Without Being Noticed
Author: Marcel Feigel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/14/2011


Not much for text in this book at all - and you won't find workable suggestions in here either - what you'll find are clever drawings that will have you looking at things just a bit differently ;-) This is a book I could give my grandmother, and get a few smiles.


I Know This Much Is True
I Know This Much Is True
Author: Wally Lamb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 990
Review Date: 9/16/2013


This book kept me in thrall for all of it's 897 pages - even when I was through, I wasn't ready to be done. A wonderful story, with characters you care about and could know, characters both brilliant and flawed that draw you into their lives.


1 to 20 of 39 - Page: