Janet S. (weekendreader) - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress
Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress
Author: Dai Sijie, Ina Rilke (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 684
Review Date: 8/25/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book is so well written with excellent descriptions. I loved the story.


The Blood of Flowers
The Blood of Flowers
Author: Anita Amirrezvani
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 7/26/2012


This novel was well written and had believable characters. I loved this book and couldn't put it down! For those familiar with Persian culture, this book quite accurately shows what life may have been like for the characters. It is not neccessary to be familiar with Persian culture to love this book. This book is the story about the hard life of a poor girl who has to overcome a lot. But with hard work, determination, and talent she gains self respect and admiration from others. I highly recomment this book. PG 13 rating in parts.


Break Free
Break Free
Author: Lynnita Mattock
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/30/2009


A quick read. I little too predictable but the characters are very likeable.


The Crossing : The Curious Story of the First Man to Swim the English Channel
Review Date: 8/25/2009


I found this book very interesting. A glimpse into the life of someone with a dream and all the work it takes to reach your dreams.


Magical Thinking
Magical Thinking
Author: Augusten Burroughs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 270
Review Date: 8/27/2009


This book does not have the same wit and passion as his other books, Running with Scissors and Dry. It is fun to read about more escapades in his life as they have happened.


Memoirs of a Geisha
Memoirs of a Geisha
Author: Arthur Golden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 2685
Review Date: 8/25/2009
Helpful Score: 1


One of my favorite books of all time. It is so well written that I couldn't put it down. The visualization of what it was like to live at that time is terrific.


Reading Lolita in Tehran: A Memoir in Books
Reading Lolita in Tehran: A Memoir in Books
Author: Azar Nafisi
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 1386
Review Date: 5/10/2009
Helpful Score: 3


The beginning doesn't hook you into the book but as you continue and get to know the women in the book, the culture comes alive and draws you into their lives.


The Red Tent
The Red Tent
Author: Anita Diamant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3406
Review Date: 8/25/2009
Helpful Score: 1


One of my favorite books of all time. I love the unity of women in the story.


Shattered Dreams: My Life as a Polygamist's Wife
Shattered Dreams: My Life as a Polygamist's Wife
Author: Irene Spencer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 12/27/2011


A very interesting memoir. I couldn't put it down and read it in a couple of days. The sacrifices she made at such a young age is hard to imagine.


Water for Elephants
Water for Elephants
Author: Sara Gruen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 4731
Review Date: 5/21/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I loved getting to know what life was like during the Depression. This book really puts you into the lifestyle of the circus- the good, bad, an ugly.


1 to 10 of 10