Judy H. (crisislady) - Reviews

1 to 16 of 16
Angel Falls
Angel Falls
Author: Kristin Hannah
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 1/20/2016


I have read a lot of Kirstin Hannah's books so was really looking forward to this. It turned out to be only good, not great like most of them are. Night Road and Home Front were much better.


Boys Are Stupid, Throw Rocks at Them!
Boys Are Stupid, Throw Rocks at Them!
Author: Todd Harris Goldman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 10/16/2011


Expected it to be funnier. But will still save it to give to my daughter the next time an Internet romance doesn't work out for her. The title is good enough.


Bridget Jones's Diary
Bridget Jones's Diary
Author: Helen Fielding
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 713
Review Date: 11/19/2014


This is over 15 years old, but still enjoyed reading it very much. Helen Fielding writes with such wit. With a daughter who didn't get married until she was 40 (wedding was this summer), it was a very poignant story about what it is like to be in your 30's and single. Now that she is happily married, I am recommending that she read it.


Charming Billy
Charming Billy
Author: Alice McDermott
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 12/26/2014


I was expecting so much more from this book because I attended a lecture by Anna Quindlen where she listed it as one of the books that had a great influence on her. I found it basically pretty boring.


Comfort Food
Comfort Food
Author: Kate Jacobs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 164
Review Date: 2/1/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoyed the two Knitting Club books by Kate Jacobs better than this one, maybe because I'd rather do handwork than cook! It was still enjoyable, however with many personal stories intertwined to keep it interesting.


Dispatches from the Edge: A Memoir of War, Disasters, and Survival (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 6/25/2014


Very informative, providing insights not only into his troubled personal life as the son of an heiress whose brother committed suicide, but also into what it is like to be a correspondent who covers disasters and tragic situations. I teach workshops on dealing with the media during a crisis, so I found it particularly fascinating. The material, because of its nature, is quite depressing.


The Friday Night Knitting Club (Knitting Club, Bk 1)
The Friday Night Knitting Club (Knitting Club, Bk 1)
Author: Kate Jacobs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1900
Review Date: 10/16/2011


Very enjoyable book. Got quite involved in the stories of the various women who meet once a week for this club but get involved in each other's lives. A nice mix of humor and tears. I always looked forward to my time when I could sit down with the book.


Harvesting the Heart
Harvesting the Heart
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 802
Review Date: 12/9/2011


After I received this book, I realized I had read it before. I like Jodi Picoult so much, but sometimes I get confused about which one is which. As a matter of fact, this one left me quite unsatisfied. Not as good as many of her others and the ending was a letdown.


Keeper of the Light
Keeper of the Light
Author: Diane Chamberlain
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 6/29/2016


I have been wanting to read a book by Diane Chamberlain for some time as she is a NC author who writes about places I'm familiar with now that I've lived in NC for ten years. I am so glad I did! With the twists and turns and interwoven and complicated relationships, it kept my interest from the beginning to the end. Have highly recommended it to friends.


Knit Two (Friday Night Knitting Club, Bk 2)
Knit Two (Friday Night Knitting Club, Bk 2)
Author: Kate Jacobs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 156
Review Date: 11/29/2011


After finishing "The Friday Night Knitting Club" and hating to see it end, I was excited to find out that there was a sequel. It was not disappointing! The characters remain interesting and the way their stories intertwine is delightful. I hope there will be a third volume of this series!


Mennonite in a Little Black Dress: A Memoir of Going Home
Mennonite in a Little Black Dress: A Memoir of Going Home
Author: Rhoda Janzen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 346
Review Date: 11/19/2014


The book began really well with very witty and intriguing writing. By the middle of the book, it all bogged down and I kept waiting for it to pick up again. Frankly don't really remember how it ended though I did make it to the end.


The Prize Winner of Defiance, Ohio : How My Mother Raised 10 Kids on 25 Words or Less
Review Date: 8/9/2015


I found this book fascinating, mostly because of how much I admired the lead character -- a woman who had to deal with much adversity in her life, but did it with great humor and an incredible optimism.


Saving CeeCee Honeycutt
Saving CeeCee Honeycutt
Author: Beth Hoffman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 166
Review Date: 7/9/2015
Helpful Score: 1


I was so ready to read an uplifting book after some very dark and depressing ones. This book fit the bill. It starts out detailing the very tough circumstances a young girl is forced to deal with in a family with a mentally ill mother and absent dad. When CeeCee is sent to live with a wonderful relative and comes in contact with that woman's African-American cook, life improves dramatically. Insights into the tensions that still remain in Southern culture were interesting. The wisdom imparted by the new adults in CeeCee's life are heartwarming. And the ending is very satisfying. The author writes in an appealing style, with wit. I really hope I can get my almost 17-year old granddaughter to read this during the summer.


Then Came You
Then Came You
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 11/19/2014


This was a very interesting read that kept me turning pages. Made me think about the various aspects of surrogate motherhood from the perspective of all those involved.


True Colors
True Colors
Author: Kristin Hannah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 327
Review Date: 3/3/2012


I have become a real Kristin Hannah fan after reading this as a follow-up to "Firefly Lane." The relationships among the sisters were fascinating.


A Week in Winter
A Week in Winter
Author: Maeve Binchy
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 8/18/2019


I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Each one of the guests at the Irish Bed and Breakfast had an interesting personal story that was related and the characters were well drawn especially given the fact that they each occupied only a chapter. Certainly makes me want to read more of Maeve Binchy's work.


1 to 16 of 16