Facebook

Kari L. - Reviews

1 to 8 of 8
Comfort Food
Comfort Food
Author: Kate Jacobs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 163
Review Date: 3/16/2010
Helpful Score: 1


A very funny, entertaining book - it was easy to care about the characters, and relate to them.


The Eight (Montglane Service, Bk 1)
The Eight (Montglane Service, Bk 1)
Author: Katherine Neville
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 229
Review Date: 1/29/2008
Helpful Score: 5


I've read this book twice, something I rarely do - and this book was equally satisfying both times. Katherine Neville does a great job of immersing the reader into both the 18th century and 20th century plotlines. There are rich characters, wonderful exotic locations, international intrigue and romance...what more could you ask for in a novel? A must-read in my opinion.


Empowering Your Health
Empowering Your Health
Author: Asa Andrew
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/23/2009


This book has some helpful tips about health, particularly those related to specific conditions (such as diabetes). Overall I found it to have a lot of good information that I could use right away. It's a good book for those ready to make some changes in their lifestyle to get to better health.


The Lost Symbol (Robert Langdon, Bk 3)
The Lost Symbol (Robert Langdon, Bk 3)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 1047
Review Date: 5/23/2010


I couldn't put this down - finished it in one day! A very enjoyable thriller.


The Memory of Running
The Memory of Running
Author: Ron McLarty
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 111
Review Date: 8/5/2008
Helpful Score: 4


This book started off slowly, and I thought it was odd...but a few chapters in it grabbed my attention and I couldn't put it down. The plot twists and turns were fantastic, and I really cared about the characters. It reminded me of Forrest Gump in a way...a man on a quest.


Songs Without Words (Vintage Contemporaries)
Songs Without Words (Vintage Contemporaries)
Author: Ann Packer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 7/23/2009
Helpful Score: 5


I found this book to be both engrossing and emotionally challenging to read. The topic of depression is covered very well here, and I found myself getting drawn into the story right from the beginning. I cared about the characters and felt like they could be people I know. Highly recommended Another good book by Ann Packer is 'The Dive From Clausen's Pier'.


Talk Before Sleep
Talk Before Sleep
Author: Elizabeth Berg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 197
Review Date: 10/28/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I found this book very engrossing, and read it in one sitting. The story of women and their relationships both with each other and the men in their lives was both touching and humorous. These are the kinds of friends you want by your side.

Be sure to have tissues handy, you will need them!


Wonderboy (Red Dress Ink)
Wonderboy (Red Dress Ink)
Author: Fiona Gibson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 1/29/2008
Helpful Score: 3


I gave this book a chance...but about 100 pages in, I gave up. The tone of the book seemed almost whiny, and I couldn't get myself to care much about the characters. This might be OK if there's nothing else around to read...not exactly a resounding endorsement, I know.


1 to 8 of 8