Leah B. (leahhhh12) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 21 - Page:
Caught in the Middle (Ladies of Caldwell County, Bk 3)
Caught in the Middle (Ladies of Caldwell County, Bk 3)
Author: Regina Jennings
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 8/27/2014


It has been enjoyable following the characters of Caldwell County. I love how each book connects the character and gives you more insight on who the characters are.

Caught in the Middle spotlighted Anne Tillerton and Nicholas Lovelace. Both of these characters played part in the series before this novel but Caught in the Middle told their stories and brought these characters more to life.
Trying to escape from her past, Anne is trying to become more sophisticated. When Anne is left with an infant boy, she wants nothing to do with him except get rid of him. She finds herself on a mission to find the boys family. But along the way, she cant help falling in love with this innocent boy.
Nick is working to help Anne take care of the infant and also to help Anne become more socially acceptable.
Torn between their work and growing attraction to each other, Anne and Nick are in for an adventure of a lifetime.

If you have not read the previous two books in the series, you may want to pick those two up first in order to know more of the details of the story. Otherwise, youll still be in for an enjoyable novel that will sweep you off your feet. I greatly enjoyed this novel, as I have enjoyed the previous novels from Regina Jennings. I look forward to anything else she writes in the future.

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher, Bethany House, in exchange for my honest review. I received no compensation for this review, nor was I required to write a positive review. All opinions stated are my own.

Leah B.
Must Love Books
mustlovereading.wordpress.com


Dare to Love Again (Heart of San Francisco, Bk 2)
Dare to Love Again (Heart of San Francisco, Bk 2)
Author: Julie Lessman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 2/26/2014


An entertaining sequel to Love at Any Cost!

Dare to Love Again was such an entertaining sequel to Love at Any Cost. I have greatly enjoyed getting to know Julie Lessmans writing and I have even more so enjoyed getting to know the McClares and all their friends.

Dare to Love Again stars Allison McClare and Nick Barone. Allison McClare is determined to become an independent woman. After having her heart broken one time too many, she has no interest in falling for any more sweet talking men. Allison has become a schoolteacher at a school her mother has recently opened in one of the worst places in town. When she runs into some trouble, her Uncle Logan hires a bodyguard to teach Alli how to defend herself and to keep her out of danger.
In steps Nick Barone, the grumpy police detective who has no interest in high-class women. Despite his reluctance, he agrees to Logan McClares terms. His own past is quite secretive and despite the mutual hatred between Allison and Nick, they somehow manage to form a friendship that slowly blossoms into more.

If youre looking for a fun, romantic, witty, entertaining read, look no further. Dare to Love Again has it all and I guarantee you will find yourself falling in love with the McClare family. I was so excited to join their world again and I cant wait to go back to San Francisco and visit them again. I have fallen in love with Julie Lessmans writing and will certainly try to read her other series in the very near future.

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher, Revell, in exchange for my honest opinion. I received no compensation for this book, nor was I required to write a positive review. All opinions stated are my own.

Leah B.
Must Love Books
http://mustlovereading.wordpress.com/


The Daughter of Highland Hall (Edwardian Brides, Bk 2)
The Daughter of Highland Hall (Edwardian Brides, Bk 2)
Author: Carrie Turansky
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 1/13/2015


We were introduced to the world of Highland Hall in Carrie Turanskys first book of the Edwardian Brides series; The Governess of Highland Hall. In that book I fell in love with the characters and setting, feeling like I was transported to the world of Downton Abbey. In the second novel of the series, The Daughter of Highland Hall, we are reintroduced to Katherine Ramsey who has recently turned eighteen and is about to debut in society.

Under the wing of her overbearing aunt, Katherine hopes to obtain a proposal from a worthy gentleman. Her Aunt Louisa constantly pushes her toward Edward; handsome and wealthy, what more could she want? However, she is drawn to Jonathans quiet spirit and his desire to serve the poor in the East End of the city. Her faith in God grows and as family scandals surface, Katherine isnt sure what her future holds. But as her Aunt tries to secure her future, Katherine soon learns only God can secure her future.

I loved stepping back into the world of Highland Hall. We had plenty of more scenes with Julia & William - the hero and heroine of The Governess of Highland Hall. This series is all very much related so if you havent read The Governess of Highland Hall yet then I would strongly suggest doing so before picking up The Daughter of Highland Hill. You will appreciate the story so much more so if you do!

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher through Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest review. I received no compensation for this review, nor was I required to write a positive review. All opinions stated are my own.

Leah B.
Must Love Books
mustlovereading.wordpress.com


Elusive Hope: Escape to Paradise (Book 2)
Elusive Hope: Escape to Paradise (Book 2)
Author: MaryLu Tyndall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 9/17/2013
Helpful Score: 3


Elusive Hope. I would be drawn in by that title alone if I didnt know anything about the author/book. Having read the title, I would be even more drawn in when I saw the beautiful cover of this book.
I have loved MaryLu Tyndalls books ever since I read The Charles Towne Belles series last summer. I have since then gobbled up all her books and have loved every single one. I own them all and they will be keepers on my shelf forever! Im looking forward to reading them over and over again.
That being sad, Elusive Hope was just as good as all the rest of MaryLu Tyndalls books. Elusive Hope is the second book in the Escape to Paradise trilogy, following Forsaken Dreams. This series follows a group of southerners who are moving to Brazil to start a colony there after the end of the Civil War. Forsaken Dreams was about the journey to Brazil. In Elusive Hope, we find the colony growing and trying to settle into living in the jungle.
Magnolia is the spoiled daughter of an ex-rich plantation owner. She has a drinking problem (though thats not her only problem) and she desires to return home and marry the fiancé she left behind.
Hayden was a stowaway on the ship to Brazil. He is searching for his father, hoping to extract revenge on him for things he has done in the past.
When Hayden leaves the colony in order to search for his father, Magnolia follows him, hoping to find a way back to a ship to take her home to her fiancé. When Hayden discovers his follower, he realizes that Magnolia has something he needs, so instead of sending her back, they both trek through the jungle in order to arrive at their destination.

WOW! If you have loved anything by MaryLu Tyndall, you will LOVE this book just as much. Romance, mystery, spiritual warfare. Theres so much packed into this book and MaryLu does a great job of bringing it all together. I would definitely recommend reading Forsaken Dreams first. Reading that book first will help you understand a lot more of what is going on in this book. I am beyond excited to read the third and final book in the series. MaryLu did a great job of introducing the third book to us. She definitely left us with an eagerness to read on. I always hate cliffhangers but thankfully this cliffhanger is not so bad. I am only disappointed that I have to wait so long to read it! MaryLu has done an amazing job with this book she just keeps getting better and better with each book! One of my favorite things about MaryLu as an author is that her stories are different from anything Ive ever read before. And thats what keeps bringing me back to her books.

I received a free ecopy of this book from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for my honest review. I received no compensation for this review nor was I required to write a positive review. All opinions stated are my own.

Leah B.
Must Love Books
mustlovereading.wordpress.com


Fired Up (Trouble in Texas, Bk 2)
Fired Up (Trouble in Texas, Bk 2)
Author: Mary Connealy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 9/9/2013


Having enjoyed Swept Away, I was excited to dig into Fired Up and return to the lives of these characters. Fired Up is the second book in Mary Connealys Trouble in Texas series.
In Swept Away, we met Dare and Glynna, the main characters of Fired Up.
Dare is the town doctor, but since he never went to school to be a doctor, he doesnt think he deserves that title. However, he still does what he can to save peoples lives. But it seems like someone is out to end Dares life! Several incidents point to something more than just an accident.
Glynna was the mail-order bride of a man named Flint. Flint was not a good husband and Glynna was eager to get herself and her children away from him. Flint is now dead and Glynna is determined to support herself and not rely on any man again. Her children are also determined to keep any men away from their mother. This proves to be quite difficult when Glynna opens up a diner and men from all over town are coming to eat there despite Glynnas poor cooking.
But Glynna cant help being drawn to Dare. And with all the danger he continues to fall into, Glynna finds herself wanting to help keep him safe.

I am still somewhat new to Mary Connealys writing but I love the way her books are easy to read. You cant help but be swept into the story and live in the characters world. I definitely enjoyed this book and am looking forward to reading the finale of this trilogy whenever it is released.

I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review. I did not receive any compensation for this review and was not required to write a positive review. All opinions stated are my own.

Leah B.
Must Love Books
mustlovereading.wordpress.com


Forsaken Dreams (Escape to Paradise, Bk 1)
Forsaken Dreams (Escape to Paradise, Bk 1)
Author: MaryLu Tyndall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 3/18/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Forsaken Dreams is an amazing adventure full of trials, love, friendships, and storms. I was swept right into the story when we find the ship, New Hope, in the middle of a storm. We soon learn that this ship is full of Southerners who are on their way to Brazil to begin a new life after the Civil War ended. All of these Southerners are dreaming of a better life and hope to escape the pain of their pasts.
Blake was an officer for the South. He lost everything after the war so he put together a group of people to begin a new colony in Brazil where he hopes to build a new life.
Eliza is a war widow. She worked as a nurse during the war and she is trying to escape her past. Elizas deceased husband was a general for the North and she is rejected by both the North and the South, causing her to keep her past a secret from the rest of the passengers.
Most of the passengers are excited to embark on their journey and begin anew. However, they encounter many trials and hardships on the way, causing them to question whether this is what they really want to do. Different enemies try to keep them from their destination, whether those enemies be storms, Yankees, thieves or other kinds of weather.
With different secrets swirling around the ship, its hard to keep things hidden. When different passengers find their lives connected through the past, its even harder to keep the past in the past. Bitterness will rise as people become prejudiced against each other, and especially Eliza. If their colony is going to thrive, everyone must learn to overcome their bitterness and learn how to forgive.

I have read several of MaryLu Tyndalls books and have greatly enjoyed each one. Forsaken Dreams was no exception. Each chapter left you with questions that you wanted answers to, so you kept reading, unwilling to put the book down! Just when you think you know what is going to happen or you think everything is going to be resolved, another twist enters the story, sending you on a new surprising path. I really enjoyed the historical part of the book and learning about Confederate soldiers who relocated to Brazil. I never knew about that until I heard about this book and it definitely makes for an interesting story! I thought MaryLu did a great job at capturing the bitterness of the South. I was shocked at how bitter and angry the Southerners could be in this book, but we can see that their lives have been turned upside-down and they are very upset about it. Overall, I thought this was a fantastic book. I was sad when it ended but I am happy to know that it is a part of a series and I have the next book to look forward to. I thought the book ended satisfying enough as it leads us into the next book but doesnt leave us with a huge cliffhanger. As I said before, I loved this book very much and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for an adventuresome romance that will sweep them away!


The Governess of Highland Hall (Edwardian Brides, Bk 1)
The Governess of Highland Hall (Edwardian Brides, Bk 1)
Author: Carrie Turansky
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 7/29/2013


As soon as I saw the cover of The Governess of Highland Hall I figured it was going to be a book I enjoyed. I was definitely right about that!

The Governess of Highland Hall is the story of Julia, a young woman who has been serving several years in India with her parents as a missionary. When her father became ill, Julia and her parents returned to England and Julia now seeks employment in order to help ease her parents financial burden. Applying to be a governess, Julia is hired at Highland Hall to be the governess of Sir Williams two children, Andrew, age 9, and Millie, age 6. She has also come to oversee Sir Williams cousins, Katherine and Penelope, as they learn social skills and prepare for Katherines first season in London.
William has recently inherited Highland Hall and he finds himself in a financial bind as he struggles to fix up the estate. A widower, William finds it hard to trust others, but the new governess begins to change that.
As Julia settles into her role as governess, trouble brews among the servants and romance blossoms where it is least expected.

I found myself loving many of these characters though there were some that I greatly disliked as well! The author did a great job of transporting me back to 1911 and bringing the characters and setting to life. While this was my first book by Carrie Turansky, I look forward to reading more of her novels especially if theyre anything like this one!
If youre a fan of Downton Abbey, you will definitely want to pick this book up. I highly suggest it to anyone looking for a quick read that will keep you turning the pages. After all, I finished this book within 24 hours!

I received a free Advanced Reader Copy of this book from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing through the program Blogging for Books. I received no compensation other than this book and was not required to write a positive review. All opinions stated are my own.


Grace's Pictures (Ellis Island, Bk 1)
Grace's Pictures (Ellis Island, Bk 1)
Author: Cindy Thomson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 9/17/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Grace McCaffery is an Irish immigrant, sent to America by her stepfather in order for her to find a better life. She is sent to a home that specializes in helping immigrants find a job and she soon finds a job working as a nanny for a family with three kids and one on the way. Grace finds herself interested in photography and soon purchases a brownie camera and begins taking photos of the life around her. However, when local gangsters believe that Grace has taken a picture of their leader, she finds herself in danger as the gangsters seek a way to get that picture.
Grace must look to the police to help her, though she still has a distrust of them from her life in Ireland. Will Owen, an officer intent on getting the gangs of the street and helping the immigrants, be able to gain Graces trust?

This book was full of adventure and action as we follow Grace and Owens story. It was interesting reading about some of the immigration process as well as reading about the gangs that roamed the streets. I also enjoyed learning a bit about the brownie camera and the time when photography was not as popular as it is now. There was a lot of historical detail and interesting facts to be learned in this book as well as an interesting story to bring all the details together. My only complaint is that it seemed a little slow at times, but I still greatly enjoyed the book and I am looking forward to reading more from this author.

I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest opinion. All opinions stated are my own.


A Heart's Rebellion ((London Encounters, Bk 2)
A Heart's Rebellion ((London Encounters, Bk 2)
Author: Ruth Axtell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/31/2014


A Hearts Rebellion is the sequel to Moonlight Masquerade by Ruth Axtell. We briefly met Jessamine in Moonlight Masquerade and saw that she had deep feelings for Rees Phillips. In A Hearts Rebellion, Jessamine is pining after the newly-wed Rees and refuses to get over her broken heart. Entering her season in London, she tries to heal her broken heart by surrounding herself with other handsome men. While flirting, she finds herself caught up with some men who may not have her best interest at heart and may cause her reputation to be ruined.



Lancelot has taken an interest in Jessamine but she shows him no interest because she does not find him exciting as her other suitors. Despite being snuffed, Lancelot continues to seek out Jessamine and get to know her.



I thought this was a good sequel to Moonlight Masquerade. Personally, I think you will be able to follow along a lot better if you read Moonlight Masquerade before you read this one. I was excited to see Celine and Rees back in the story and see what is going on in their lives.

In regards to A Hearts Rebellion, I was a little disappointed. To me, Jessamine was a little annoying the way she refused to let Rees go and I felt like that dragged on for longer than it should have. But other then that, it was still entertaining and Lancelot was a hero worth swooning over.



I received a free copy of this book from the publisher, Revell, in exchange for my honest review. I received no compensation for this review, nor was I required to write a positive review. All opinions stated are my own.


It Happened at the Fair
It Happened at the Fair
Author: Deeanne Gist
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 4/12/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I have enjoyed all of Deeanne Gists books and It Happened at the Fair was no different. It Happened at the Fair transports us back to the 1893 Chicago Worlds Fair. Before traveling to the fair, we meet Cullen McNamara, a farmer from North Carolina, who has dreams of being an inventor. His father pays his way for him to go to the Fair to try and sell his invention of the automatic fire sprinkler. Before leaving, Cullen gets engaged to his childhood sweetheart, Wanda. Cullen is swept away in the enchantment of the fair but he is greatly discouraged when he tries to sell his product and runs into several roadblocks, including his inability to hear some of his potential customers over the loud noise of the fair. Not only are the noises too loud, but Cullen is starting to go deaf as well. In his desperation, Cullen hires Della Wentworth to teach him how to read lips. Of course, Cullen didnt expect his teacher to be an attractive young lady. Della agrees to teach Cullen, but is still very reluctant in opening up to him and has several suspicions about him. As their lessons progress and tragedy strikes the fair, their friendship deepens and an attraction starts to grow as well. Cullen must soon choose between his love for a girl hes always known, or this new girl who seems to have captured his heart.

As I mentioned before, I greatly enjoyed this book! The descriptions of the Fair were very detailed and it brought the Fair to life for me. The author also included pictures at the end of each chapter so you could see what some of the exhibits looked like. The author did a great job of telling the story of Cullen and Della but also showing us what the fair was like. I also really liked reading about Della teaching Cullen to lip-read. I felt like I was being taught right alongside Cullen. It was also interesting the way the author jumbled up some words when someone was talking to Cullen, so that we had a hard time understanding them as well. At first I thought there was a lot of spelling mistakes, but then I realized that we were hearing the way Cullen was. I would definitely recommend this book to my friends! One more thing, I know a lot of people sometimes skip over the Authors Note at the end of books but I definitely recommend reading the Authors Note in this book because the author gives more interesting information about the Fair and more historical details. I hope this review was helpful and that youll enjoy the book as much as I did!

I received a free ecopy of this book from the publisher in exchange for a fair and honest review. All opinions stated are my own.


Love in the Balance (Ladies of Caldwell County, Bk 2)
Love in the Balance (Ladies of Caldwell County, Bk 2)
Author: Regina Jennings
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 4/12/2013
Helpful Score: 1


There was a lot to love about the book Love in the Balance. I found myself laughing, sympathizing, and smiling throughout the whole book.
Its the year 1879 in Prairie Lea, Texas. Molly Lovelace is at the age where one starts to think about marrying. But it seems that her idea of who she should marry is different than her parents idea. Mollys parents believe that she should marry into a well-to-do family where it will benefit her social status and also their family business.
Molly and Bailey Garner are quite smitten with each other. The only problem is, Bailey doesnt meet Mollys parents standards. Bailey is having a hard time finding a job he likes or that he can keep. He tries his hand at ranching, blacksmithing, and helping at the cobblers but nothing seems to stick. If he cant stick to one job, how will he ever prove to Molly or her parents that hes a suitable mate?
In walks Edward Pierrepont. Coming from New York, Edward is a mysterious, rich man full of rich possibilities that cant help but entice Molly. Edwards wealth could be the answer to saving her fathers mill.
Molly is torn between choosing love with Bailey, or security and riches with Edward. When she makes a choice, will she question whether or not it was the right one?
I really enjoyed Sixty Acres and a Bride by Regina Jennings so I was really looking forward to Love in the Balance. I was not disappointed either! Molly and Bailey were both characters from the previous book and I enjoyed seeing their stories further explored. Love in the Balance was full of fun and laughter, as well as heartache and pain. There were several mysteries woven into the story that keeps the reader guessing as to what is going to happen and how things are going to be resolved. I like the fact that these characters werent perfect. We see right from the start that Molly and Bailey both failed in certain areas, but we see them learn from their mistakes and learn to be better people. I loved seeing the character change in Molly. She may be somewhat of a selfish, spoiled brat in the beginning, but different events that happen to her cause her to reevaluate her life and look to God for the help she needs in becoming a better person.
As I mentioned before, Love in the Balance has characters from Sixty Acres and a Bride but Love in the Balance is a great read on its own as well. I would definitely recommend it to my friends and family.

I received a free ecopy of this book from the publisher in exchange for a fair and honest review. All opinions stated are my own.


Love Unexpected (Beacons of Hope, Bk 1)
Love Unexpected (Beacons of Hope, Bk 1)
Author: Jody Hedlund
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 1/6/2015


I want to start off by saying that I have grown up going to Presque Isle, Michigan. My Grandparents have lived there since I was 3 and so I have literally grown up climbing the Presque Isle lighthouses summer after summer. Presque Isle is my second home and I absolutely loved reading this book and being able to visualize so much of it.

Love Unexpected is the first book in Jody Hedlunds new Michigan lighthouse series - Beacons of Hope. I had a lot of expectations for this book since I am from Michigan and this is the lighthouse I am most familiar with - not to mention Jody Hedlund is one of my favorite authors anyway. I must say that Jody Hedlund met my expectations and more for a great story and I am so looking forward to reading the rest of the books in the series.

Love Unexpected is the story of Emma Chambers. She has never really had a place to call her home so when her steamboat sinks and she is stranded in Presque Isle, the preacher suggests she marry the recently widowed Patrick Garraty. Patrick Garraty is the lightkeeper and he needs help taking care of his young son. Emma is so excited to have her own home and family and believes nothing can make her happier. But when she hears rumors in regards to her mysterious husband, she begins to wonder who the man she married really is.

As always, Jody Hedlund made these characters come to life. I loved the innocence of Emma, the romantic tension between Emma and Patrick, and the mystery that surrounded Patricks past. And whats not to love about sweet, little Josiah?

If you havent read Jody Hedlunds novella, Out of the Storm, I would suggest you do so! While it will not make or break this story, it does have a special tie-in to this story that will make you appreciate it more.

Thank you Jody Hedlund for continuing to write wonderful stories that transport us to different times and places. I so enjoy each novel that you have written and look forward to reading many more!

I received a free copy of this book from the author and publisher, Bethany House, in exchange for my honest review. I received no compensation for this review, nor was I required to write a positive review. All opinions stated are my own.

Leah B.
Must Love Books
mustlovereading.wordpress.com


Love's Fortune (Ballantyne Legacy, Bk 3)
Love's Fortune (Ballantyne Legacy, Bk 3)
Author: Laura Frantz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 10/20/2014


Ever since I read Loves Reckoning, I have anxiously awaited each new installment of The Ballantyne Legacy. These characters have become very dear to me and I have loved being a part of their lives and entering their world. I didnt think any of the books could be as good as Loves Reckoning by Loves Fortune blew me away and I think it took its place as my favorite book of the series.

Loves Fortune follows the story of Wren Ballantyne, granddaughter of Silas and Eden Ballantyne. Wren has grown up in a sheltered home in Kentucky. She knows little of her family in Pittsburgh other than that her grandfather possesses a great fortune. When her father is called to return home, Wren is swept away into the riches and chaotic world of Pittsburgh.
James Sackett is a steamship pilot for the Ballantynes shipping line. He is held in high esteem by all of the Ballantyne family. When Wren rides as a passenger on one of his trips, he cant help but be intrigued by this silent beauty.
James is chosen to escort Wren through her season in Pittsburgh but will Wren ever find a way to fit in to the high society around her?

Wren is such a loveable character and I couldnt help being drawn to her and sympathizing with her as she entered an unknown world. I loved her sweet nature and innocence.
James was definitely a swoon-worthy hero. I loved his attraction to Wren and kept hoping he would voice it to her, but of course, dear Laura drew the anticipation out.

Ms. Frantz, thank you for creating such beloved characters. I look forward to reading these books over and over again. They have most certainly earned a permanent spot on my shelf.

I received a free copy of this book from the author and publisher, Revell, in exchange for my honest opinion. I received no compensation for this review, nor was I required to write a positive review. All opinions stated are my own.

Leah B.
Must Love Books
mustlovereading.wordpress.com


Made to Last (Where Love Begins, Bk 1)
Made to Last (Where Love Begins, Bk 1)
Author: Melissa Tagg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 10/7/2013


Such a sweet debut novel!

I am not a big fan of contemporary romance but every now and then a new book comes into my path that looks good enough to pick up and that is what I thought about Made to Last. It had a fun cover that drew me in, and it sounded like a fresh storyline so I decided to give it a try.

Miranda Woodruff is a reality TV star from the popular home improvement show From the Ground Up. While filming for season 4, Miranda finds out that ratings are down and that the network is considering canceling her show. Miranda has placed her entire identity in her show, and she is willing to do anything to boost ratings Even pretend to have a husband in order to draw more publicity.
Matthew is a reporter who is looking for a way to make his career spark. When he is asked to write a blog series about Miranda Woodruff, he jumps on the chance and is continually searching for an inside scoop in order to get a cover worthy story.
As Miranda pretends to be married to one guy, she finds herself drawn to the reporter who she is spending a lot of time with. When her former fiancé shows up, Miranda has a hard time juggling three different guys and trying to keep her show from plummeting into cancelation.

This storyline was so sweet. I loved these characters and they came alive to me as I entered their world. Blaze was such a sweet husband and I found myself really liking his character. Matthew struggled with things in his past and you can see how that affects some of the decisions he makes in this book. Miranda was definitely a strong, independent heroine. A fix-it-herself kind of girl, I couldnt relate to her in everything, but I loved her just the same. While some of the things in this book came as a slight surprise, some of the things were still predictable but sometimes thats welcome in a book. In this case, I enjoyed everything about the book.

You will definitely love this debut novel from Melissa Tagg! I am looking forward to reading more books from this loveable author.

I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my honest review. I received no compensation for this review, nor was I required to write a positive review. All opinions stated are my own.

Leah B.
Must Love Books
mustlovereading.wordpress.com


The Ransom: Legacy of the King's Pirates
The Ransom: Legacy of the King's Pirates
Author: MaryLu Tyndall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/2/2014


When I heard MaryLu Tyndall was coming out with a sequel to her Legacy of the Kings Pirates series, I was ecstatic. Having greatly enjoyed the series, I was excited to see what kind of story MaryLu would come up with next. The Ransom features the son of Captain Edmund Merrick Hyde and Lady Charlisse, though they dont make an appearance in this book. With that being said, you could totally read this book and be able to follow along without having read the entire series. However, I would highly suggest reading the entire series because MaryLu Tyndall writes the best swashbuckling romance there could be!

Juliana Dutton has taken over the responsibility of her familys shipping business due to her father being ill and her brothers foolish antics. However, no one knows that its a woman running the business and Juliana starts to feel the pressure as people start to question where her father is and business starts to slow.
When Lord Munthrope suggests a fake engagement that will benefit them both, Juliana agrees. At first she finds herself annoyed by this frivolous man but as time continues, she finds him making a way into her heart. However, a certain Pirate Earl, feared by many, has also been making an appearance in her life and she cant believe she may be falling for a pirate!

This story will sweep you away. The words jumped off the pages as I dove into the world of Port Royal in the year 1692. MaryLu Tyndall did a great job of bringing us back in time and showing us the world of Port Royal through Julianas eyes. I loved the romance, I loved the humor and I loved the historical detail. MaryLu continues to outdo herself with each new novel. I can hardly wait between each release. I am so honored to be a part of her Motley Crew and I look forward to reading each new book MaryLu Tyndall writes.

Leah B.
Must Love Books
http://mustlovereading.wordpress.com/


Rebellious Heart
Rebellious Heart
Author: Jody Hedlund
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 9/24/2013


It is so hard to pick a favorite author because there are so many good authors out there and I love so many different books. But one of the authors that I have found to like every single one of their books is Jody Hedlund. She has yet to disappoint me.. and I doubt she ever will! Each of her books have gripped my emotions and torn at my heart-strings. The romance she writes sets my heart pumping and the characters she creates have all become my friends. Each setting is full of history lessons that come to life through the fiction stories she writes. I love the poetic way she writes her stories and each book leaves me smiling and sighing happily.

With all that being said, Rebellious Heart was everything and more that I wanted it to be. Have you ever just stared at the cover of a book, wanting to read it but waiting because you know this is the only time you will experience the book for the first time? That's what I did with Rebellious Heart. I just had to hold it for a while, soaking in the freshness of the story, the mystery of what it held. But as I opened this book, I was whirled away to the 18th Century where I fell in love with these characters.

Susanna Smith has everything she wants. That is, except for a higher education. Living in a world where women do not receive that kind of education, Susanna does what she can to soak in any kind of education she can find. She is determined to marry well and help the less fortunate with their needs. Susanna also believes herself to be loyal to the crown.
Ben grew up as a farmer's son and despite his Harvard education, still finds himself looked down on for his poor background. As a lawyer, Ben is also eager to help the less fortunate. When he meets Susanna, he is quickly drawn to her, though he knows she intends to marry well.
While the two hold opposing views on the king and the crown, they find themselves needing the other's help and one of them finds their view on the crown wavering.

Rebellious Heart was written as a fictional account of the courtship between John and Abigail Adams. I loved the history found in this book and I love the details that Jody Hedlund weaved into this story. There is nothing about that book that I didn't like except the fact that it ended. I felt the emotions that these characters felt. I lived right beside them as I entered their world. I couldn't decide if I wanted to read this book slow and soak it all in or read it fast so I could find out what happened next. I think I did a little bit of both. If you are looking for a sigh-worthy romance that will get your heart racing and tug at your emotions, definitely pick up Rebellious Heart. You will not be disappointed.

I received a free copy of this book from the author and Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my review. I received no compensation for this review and was not required to write a positive review. All opinions stated are my own.

Leah B.
Must Love Books
mustlovereading.wordpress.com


So Shines the Night (Seven Wonders, Bk 5)
So Shines the Night (Seven Wonders, Bk 5)
Author: Tracy L. Higley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 4/12/2013


This is the first book of Tracy L. Higleys that I have read and I greatly enjoyed it. I am looking forward to reading more of her books.
Daria is a recently widowed girl looking for a job as a tutor on the island of Rhodes. When she steps into trouble, she escapes the island with the help of Lucas who decides to hire her as a personal tutor. Lucas takes Daria back to his home in Ephesus and Daria starts settling in. However, Daria has stepped into a house laden with secrets and she cant help but be curious about things that are happening all around her. Lucas wife has recently died, many people believing that she was murdered. Lucas is haunted by her death, causing him to get mixed up with the wrong people.
Evil surrounds the city. Evil in the shape of sorcery and evil that Daria has been trying to escape. In her search for the truth, she meets people from The Way, including Paul and Timothy. Daria is confused between what the true way is and she has people from either side trying to tell her what they think the truth really is. In the end Daria must decide if she believes the One True God is powerful enough to overcome the evil that surrounds the city.

As I mentioned before, this is the first book of Tracy Higleys that I have read. I was brought right into the story as the author described the characters and the surrounding setting. The events in this book are taken from Acts 19 and it was interesting seeing the story come to life through the eyes of Higley. I thought she did a great job on researching the time period and bringing it to life for her readers.

Her characters are real people with real problems and I loved seeing how they overcame their problems, internal and external, throughout the book.
I look forward to reading more from Tracy Higley!

I received a free ecopy of this book from Thomas Nelson in exchange for my review.


Swept Away (Trouble in Texas, Bk 1)
Swept Away (Trouble in Texas, Bk 1)
Author: Mary Connealy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 4/12/2013


I was swept right into the story of Swept Away when I started reading the book.
Ruth is living with the Reinhardts, a family who has raised her. She is promised to be married to their son, yet they treat her like their slave, forcing her to do all their work. When their wagon was crossing a river, a huge wave came and swept them down the river. Ruth has escaped the family and she doesnt regret it. She still lives in fear of them finding her, even though they are probably dead. However, when Luke fishes her out of the river, she doesnt realize shes still walking into more trouble.
Lukes ranch was stolen from him by a man he believes killed his father. Luke and Ruth arrive in town and have to hide out so that Greer doesnt find out Luke is back in town. Luke gathers the help of some of his closest friends as they try to make a plan for getting Lukes ranch back. Eventually, they have their plan set, they just have to set it in motion.
Will Ruth find happiness away from the Reinhardts? Or is she destined for a life full of trouble? Will Luke get his ranch back? Will Luke ever find out how his father really died?
Swept Away was a wonderful story full of laughter and fun. I really enjoyed each part of the book and had a hard time putting the book down. Each chapter leaves you wondering what will happen next so you want to keep reading to see whats going to happen. I had only read one Mary Connealy book before so this was a great introduction to her writing. I look forward to the rest of the books in this trilogy and also reading some of Mary Connealys past books.

This book was given to me by Bethany House Publishers in exchange for a fair and honest review.


Swept to Sea
Swept to Sea
Author: Heather Manning
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/23/2014


Heres the thing, I LOVE sea-faring adventures. And when you add pirates in the mix, Im bound to love it. Swept to Sea is the debut novel of 16-year-old author, Heather Manning. Heather and I sail the seas together for author MaryLu Tyndalls Motley Crew and it is so exciting to see a friends novel get published! I was afraid that being acquainted with the author would cloud my judgment, but I soon found that was impossible because I absolutely LOVED Swept to Sea!

Lady Eden Trentons father has arranged for her to be married to Lord Clive. Hoping to escape this abusive engagement, Eden stows away on a pirate ship, hoping to escape to the Caribbean where she believes her brother is. While hoping to find safe passageway, Eden doesnt expect to find the handsome Caspian Archer as captain.
After his wifes death several years ago, Caspian finds himself seeking revenge. But what he doesnt expect is the beautiful Lady Eden to stowaway on his ship and capture his heart as well as his son, Reeds heart.
But Eden isnt immune to danger, and though she may think danger lies far behind, danger follows at a close distance.

I loved the main characters in this book but I think what made this book even stronger was the fact that it had such loveable side characters as well. Aimee and Ivy are Edens close friends and when she disappears, they do what they can to see her back to safety. I loved their loyalty and love for their friend. I also fell in love with Gage, Caspians first mate. I look forward to maybe reading more about him in a future story???? I sure hope so! Matthew Emery is another hero who deserves more spotlight.
Overall, this book was exciting, thrilling, romantic, and so much more. A debut novel, but one written so well, I would think Heather has written several novels. I look forward to reading more from this wonderful new author!

I bought an ebook copy of this book and was not required to write a review. All opinions stated are my own.

Leah B.
Must Love Books
http://mustlovereading.wordpress.com/


Trouble in Store
Trouble in Store
Author: Carol Cox
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 9/17/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Trouble in Store is the first Carol Cox book I have read and I hope it wont be the last! This book was full of smiles, mystery, and romance and I was very glad I picked this one up.

After losing her job as a governess, Melanie Ross decides to go to Arizona and claim ownership of a mercantile that was left to her by her uncle. But what she doesnt expect is to find a stubborn Caleb Nelson who refuses to let this woman walk in and take the store from him. So while they try to run the store together, Caleb tries to marry Melanie off so he can claim full ownership. But mysterious notes are showing up at the store and other events point to evidence that someone is trying to destroy the store. As rumors fly and fingers are pointed, Caleb and Melanie must work together to find out who is threatening their store before it is too late.

Trouble in Store was very enjoyable and I found myself liking the characters a lot. I enjoyed the mystery aspect to the story and found myself surprised at some of the turn of events. One thing I realized halfway through the book is that I couldnt picture Caleb because I dont think there was really any description of him. But other then that, I really liked this book and would definitely pick up another of Carol Coxs books.

I received a free ecopy of this book from Bethany House Publishers through NetGalley in exchange for my honest review. I received no compensation for this review and was not required to write a positive review. All opinions stated are my own.

Leah B.
Must Love Books
mustlovereading.wordpress.com


1 to 20 of 21 - Page: