Dixie B. (ontedge) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 43 - Page:
Abducted
Abducted
Author: Charlene Lunnon, Lisa Hoodless
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/17/2018


Very good book, but honestly, one of the more difficult true crime I've read. Such a sad story about two 10 year old girls abducted, repeatedly raped and tortured over a period of days. Each girl tells her story in first person and it's hard to read, but their courage comes through loud and clear.
Seeing the girls' eyes on the cover really sticks with you.


Because You Loved Me
Because You Loved Me
Author: M. William Phelps
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 4/17/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I'm EXTREMELY impressed with this book! M. William Phelps has certainly written some good books, but this one is exceptionally readable.
It grabs you from the beginning, with interesting characters - and very well written. It's a sad story, but if true crime is your cup of tea - you won't go wrong with this one!!!


The Berenstain's B Book (bright and Early Books for Beginning Beginners)
Review Date: 7/2/2009


This was my daughter's ALL TIME FAVORITE book during her early years!
We read it every day, several times a day and soon she was "reading" it from
memory - just looking at the pictures.
Tons of fun!!!


The Boy in the Box: The Unsolved Case of America's Unknown Child
The Boy in the Box: The Unsolved Case of America's Unknown Child
Author: David Stout
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 8/7/2015


Incredibly sad story of a very young boy, beaten to death and abandoned. It's hard to understand how someone could do this to a child, and for no one to ever come forward when a child disappears. Moving how the case affected so many lives of investigators through the years. It did get a bit side-tracked about other cases of children who were essentially "thrown away". Well written book. Be ready to have your heart tugged on if you read this one.


Conviction: The Untold Story of Putting Jodi Arias Behind Bars
Conviction: The Untold Story of Putting Jodi Arias Behind Bars
Author: Juan Martinez
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/19/2018


This was probably the best book I'd read about Jodi Arias, and I've read several. Written by the prosecutor, Juan Martinez, I appreciated this author's take on how he was able to pull back the curtain, and show what Jodi Arias was truly like. I admire him as a prosecutor, and he wrote a darn good book too!


The Courage to Heal - Third Edition - Revised and Expanded : A Guide for Women Survivors of Child Sexual Abuse
Review Date: 7/20/2012


I often heard that this book is pretty much the "Bible for survivors of sexual abuse". Wonderful resource - covers every aspect of recovery. The validation I found in this book, along with its resources helped give me the courage to reach out locally and find the help I needed for my recovery journey. I can't recommend it highly enough for survivors!


Credit Card Debt: : Reduce Your Financial Burden In Three Easy Steps
Review Date: 1/23/2012


This particular book helped our family change our mindset about credit more than any other book I'd read!
So much that when I misplaced the book during reading, I bought a second copy to finish it. (And then, of course, found the original book! :)

After reading this, I was inspired to take Dave Ramsey's "Financial Peace University", and their program is wonderful, also!

I can't recommend this book highly enough IF you're really serious about getting rid of your credit card debt!


A Dark and Bloody Ground
A Dark and Bloody Ground
Author: Darcy O'Brien
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 7/22/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Excellent book that draws you in right away! It's about a female prison guard who becomes obsessed with one of her prisoners and the crimes that
followed.
I really enjoyed how Darcy O'Brien really brought depth to several of the characters, so whether you liked them or not - you were very interested in what the next chapter held.
Great read!!!


Darker than Night: The True Story of a Brutal Double Homicide--and an 18-Year-Long Quest for Justice
Review Date: 12/1/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Very riveting true crime! Took a bit to get into it, but once there, it's
a book you don't want to put down! The more you read, the more you wonder how this could happen - but it did...

Tom Henderson is an excellent writer. An excellent read!


Deadly Goals: The True Story of an All-American Football Hero Who Stalked and Murdered (Deadly Goals)
Review Date: 1/15/2015
Helpful Score: 1


Well written true crime. As a football fan, I enjoyed many of the football references (as the killer was a former football player). Perhaps someone not interested in football may find it less enjoyable, but in any case, it's well written and the storyline flows well.


Deal with It!  A Whole New Approach to Your Body, Brain, and Life as a Gurl
Review Date: 11/22/2008
Helpful Score: 3


Yes, parts of this book ARE graphic, but it's intended for young women, not children.
As parents, we can always decide if it's age appropriate for the intended reader.

My daughter felt she benefitted from some sections as they covered topics she wanted more information about, but wasn't as comfortable asking about. She liked the young person's perspective, as she "tuned in" easily.

It covers body changes, boys and girls, body image, peer pressure, PMS and periods, sexual urges, nutrition, contraception to dealing with your family and siblings...etc. Internet resources for topics ranging from nutrition to politics, adoption to skin care are included.

I felt it was an empowering book for my teenage daughter, but it's not for everyone.


Deliver Us: Three Decades of Murder and Redemption in the Infamous I-45 Texas Killing Fields
Review Date: 3/11/2015


Another excellent book from Kathryn Casey! The writing just flows and her writing style really helps draw you in as you learn each victim's story. One of my favorite things about this book is all the pictures. And they're integrated into each chapter and not in a picture section (where the pages frequently become loose!). Wonderful addition to a great book! Highly recommended!


Every Breath You Take: A True Story of Obsession, Revenge, and Murder
Every Breath You Take: A True Story of Obsession, Revenge, and Murder
Author: Ann Rule
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 180
Review Date: 3/19/2008


Ann Rule books are always good, but this one is one of her better books
(in my opinion). Intriguing story involves a husband who arranges the brutal death of his ex-wife. You really want to see this jerk get what he deserves...


Exposed: The Secret Life of Jodi Arias
Exposed: The Secret Life of Jodi Arias
Author: Jane Velez-Mitchell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 7/28/2015
Helpful Score: 1


Good, but not as good a book as I'd hoped for. Having read "Picture Perfect" by Shanna Hogan, I was interested in the case and hoped to learn more.

The main new information I noticed was Jodi's early life and some possible root causes for her mental instability.

What I didn't care for was countless comments from the author sharing her opinion of Jodi Arias. Yes, I think most readers agree with Velez-Mitchell's assessment of Arias, but I much prefer a storyteller type of author who doesn't pound their opinions into the book. They let the reader make their own assessment. Velez-Mitchell really has strong opinions about Jodi Arias and it became distracting reading them so often (for me).

Other than that, and some punctuation issues that make my Word Nerd self a little crazy, it was a good book. I learned more about the case...I'd only hoped for more.


Fall: The Rape and Murder of Innocence in a Small Town
Fall: The Rape and Murder of Innocence in a Small Town
Author: Ron Franscell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 12/6/2008


This an absolutely fantastic read that will keep you riveted from start to finish.

However, be careful! It appears to have been published in 2007 as "Fall: The Rape and Murder of Innocence in a Small Town", and reprinted in 2008 with the name changed to "The Darkest Night: Two Sisters, a Brutal Murder, and the Loss of Innocence in a Small Town".

But either title - it's a "must read" for true crime fans!


Fallen Son
Fallen Son
Author: Mike Walsh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 2/4/2016


Very good true crime that I never would have found if not for the recommendation of a fellow reader. I liked the fact that the author let the reader come to their own conclusions about the main character. It was well written and not filled with trial transcripts, which was great. You follow the evolution of Charlie Cohen before the murders and for years after, and it's just different is all I can say. The only negative to me was you didn't find out from the book what the final outcome of his trial was, but it was easy enough to locate on the internet. This is one I can certainly recommend to other readers of true crime!


Fatal Seduction
Fatal Seduction
Author: Rena Vicini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 12/1/2008
Helpful Score: 1


A TERRIFIC read that was super hard to put down!!! The writing seems more like you're reading a novel, but it really happened...


It's a unique story line where the husband from a young couple (married 6 months) is murdered. There's sex, drugs, a sociopath, lesbianism and a murder that all figure into this very compelling read. Highly recommended!


Footsteps in the Snow
Footsteps in the Snow
Author: Charles Lachman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 6/27/2015


This is a very well written book about the oldest cold case to ever be tried in the U.S. A beautiful little 7 year old was kidnapped and murdered. It's a long book (over 500 pages), but a good one true crime readers will likely appreciate.


Girl, Wanted: The Chase for Sarah Pender
Girl, Wanted: The Chase for Sarah Pender
Author: Steve Miller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 8/17/2011
Helpful Score: 3


As an avid true crime reader, I really enjoyed this book, mainly because of Sarah Pender's unique combination of brains and manipulative skills.

Highly intelligent, this is a woman that could have achieved so much had she taken a different turn in life.
You can practically feel her parents' pain with what happened with their daughter...

Sarah and her accomplice, Richard Hull, both received long sentences for their participation in the murder of two people. Even after reading the book, it's not clear which of the two pulled the trigger, but it's obvious they're both involved.

After serving 8 years, Sarah feels she's served enough time and devises a remarkably well thought out escape. She changed her identity, found a man who was willing to sacrifice all for her, worked at a regular job and remained free for over 4 months.

Well written book - about your not very average criminal.


The Good Nurse: A True Story of Medicine, Madness, and Murder
The Good Nurse: A True Story of Medicine, Madness, and Murder
Author: Charles Graeber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 5/22/2015
Helpful Score: 1


Very well written book. Disturbing content but disturbing that it was able to happen again and again. Multi-faceted characters...it held my interest the whole time.


1 to 20 of 43 - Page: