Kirsten R. (ringwraith10) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 41 - Page:
52 Fun Things to Do in the Car/Cards (1 Deck)
Review Date: 4/8/2007


This is a set of cards that has one activity written on each card... My brother LOVED this deck whenever he had to go on a long car trip -- it gave him many things to pester the rest of the family to do with him. :)


The Alchemist
The Alchemist
Author: Paulo Coelho, Alan R. Clarke (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 4/6/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I loved this book... it took me one day to read it, and it was amazing. :)

It's a great feel good book.


And Then There Were None (aka Ten Little Indians)
And Then There Were None (aka Ten Little Indians)
Author: Agatha Christie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 253
Review Date: 4/1/2007


I LOVE this book! Agatha Christie is one of my favorite authors, and this is definitely my favorite of her books!


Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 3675
Review Date: 4/3/2007


I liked this book even more than I did The Da Vinci Code!


Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress
Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress
Author: Dai Sijie, Ina Rilke (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 684
Review Date: 7/19/2011


This is a really good book. It gives a vivid portrayal of Maoist China, and the effects of the Cultural Revolution. The ending is a little strange and mysterious, but that is the only semi-negative thing that I can say about this book. It's a really short, easy read, so I recommend it to everyone!


Before You Buy That Kitten
Before You Buy That Kitten
Author: Phil Maggitti
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/2/2007


This is a great guide to read when you're thinking of adopting a kitten.


Chart Watch: From the Editors of Focus on the Family's Plugged in
Review Date: 4/6/2007


This book gives reviews of popular CDs from the 90s from a Christian perspective. Basically, this book is VERY judgemental, it even criticizes The Lion King soundtrack. I thought it was interesting to read, though.


Chobits Vol.1
Chobits Vol.1
Author: Clamp, Shirley Kubo, Jake Forbes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 88
Review Date: 4/6/2007
Helpful Score: 5


The art for this series IS beautiful. I must warn you, though, this book isn't quite as innocent as it looks. It has some fairly mature themes, so read it at your discretion.


The Crystal Cave
The Crystal Cave
Author: Mary Stewart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 4/2/2007


This book is GREAT. I love the Merlin series, of which this is the first volume. When I first read it I didn't get to sleep until 3 in the morning (and this was during a time when I usually went to bed at 7:00) because I was so wrapped up in the book.


The Crystal Cave (Merlin, Bk 1)
The Crystal Cave (Merlin, Bk 1)
Author: Mary Stewart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 97
Review Date: 4/2/2007


This book is amazing! Be sure to read the whole series, though. :)


Daisy Miller
Daisy Miller
Author: Henry James, Geoffrey Moore (Editor)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 4/3/2007


I didn't really like this book... I had to read it for school and I thought it was a bit boring. Not as bad as The Old Man and the Sea, though!


Death Note, Vol 1
Death Note, Vol 1
Author: Tsugumi Ohba
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 103
Review Date: 8/2/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I was skeptical that this was not going to live up to its reputation as a very popular series, but when I read this first book I was entranced -- I wanted to read more! It is surprisingly good, in spite of its popularity (Yes, I say in spite of -- many manga that are popular are not very good).


Delirium
Delirium
Author: Lauren Oliver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 7/13/2011
Helpful Score: 2


This book was a little slow at first -- but only a little. I wasn't expecting it to be great, but it good enough to read fairly quickly and thoroughly. During the first 3/4 of the book I intended to give it a 3 out of 5 star rating, mainly because there seemed to be very little conflict (yes, there was the background conflict of the extreme police state that the characters lived in, but that actually had little effect on their lives during the beginning of the book). By the end, though, there was just the right amount of conflict, so I decided to bump the rating up to 3.5/5. The very, very end, however, seemed to be very appropriate. I definitely liked the way the book ended. Thus, I am rating the book 4 out of 5 stars.

I know this review sounds very vague, but it's difficult to explain exactly why I liked the book without spoiling it. Just know that while it may seem slow at first, the end is worth reaching.


The Edible Woman
The Edible Woman
Author: Margaret Atwood
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 5/16/2008


I had to read this book for a class, and while it was not a terrible book, it certainly wasn't the best book I had ever read... It was just a bit dragging at times, and I couldn't really see the importance in anything that was happening.


Functions And Change: A Modeling Approach To College Algebra
Review Date: 4/3/2007


Uh... it's a math textbook. What can I say?


Game Boy #02 : The Legend Of Zelda: Oracle Of Seasons (Game Boy)
Game Boy #02 : The Legend Of Zelda: Oracle Of Seasons (Game Boy)
Author: Craig Wessel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 4/6/2007


I have this book... it's basically only good for collector's value... I thought it was nifty just to have because I'm a big Legend of Zelda fan.


Godchild, Volume 5 (Godchild)
Godchild, Volume 5 (Godchild)
Author: Kaori Yuki
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 7/13/2011


This is probably the last book that I will read in this series. I wasn't very impressed with the series as a whole, but read the first five books because a friend owns them and I had easy access. I often read manga for the art just as much as for the story, and this series was lacking in both areas. The characters all look the same, and their personalities are not very distinct, either. The story was engaging enough to hold my interest to some extent, but I certainly would not recommend the series to anyone. Even the editing was lacking, since I found several grammar and spelling errors. I did, however, enjoy the author's side notes describing the research she had done. The historical side of the story was very interesting to me.


Huntress
Huntress
Author: Malinda Lo
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 7/13/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Though this book is labeled as a young adult novel, I loved it. The version I read was an advance reading copy, and on the back of the book it states that it is intended for ages 15 and up. I would definitely say that this age description is accurate, as this seems like a very adult book, even though it is written in such a way that young readers can understand it (it's certainly not "dumbed down" though!). I would warn young readers and their parents, though, that there are some very dark moments in this book, and if you are squeamish, know that this book can get rather grisly in detail (it's not terrible, but I do feel like I should add this warning). A teen or pre-teen under the age of 15 can definitely read this if they are mature enough, but they should know about the few dark parts of the book (a few characters are killed, etc.).

I also want to mention that I think the relationship between the two main characters was very classy and well done. As this is intended for young readers, there was no real sexual interaction, but the love between the characters was portrayed very well. On that note, I really liked that the characters were able to be developed fully despite the brevity of the book.

All in all, I really liked this book, and it was surprisingly good for something I picked up on a whim. I had not read the previous book by this author, but I definitely intend to read it soon!


Jesus Freaks: Stories of Those Who Stood for Jesus
Jesus Freaks: Stories of Those Who Stood for Jesus
Author: DC Talk
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 106
Review Date: 4/14/2007


This book is a collection of stories about martyrs of Christianity.


JUDY SCUPPERNONG
JUDY SCUPPERNONG
Author: Brenda Seabrooke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/26/2007


This is a pretty cute, feel-good book that you can easily read in one sitting.


1 to 20 of 41 - Page: