Barbara D. (barbiedor) - , - Reviews

1 to 18 of 18
1105 Yakima Street (Cedar Cove Chronicles, Bk 11)
1105 Yakima Street (Cedar Cove Chronicles, Bk 11)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 198
Review Date: 9/13/2011
Helpful Score: 2


This is my favorite series & I'm sad to learn the series is ending after the next book, 1225 Christmas Tree Lane. I've really enjoyed following Grace, Olivia & the many other characters over the last 10 years. Even the annoying characters added to the fantastic plots Debbie Macomber concocted. It's just like my favorite soap opera is ending. I can't wait to read the final chapter & I hope Debbie plans another exciting new series to follow this one.


Agatha Raisin and the Potted Gardener (Agatha Raisin, Bk 3)
Agatha Raisin and the Potted Gardener (Agatha Raisin, Bk 3)
Author: M. C. Beaton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 103
Review Date: 7/22/2009
Helpful Score: 3


This is the first Agatha Raisin book I've read & I thoroughly enjoyed it. Agatha is an abrasive yet loveable character in a small English village. It was a great mystery, but the best part is M.C.Beaton's style of writing & character development. There were some laugh out loud moments & I'm looking forward to reading the rest of this series.


Barefoot in the Sand (Barefoot Bay, Bk 1)
Barefoot in the Sand (Barefoot Bay, Bk 1)
Author: Roxanne St. Claire
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 7/8/2014


I'm not much of a romance reader, except for a few authors I follow. I was drawn to the cover at an FOL sale & I'm glad I read it. I loved the plot & characters. It had suspense that kept me turning the pages. I gave it 5 stars & I'm anxious to read the other 3 books in the series, which tell the stories of the main character's 3 sisters. I'll be looking for more books by Roxanne St. Claire.


Bikini Season
Bikini Season
Author: Sheila Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 9/8/2019


I really enjoyed this book, as I do all Sheila's books! 5 stars


Blessed is the Busybody (Ministry Is Murder, Bk 1)
Blessed is the Busybody (Ministry Is Murder, Bk 1)
Author: Emilie Richards
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 128
Review Date: 6/28/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I really enjoyed the 1st book in this series. I liked the small town atmosphere of Emerald Springs. The free-spirited minister's wife Aggie & her kooky realtor friend Lucy were fun to follow as they tried to solve the murders. The plot had lots of twists & turns, and I never guessed who the murderer was. I am looking forward to more books in this series.


Bubbles Unbound (Bubbles Yablonsky, Bk 1)
Bubbles Unbound (Bubbles Yablonsky, Bk 1)
Author: Sarah Strohmeyer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 271
Review Date: 3/2/2009
Helpful Score: 2


If you love Evanovich's Stephanie Plum, you'll love Bubbles! I'm going to read all in this series. She's a hoot!


Death by Bikini (Death by Bikini, Bk 1)
Death by Bikini (Death by Bikini, Bk 1)
Author: Linda Gerber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 9/19/2011


I loved this book. Aphra Connolly has been called a modern day Nancy Drew. Lots of intrigue & espionage. I can't wait to read the other 2 in this series.


The Death by Bikini Mysteries
The Death by Bikini Mysteries
Author: Linda Gerber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 9/25/2011


This book contains the 3 books in the series: Death By Bikini; Death By Latte; & Death By Denim. Even though it's a young adult series, I think many adults would like it as much as I did.

The main character, Aphra Connolly is a modern day Nancy Drew. There's lots of intrigue & espionage as we follow Aphra through the 3 books, from her family's island resort to Seattle & then Paris. Each book could stand alone, but with this 655 page omnibus you get all 3 in one volume.


Dream Man: The Dream Comes True\Montana Man
Dream Man: The Dream Comes True\Montana Man
Author: Barbara Delinsky
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 9/15/2009
Helpful Score: 1


These 2 novels are a reissue of Delinsky's earlier works & both were very good. As in most romances you know the couples will end up together, but the plots had lots of twists & turns.

In "The Dream Comes True" Nina is an ambitious career girl who doesn't need a man in her life. She meets an easy going widower whose main focus is his young handicapped son.

In "Mountain Man" Lily is divorced with a newborn child & escaping her former life & powerful ex-husband. She gets stranded with a rugged stranger she meets in the Maine wilderness during a blinding snowstorm. This was my favorite of the two stories & was a real page turner!


Falling for Gracie (Los Lobos, Bk 2)
Falling for Gracie (Los Lobos, Bk 2)
Author: Susan Mallery
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 212
Review Date: 7/4/2017


I just finished the first book "Someone Like You" & this book is the sequel, which you really need to read together. The same characters continue from one book to the next. I just discovered Susan Mallery & can't wait to read more of her books.


Hollywood Scandals: Hollywood Headlines Book #1
Hollywood Scandals: Hollywood Headlines Book #1
Author: Gemma Halliday
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 10/30/2011


This is the same book as Gemma Halliday's "Scandal Sheet." I just finished it, so see my review for that. 4.5 stars.

I'm looking forward to reading Bk 2 & 3 in the series: "Hollywood Secrets" & "Hollywood Confessions"


Hounding the Pavement (Dog Walker, Bk 1)
Hounding the Pavement (Dog Walker, Bk 1)
Author: Judi McCoy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 91
Review Date: 6/4/2009
Helpful Score: 9


Ellie discovers her dog Rudy, who died 10 yrs. ago, is "reborn" in the dog she adopts from a shelter. She also finds she can talk with Rudy & the dogs she walks in her business, "Paws in Motion". A sexy detective, a good mystery & the funny exchanges between Ellie & her dogs make this an entertaining story.

I was also happy to see the author is donating all royalties from the sale of this book to Best Friends Animal Society. She is planning a dozen more books in the series. I'm looking forward to them.


Last Chance Book Club (Last Chance, Bk 5)
Last Chance Book Club (Last Chance, Bk 5)
Author: Hope Ramsay
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 7/9/2013


5th book in the Last Chance series, which gets better with each book. It has great characters, intertwining plots & just the right amount of romance. It built to an unexpected climax that kept me turning the pages to see how Savannah & Dash could possibly end up together. I rank this little known author up there with Robyn Carr, Sherryl Woods, & Debbie Macomber.


Scandal Sheet (Hollywood Headlines, Bk 1)
Scandal Sheet (Hollywood Headlines, Bk 1)
Author: Gemma Halliday
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 10/30/2011


This is not a romance novel as the cover would indicate. It's a cozy mystery, the 1st book in Gemma Halliday's Hollywood Headlines series. I wasn't sure I'd like this book, because I'm not interested in the lives of actresses/ actors. I was pleasantly surprised.

Tina Bender is a gossip columnist for the L.A. Informer. She begins getting death threats, so her boss hires a hunky bodyguard to follow her 24/7. She's a petite gal with attitude who thinks she can take care of herself, so sparks fly when the bodyguard shows up. Add to this her eccentric octogenarian aunt who she lives with & you have a cute, zany romp around L.A.

I'm looking forward to reading the next 2 books in the series: Hollywood Secrets & Hollywood Confessions.


Snow In September
Snow In September
Author: Rachel Lee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 9/18/2017


This is one of the best books I've read in quite awhile. It deals with secrets, relationships and tangled emotions. A real page turner---I gave it 5 stars.


Someone Like You (Los Lobos, Bk 1)
Someone Like You (Los Lobos, Bk 1)
Author: Susan Mallery
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 94
Review Date: 7/4/2017


I just finished this book & the sequel "Falling for Gracie", which you really need to read together. The same characters continue from one book to the next. I just discovered Susan Mallery & can't wait to read more of her books.


Trouble in Mudbug (Ghost-in-Law, Bk 1)
Trouble in Mudbug (Ghost-in-Law, Bk 1)
Author: Jana Deleon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 103
Review Date: 5/29/2009
Helpful Score: 9


This was a fun paranormal/ mystery/ romance. When Maryse attends her former mother-in-law's funeral, Helena sits up in the casket & jumps out. Maryse is the only one who can see her & it gets better from there. Helena follows Maryse around & torments her more than she did when she was living. Somebody is trying to kill Maryse & she, Helena & the sexy hunk Luc are trying to figure out who & why they're after Maryse before it's too late. I never figured out who the killer was & it kept me turning the pages! I can't wait for the next book in this series "Mischief in Mudbug"!


Truly, Madly (Lucy Valentine, Bk 1)
Truly, Madly (Lucy Valentine, Bk 1)
Author: Heather Webber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 194
Review Date: 2/23/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Lucy doesn't have the same psychic abilities as the rest of her family, so she's worried when she's forced to take charge of the family's matchmaking business. Also she can't let anybody know her family's world famous matchmaking business is based on psychic visions & expose their secret.

She wants to use her psychic power to find a lost child & a missing skeleton, but she can only visualize lost things, not people.

Added to the fun is her grandma who is always trying to fix Lucy up with a man. Meanwhile, Lucy has the hots for the sexy, hot PI who works upstairs.

This is a great cozy with lots of twists & turns. I gave it 4.5 stars & can't wait for the next book in the series, "Deeply, Desperately."


1 to 18 of 18