Cheryl G. (Poncer) - - Reviews

1 to 9 of 9
Big Book of $5.00 Gift Crafts
Big Book of $5.00 Gift Crafts
Author: Kim Brittain Plagge
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 6/10/2012
Helpful Score: 3


Such an awful 'craft' book. For every single project, the basis of the 'craft' is an item that needs to be purchased in a craft store. Nothing included is made from simple items that may be left over from other projects. They also name what brand to purchase. The whole book is a commercial for certain brands of glue, glitter, paint, wooden forms, etc. Skip the book and head to your nearest craft store and you can save the time it would take to read the book by reading the directions on the craft kit.


The Broker
The Broker
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 543
Review Date: 2/10/2006
Helpful Score: 1


As always, easy to read and follow with plot twists and turns that don't get in the way. Love him.


The Client
The Client
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 336
Review Date: 9/5/2007
Helpful Score: 3


This book is one of the reasons he is a best selling author


Florida Roadkill (Serge A. Storms, Bk 1)
Florida Roadkill (Serge A. Storms, Bk 1)
Author: Tim Dorsey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 139
Review Date: 7/2/2006
Helpful Score: 5


Tim Dorsey is hysterical. Florida Road Kill is a bit more violent than some of his others but in his droll and ironic style, still laugh out loud funny.


The Old Man and the Sea
The Old Man and the Sea
Author: Ernest Hemingway
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 427
Review Date: 8/21/2014


So I just finished The Old Man and the Sea by Hemingway. Slacker that I am, I had never read it. I must say the book towed me in from the first few paragraphs and I read it in a few big gulps. Bravo, Ernest! No wonder you won so many awards.


The Possible World: A Novel
The Possible World: A Novel
Author: Liese O'Halloran Schwarz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/10/2018
Helpful Score: 1


Have you ever opened a book and fell right in? Fell hard from the 1st paragraph? Like in 7th grade when you had a huge crush on someone and just needed to be near them, learn all about them, hear and understand every word they said? Well, this is that book.

I read this book in a day and a half. I raced through the first 300 or so pages, then slowed to a crawl because I did not want it to end.

And If it is possible to have more than one favorite character in a book, then I have 4. Each character is diverse and individual, but come together to create a magical, heartwarmning, heartbreaking and beautiful story.

The past and the present come together flawlessly, and the future seems filled with hope.

Dr. Schwarz is an amazing storyteller. She weaves lives and times together into beautiful patterns.

Read this book and share the story with those you love.


The Princess Diaries (Princess Diaries, Bk 1)
The Princess Diaries (Princess Diaries, Bk 1)
Author: Meg Cabot
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 326
Review Date: 7/16/2006
Helpful Score: 12


Although this is a "Teen" book, I would recommend it to anyone. It is adorable, light and funny. What an average teenager goes through in everyday life, then add the fact that she suddenly discovers she is a princess of a small European principality. A well written, heartwarming, quick read.


The Stingray Shuffle (Serge A. Storms, Bk 5)
The Stingray Shuffle (Serge A. Storms, Bk 5)
Author: Tim Dorsey
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 78
Review Date: 1/6/2006
Helpful Score: 3


Although Dorsey is compared to Carl Hiassen and Elmore Leonard by a few professional reviewers, I found him to be a little hard to follow and thought he spends a lot of time intoducing new characters instead of getting on with the story. Lots of killings in amusing ways, nothing gory or gross but not as funny as I hoped.


Where the Sidewalk Ends
Where the Sidewalk Ends
Author: Shel Silverstein
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 8/26/2006
Helpful Score: 3


One of most favorite-ever books!!


1 to 9 of 9