Laura H. (laurahun) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 20
America's Lighthouses : An Illustrated History
America's Lighthouses : An Illustrated History
Author: Francis Ross Holland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/14/2009
Helpful Score: 1


It's a beautiful book and the pictures are great. The book is considered Americana, showcasing lighthouses and their history since 1716. I enjoy the backstory to each lighthouse and the details on who manned it and when. But the best part is the anecdotes that surround each lighthouse.


Bird of Paradise
Bird of Paradise
Author: Elizabeth Daniels
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 11/1/2009


Miss Lacy Phalen is Boston's premier heiress and beauty. But being forced into marriage with is not for her, so after being nearly raped by the man who wants to control her and almost controls her father's shipping line, she ventures out west. Settling in Paradise, MO as the school marm, she meets her savior from the near rape.
Ben Paradise is his own man. In love with Lacy, but she won't let him in. After a brutal beating and another near rape, she is forced to resign as school marm. Having nowhere else to turn, she lives in Ben's house of ill-repute. She serves drinks and not men, until one night she finally gives in to Ben and they begin a torrid love affair that leads them to San Francisco and the gold rush. Even her father shows up at the end to bless their union and save his shipping line.


Blackbird House
Blackbird House
Author: Alice Hoffman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 11/6/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Every tale in this wonderful collection of short stories by author Alice Hoffman has one thing in common: each takes place in Blackbird House on Cape Cod. Set in the historically rich fabric of New England, each story revolves around something magical and yet heart-wrenchingly real. The stories span from the Revolutionary War to modern day, and explore the timeless themes of love, betrayal, devastation, exhilaration, death and life.
If you've never read Alice Hoffman, BLACKBIRD HOUSE is an excellent place to start. It gives the reader a wonderful example of just how prolific and talented a writer Alice Hoffman is and how powerfully her writing resonates with her readers


The Deep Beyond
The Deep Beyond
Author: C. J. Cherryh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 8/8/2009


This is 2 books in one: "Cuckoo's Egg" and "Serpent's Reach" they are not short stories, but 2 stand-alone novels. both are really great sci fi/fantasy novels.


Devil of the Highlands (Devil of the Highlands, Bk 1)
Devil of the Highlands (Devil of the Highlands, Bk 1)
Author: Lynsay Sands
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 325
Review Date: 8/11/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This has a really great beginning, and the middle throws a few twists that won't be worked out until the very end! I read it in one shot, unable to put it down. It is very typical Lynsay Sands, and if you are new to Lynsay Sands, she never disappoints.


The Devil Wears Plaid
The Devil Wears Plaid
Author: Teresa Medeiros
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 141
Review Date: 10/27/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This book had a lot of the old cliched plot devices, a gruff Highlander on horseback barging in on a wedding, kidnapping the bride, holding her for ransom...you get the picture. But you know, for being cliches, I've actually only ever read one story where the hero barged in on a wedding (Karen Marie Moning's To Tame a Highland Warrior). So for me, this was all new.

The beginning cracked me up because our heroine Emmaline is being married off to some old goat (pardon) ahem, a randy old goat, to save her father from debtor's prison. What was so funny is that she's 22 and the audience is talking about how lucky she is to be marrying the old earl, and how old she is,and how she's very lucky the old earl has enough experience in bed ::snicker:: to satisfy her.

But alas, as they are saying their vows, several men burst in with guns, and the man on horseback, Jamie Sinclair, tells the old earl he's here for his bride. he abducts Emma and takes her high into the mountains where the earl's men will never find them.

The majority of this story takes place while on the run, and Emma has known nothing but a kindly old man who wants an heir, whilst Jamie knows the true evil in the old goat's soul.

I actually think it got a bit slow towards the middle, but once the two realized they were in love, and he was still going to ransom her off, it really picked up!

Since the earl had been suspected of killing Jamie's parents when he was a babe, Jamie wanted proof. It came from a very unlikely source, and it was so not what we were expecting!!! In a "wow," way, not in an "out of left field" kind of way.

But the oh so predictable ending I'd predicted was...Wrong!

I was totally surprised at what had happened and I was soo endeared to Ian, the old earl's great-nephew and Jamie's best friend when they were younger. (there's a long story there, that I was incredibly happy with the outcome)

And watching Emma blossom under the kidnapping ordeal was great. She changed just enough to stay true to her character.

The ending was a bit of a muddle, thought IMHO. I think the ending with Jamie, Emma and Ian was brilliant, however, the old earl's comeuppance was a bit much. And too easy. Hence, the muddle.

But I'd re-read this one, and definitely suggest to other fans in need of a good Highland romance


The Edge of Desire (Bastion Club, Bk 7)
The Edge of Desire (Bastion Club, Bk 7)
Author: Stephanie Laurens
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 249
Review Date: 9/5/2009
Helpful Score: 3


It's like Sherlock Holmes meets Sex and the City. I enjoyed the romance story, but the murder-intrigue was much more interesting than I originally had thought! I'm not one for murder/mysteries, so for me to have enjoyed it, is really saying something!


European Dictionary: French-English-German-Spanish-Italian-Portuguese
Review Date: 8/6/2009
Helpful Score: 1


It is really easy to use, with the translation for each word side by side by side in each language.


The Girlfriends' Guide to Pregnancy Or Everything Your Doctor Won't Tell You
Review Date: 11/2/2009


This is set up as an easy to read month by month pregnancy guide. It's very reader-friendly and deals with some things too embarrassing to ask about, and things you never knew would happen. With a bit of humor and plenty of facts, it is a very helpful and informative book.


Girls Night (Single Moms, Second Chances, Bk 1)
Girls Night (Single Moms, Second Chances, Bk 1)
Author: Stef Ann Holm
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 156
Review Date: 11/1/2009


Jillene is recently widowed with two tween daughters. Her husband left her the coffee bar, and a huge debt. Renaming the coffee joint and breathing new life into it cause her daughters to see how hard their mom works. So they write her a personal ad.
Vince is back home to rethink his career as a crime writer. He meets Jillene at Java the Hut, and can't get her out of his mind. When he stops by her house, jillene gets some creep calling her about her personal ad, and Vince takes care of it for her as her "boyfriend."
Suddenly, lattes aren't the only thing steaming up Blue Heron Beach


Highlander Unmasked (MacLeods of Skye, Bk 2)
Highlander Unmasked (MacLeods of Skye, Bk 2)
Author: Monica McCarty
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 187
Review Date: 11/1/2009


This is the second in the MacLeods of Skye trilogy, and it is about Alex, Rory's brother. Alex has gone "undercover" so to speak as an outlaw. He and his men ride across an attempted kidnapping and robbery of two women. The two women happen to be women he knows, but he can't let them recognize him. So Alex rides off rather quickly, but not before he leaves an impression.
Meeting Meg at court is also accidental, but she can't stop thinking about him, and he can't keep his hands off her. It's a great romance, and Monica McCarty is a great writer.


In the Highlander's Bed (Cameron Sisters, Bk 5)
In the Highlander's Bed (Cameron Sisters, Bk 5)
Author: Cathy Maxwell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 214
Review Date: 7/25/2009
Helpful Score: 3


a fast-paced historical set in 1808 Scotland between an American girl and a Highlander. Fast-paced, witty banter...it's a fun read.


Jay Harlow's Beer Cuisine: A Cookbook for Beer Lovers
Jay Harlow's Beer Cuisine: A Cookbook for Beer Lovers
Author: Jay Harlow
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/5/2009


This is a great cookbook, and it's not all "bachelor chow" type recipes. There are a lot of seafood recipes, appetizers, even bbq recipes. Some don't even call for beer, they just tell which beer would suit with the meal planned. I thoroughly enjoyed the seafood gumbo!


Kiss of a Demon King (Immortals After Dark, Bk 7)
Kiss of a Demon King (Immortals After Dark, Bk 7)
Author: Kresley Cole
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 572
Review Date: 8/12/2009


I really enjoyed this; I read it all at once. But I think that it wasn't quite as good as the others in the series...but I do really like the ending!


Once Upon a Castle: Spellbound / Castle Doom / Falcon's Lair / Dragonspell
Review Date: 7/22/2009


I love this book! Nora Roberts is a favorite of mine, and her stories never fail! The other 3 authors have impressed me with this compilation. It is from a series that the 4 authors have written...there are 4 compilations like this one; in this book, they all deal with a castle being the mystical catalyst. Very cool.


One Dance with a Duke (Stud Club, Bk 1)
One Dance with a Duke (Stud Club, Bk 1)
Author: Tessa Dare
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 155
Review Date: 8/22/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I thought this was great. I read a few reviews where Amelia's affection for her brother Jack was overdone,but I thought it worked with the way her relationship and self-martyring personality was. And to be fair, the self-martyring wasn't really all that bad...that was more Spencer's take on Amelia, not mine.
Amelia and Spencer meet at a ball, minus any romantic impulses. They are married just days later, as a business arrangement, and fall into friendship and love. I loved how Spencer was ...more I thought this was great. I read a few reviews where Amelia's affection for her brother Jack was overdone,but I thought it worked with the way her relationship and self-martyring personality was. And to be fair, the self-martyring wasn't really all that bad...that was more Spencer's take on Amelia, not mine.
Amelia and Spencer meet at a ball, minus any romantic impulses. They are married just days later, as a business arrangement, and fall into friendship and love. I loved how Spencer was able to admit that he loved Amelia from the second she pressed her handkerchief into his palm.
One of my favorite parts of this book is an impromptu ball given to the newly married Spencer and Amelia. Amelia is just absolutely shining in her new role as duchess, and Spencer notices it, and so does every single other male in the room. I loved how Spencer later made her watch herself in the mirror to show her what face others see when they look at her, but how the faces she makes in passion are only for him. In fact that was in general just a great scene.
This story is well done, and the writing is easy to follow without being simplistic. I loved it, and definitely want to read the next book in the series


Sense and Sensibility
Sense and Sensibility
Author: Jane Austen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 109
Review Date: 9/8/2009


My favorite Jane Austen book!


Southern Living Party Cookbook
Southern Living Party Cookbook
Author: Celia Marks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 10/1/2009


this cookbook not only holds recipes, but entire meals. It has occasions and which meal to serve, all laid out precisely from what hors d'herves to brunches and desserts. it's a fantastic tool for party planning.


Three Nights with a Scoundrel (Stud Club, Bk 3)
Three Nights with a Scoundrel (Stud Club, Bk 3)
Author: Tessa Dare
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 119
Review Date: 8/22/2010
Helpful Score: 3


Wow. A fantastic ending for the Stud Club...I'd wished we had gotten to know Leo more in the previous two books, well, I got my wish.
And Julian Bellamy became more than just the hero of the book. He will definitely be one who sticks with me...even if he could be an unmitigated ass at times.
I liked the idea of the Stud Club, and I liked how the theme of Leo's murder set off such a chain of events throughout the trilogy.
the ending was quite a surprise, and I never ever would have g ...more Wow. A fantastic ending for the Stud Club...I'd wished we had gotten to know Leo more in the previous two books, well, I got my wish.
And Julian Bellamy became more than just the hero of the book. He will definitely be one who sticks with me...even if he could be an unmitigated ass at times.
I liked the idea of the Stud Club, and I liked how the theme of Leo's murder set off such a chain of events throughout the trilogy.
the ending was quite a surprise, and I never ever would have guessed the details of Mr. Peter Faraday.


Twice Tempted by a Rogue (Stud Club, Bk 2)
Twice Tempted by a Rogue (Stud Club, Bk 2)
Author: Tessa Dare
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 118
Review Date: 8/22/2010
Helpful Score: 9


This book was great. I normally don't put a lot of quotes in my reviews, but I just can't help it here. Rhys was sweet and eloquent. I think he's one of my favorite heroes. Merry was a determined woman who worked hard and helped keep the town afloat when Rhys left home, and his family home burnt to the ground.
We met Rhys in One Dance With a Duke, and we learned about the Stud Club. Leo, the founding member of this tongue-in-cheek club, was murdered. The murder is as of yet unsolved, but we've learned that Leo was extremely angry at Spencer (the Duke of Morland) for winning a certain gent by the name of Farrady's token...Leo knew that Spencer wanted to disband the club and was furious with Faraday for gambling against his better judgement. But who is this Faraday? what is his purpose in all of this-and is he the man who looks like Bellamy?
Now, here, Rhys is courting his ill-fated good luck that keeps him alive against all odds-I love how he is an "imperfect" hero, with scars and stiff fingers, and a trick knee. And I love how from the first moment Rhys sees Meredith, he wants her...for his wife! The widowed owner of a tavern/inn, he's a lord, and he wants her for his wife. Loved it. Loved how he wooed her, how he announced the banns without letting her know, and how he kept refusing her efforts to get him into bed.
here's a quote I particularly love. He's kissing her for the first time, but he'd also avoided kissing her the night before.
He pressed his lips to her quickly, as if she might change her mind if he gave her the chance, or as if he might change his. The timing was off, and their lips mashed together at the wrong angle, and her eyes were still open.
For a moment she felt 14 again. Awkward, uncertain. Painfully aware of everything but the joy of being kissed.
But then he tilted her face a degree, and his mouth shifted a fraction against hers. She remembered to close her eyes.
And suddenly they fit. Suddenly this kiss was everything. And she still felt 14 again, but in that blissful, giddy way of tumbling headlong down a rocky slope- with no thought for caution, no purpse but to chase exhilaration and joy.
Rhys St. Maur was kissing her.
And it was wonderful.
There were too many quotes for me to copy down, but this had some of the most romantic moments without being to "purple."
I thought it was evil of Tessa Dare to finally have Merry agree to Rhys' constant proposals, and to have him start brooding on something such as "I'm not good enough for her," "She deserves better," etc...but Cora (the witness to Leo's murder-she has quite a surprising story herself!) tells both Bellamy and Rhys that they are being absolute cowards! I loved that! And Rhys took her advice! How many heroes take advice from an 18 year old girl?
One part I particularly enjoyed was where Rhys takes Merry to Bath. In Regency historicals, so often everything takes place in London...Almack's Bowling Green...I know all the locations that make it a Regency romance. But here we got a very descriptive look at Bath. More than just "they hied to Bath for the waters" or something along those lines. Here we see what sounds like a true picture of the town of Bath. I liked it.
I won't summarize at all here, since the mystery will continue into Three Nights with a Scoundrel, but I will say that Leo's death was bigger than just the Stud Club...which is why I was disappointed to not see more Stud Club action.
Anyone who enjoyed the first stud Club book will enjoy this, and those who liked the writing, story and Spencer but were annoyed with Amelia, you'll like the strong and determined Merry. And I don't think anyone won't like Rhys-he's my choice in stud.


1 to 20 of 20