Facebook

Lyn H. (Hewette) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 68 - Page:
Architecture: Residential drawing and design
Architecture: Residential drawing and design
Author: Clois E Kicklighter
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/21/2009


This was a textbook for my undergraduate work in architecture. Very good for covering the basics.


Art Fundamentals: Theory & Practice
Art Fundamentals: Theory & Practice
Author: Otto G. Ocvirk, Robert E. Stinson, Philip R. Wigg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/21/2009


Worthwhile book for school or hobby.


The Art of Racing in the Rain
The Art of Racing in the Rain
Author: Garth Stein
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 287
Review Date: 9/29/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Maybe the best book ever written by a dog? LOL! I think what made Enzo's character so poignant is that he experienced the frustration so common for many of us as observers unable to control the external events in our lives.


Baby Proof
Baby Proof
Author: Emily Giffin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 374
Review Date: 4/16/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Bring up a lot of good questions about modern-day marriage. Tradition is just laziness after all. People have the options to follow their values and use theri creativity today. The rules are changing. I woul dimagine that a lot of people can relate to this story and how quickly a marriage can disentigrate.


Bait and Switch : The (Futile) Pursuit of the American Dream
Bait and Switch : The (Futile) Pursuit of the American Dream
Author: Barbara Ehrenreich
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 94
Review Date: 2/23/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Not quite what I expected, but a good narrative of the current middle-class job search.


Review Date: 8/3/2009


Well, it is just what it claims to be. I am pretty sure that I worked with the clone of this person...she was laid off...go figure.

Materialism at it's finest.


The Branding of America: From Levi Stauss to Chrysler, from Westinghouse to Gillette, the Forgotten Founders of America's Best-known Brand Names
Review Date: 4/21/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Wonderful history and information on these companies. Very well researched and written.


Brunelleschi's Dome : How a Renaissance Genius Reinvented Architecture
Brunelleschi's Dome : How a Renaissance Genius Reinvented Architecture
Author: Ross King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 4/6/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Nice illlustrations of the engineering principles during the Renaissance.


Business as Unusual: The Triumph of Anita Roddick
Business as Unusual: The Triumph of Anita Roddick
Author: Anita Roddick
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/1/2009
Helpful Score: 1


It is nice to hear why and how The Body Shop was founded and what was attributed to its success. I have an entirely different perspective on the store now.


Call Me Crazy
Call Me Crazy
Author: Anne Heche
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 10/6/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I am not normally a big fan of "star" autobiographies, but I really enjoyed Anne's story. She is an intriguing individual.


The Color of Water : A Black Man's Tribute to His White Mother
The Color of Water : A Black Man's Tribute to His White Mother
Author: James McBride
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 4/2/2009
Helpful Score: 4


Family history, and screts, and religion, and race all meshed into a heartfelt story. A complelling tale that take you on the journey as the son learns more and more about his past.


The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Author: Mark Haddon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 109
Review Date: 10/7/2009


Fabulous book narrated by an autistic savant. A literal look at out world which really pokes fun at our language expressions and the human condition.

THIS ONE IS EVEN BETTER IN AUDIO.


The Devil in the White City:  Murder, Magic, and Madness at the Fair That Changed America
Review Date: 9/28/2009


Fascinating book about the World's fair era of the city. (Read Sinclair's Jungle prior to it for an idea of what the city was like when Fair planning began.) Excellent research tied into a nice flowing story. Make you want to head right over to the site and take a closer look at Chicago's layout and modern architecture.


The Devil Wears Prada (Devil Wears Prada, Bk 1)
The Devil Wears Prada (Devil Wears Prada, Bk 1)
Author: Lauren Weisberger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1735
Review Date: 4/2/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Image is everything in this culture for sure. If you think your boss is demanding...read this!


Digital Aboriginal: The Direction of Business Now: Instinctive, Nomadic, and Ever-Changing
Review Date: 4/25/2007


Excellent commentary about the shift in the work environment.


The Etiquette Advantage in Business : Personal Skills for Professional Success
Review Date: 1/27/2010


Very good lessons in business etiquette (and most social situations.) Very good advice for all generations.


Fall on Your Knees
Fall on Your Knees
Author: Ann-Marie MacDonald
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 503
Review Date: 3/31/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Things are not all that they seem.

When you look up "dysfunctional" in the dictionary, this family should be the illustration photo.

Great read.


Fifth Wave Leadership : The Internal Frontier
Fifth Wave Leadership : The Internal Frontier
Author: Morris R. Shechtman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/31/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Leading in a changed environment.

Focus on the growring wave of contract work and personal accountability.


Girl with a Pearl Earring
Girl with a Pearl Earring
Author: Tracy Chevalier
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1457
Review Date: 4/2/2009
Helpful Score: 1


A great read and nice view into the time period. Teen age years can be so emotional, especially for those pressured to follow a well formed moral conscience. Our heroine is no exception. What a fabulous plot and ending.


Handbags: What Every Woman Should Know
Handbags: What Every Woman Should Know
Author: Stephanie Pedersen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/4/2009


Fun book for bag lovers!


1 to 20 of 68 - Page: