Laurie D. (dutrall) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 24 - Page:
Big Trouble (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Big Trouble (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Author: Dave Barry, Dick Hill (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/18/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Laugh out loud funny in parts.


Black and Blue (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Black and Blue (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Author: Anna Quindlen, Lili Taylor (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 4/19/2008


This book was very good and read superbly by Lily Taylor. She was spot on with the narration.


The Book of Ruth (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
The Book of Ruth (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Author: Jane Hamilton, Mare Winningham (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 9/11/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Mare Winingham is perfect reading this book. You can easily picture her as Ruth.


The Book Thief
The Book Thief
Author: Markus Zusak
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 1041
Review Date: 4/19/2008
Helpful Score: 7


Wonderful. I wasn't even aware that it was for young readers until someone told me about it after I was finished with it. It was hard to put down at times and wonderfully written. Having Death as the narrator was genius.


A Brother's Journey : Surviving a Childhood of Abuse (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Review Date: 10/7/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This was such a hard book to listen to. Years ago, I read his brother David's book, "A Boy Called It" and I remember how horrifying that book was. I didn't expect this one to even come close to touching me the way David's did, but it surprised me. And the author's honesty also surprised me. I just can't imagine the horrors that these poor children endured. The fact that they did endure and not only that, but thrived and have succeeded in life is a miracle. I did close this book (as I did with "It") with more questions. What happened to the mother? What happened to the other brothers? What are the other brother's reactions to the books, to the revalations? etc. Unforunately, there's not a lot of information available. Apparently, the horrible excuse for a mother never answered for her deeds under the law, but I think she died before David and/or Richard wrote their books. Anyway, you leave these books wanting more than just to know these kids survive. You want justice for them. And there just isn't any.


Dispatches from the Edge: A Memoir of War, Disasters, and Survival (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 10/6/2009
Helpful Score: 5


Like many memoirs written by journalists, this one lacked the emotion that could have pushed it from 3 stars to 4 for me. And the fact that the audio was read by Anderson, who is a first rate anchor, instead of an anchor, was in my opinion, another mistake. It added to the lack of emotion. However, that being said, the book was worth reading (listening to) for the final two chapters, if for no other reason. His time in Mississippi and New Orleans during and after Katrina was powerful and even moving. I'm also glad I hung in there for the interview with him at the end of this audio because I was beginning to worry that his anchorperson manner of talking might be his actual speaking style. It's not. I only wish he had delivered the book as Anderson Cooper, the man instead of Anderson Cooper, CNN reporter. I think it would have had more impact throughout instead of just the Katrina chapters.


Dreamcatcher (Audio Cassette) (Unabridged)
Dreamcatcher (Audio Cassette) (Unabridged)
Author: Stephen King, Jeffrey DeMunn (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 10/17/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I haven't really read or listened to a lot of Stephen King's stuff in years. When I was a kid, he was the best! The Stand, The Dead Zone, The Shining. But then his books started getting on my nerves. I am so glad I picked up this one. And the narrator rocks this one all the way through. But the writing is pure Stephen King at his storytelling best. He is the master storyteller and I just love the way he thinks and how his characters are so real and likeable. Even the bad guys!


Fall on Your Knees (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Fall on Your Knees (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Author: Ann-Marie MacDonald, Nikki James (Reader)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 9/27/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Great book. It took me a long time to warm up to any of the characters though. But for some reason, that didn't take away from my enjoyment of the book.


Falling Man (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Falling Man (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Don DeLillo, John Slattery (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 2.3/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 10/6/2009
Helpful Score: 3


This is one of the few books I stopped listening to during the first disc. I can't even remember why I disliked it so much.


Funny in Farsi : A Memoir of Growing Up Iranian in America
Funny in Farsi : A Memoir of Growing Up Iranian in America
Author: Firoozeh Dumas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 109
Review Date: 1/1/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I thought this was a fun, quick read. I really got the flavor of her personality and I like her a lot. There were a few laugh out loud moments, but overall the entire book was full of smile out loud moments. :-) I'll put her next book on my WL now.


The Grapes of Wrath
The Grapes of Wrath
Author: John Steinbeck
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 11/26/2008


I really wish I'd listened to the unabridged edition instead of this recorded play. It was okay, but not great. Maybe just not my cup of tea.


Hope's Boy
Hope's Boy
Author: Andrew Bridge
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/8/2009


I was expecting so much more from this book based on the reviews and the press I'd read. Even while reading this book, I watched a couple of interviews with the author and found that I liked him very much and wanted to feel more for his story. Perhaps it was because I listened to this book instead of reading it, but it felt very unemotional to me. Of course, I could tell that this was a childhood filled with loneliness and pain, but it did not translate through the writing and certainly not through the monotone narration of the reader of this audio book (David Drummond). I found gaping holes that begged to be filled throughout the story, that never did get reconciled to my satisfaction. I found it a boring and lacking in emotion throughout. This is one of those books I wish I had read instead of listened to. Maybe I'll give it another shot if my pile 'o books ever dwindles.


The Host (Unabridged Audio CD)
The Host (Unabridged Audio CD)
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 10/6/2009
Helpful Score: 1


LOVED IT! I'm not sure if I would have liked this as much written as I did the audio. Perhaps I would have liked it even more. I just can't tell. I thought the character development was very well done. I could picture each of them very well. The only real complaint I have is that the heroine did become tiresome after a while and since the book was so long, she did get on my nerves a LOT! But I got past it because the story itself was worth it.


Jesus Land: A Memoir
Jesus Land: A Memoir
Author: Julia Scheeres
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 201
Review Date: 10/6/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This memoir was well written and just heartbreaking. My heart broke that David grew up craving love and was systematically denied that love by everyone but Julia. And even sometimes by her. I'll never forget the cover photo. He breaks my heart. It was so honestly written by the author. I aplaud her courage and love for her brother. I'd say more about my feelings, but I don't want to spoil it for anyone who hasn't read the book yet.


Love is a Mix Tape: Life and Loss, One Song at a Time
Love is a Mix Tape: Life and Loss, One Song at a Time
Author: Rob Sheffield
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 7/14/2009


I just finished Love is a Mix Tape: Love and Loss One Song at a Time and I liked it a lot. A whole lot. Of course, the author is a year older than me, so the music and times hit a real note with me (pun intended). It's definitely not the book for everyone, specifically because of all of the music references. But the author's love and loss is so touchingly told, I thought. And told by such a boy. I didn't love this, but I liked it. A lot. :-)


The Measure of a Man: A Spiritual Autobiography (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 4/10/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I just finished listening to Sidney Poitier's The Measure of a Man, and I have to tell you what a joy it was listening to that man. I really enjoyed him. I got such a kick out of the way he kept saying "guy" instead of man. I don't know why. This book is labeled a "spiritual autobiography" and it's easy to see why. I have to admit though that I enjoyed it more while listening to his retelling of stories and events that happened in his life than when he was waxing philisophical. He got a little preachy, preachy sometimes, but he's Sidney Poitier, so in my book, he's entitled. Although I found his beliefs to be inline with my own, for the most part. I just enjoyed the storytelling aspect of the audio more. But the entire book was well, well worth the listen. It was like listening to a conversation from an old friend. He's a gem.


My Sister's Keeper
My Sister's Keeper
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4034
Review Date: 9/25/2007
Helpful Score: 3


This book was so well written. Each character telling the story was genius as I really came to know and sympathize with each one. I totally understood why it had to end the way it did. Very touching.


People of the Lie
People of the Lie
Author: M. Scott Peck
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 9/4/2007
Helpful Score: 5


If you have known someone who seems evil and yet civil at the same time. Someone you can't quite put your finger on, but you know something is just "not right" this book may hold the answer. It helped explain (although without solution) my psycho ex to me.


Still Alice
Still Alice
Author: Lisa Genova
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 456
Review Date: 1/30/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This book hooked me from the very beginning and didn't let go until I had finished. And honestly, even after that. It was heartbreaking, but not in an obvious or sappy way. Telling this story from Alice's point of view was genius. I highly recommend this book.


Stolen Lives: Twenty Years in a Desert Jail
Stolen Lives: Twenty Years in a Desert Jail
Author: Malika Oufkir, Edita Brychta, Michele Fitoussi, Ros Schwartz
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 9/5/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Incredible story of a family's 20 year ordeal of being imprisoned in Morocco. The fact that it happened during our lifetime and that the book was written so recently makes it so relevant while hearing her story. The narrator, Edita Brychta is perfect for this reading.


1 to 20 of 24 - Page: