Carol F. (cactusflowerwomen) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 490 - Page:
1776
1776
Author: David McCullough
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 249
Review Date: 4/21/2014
Helpful Score: 1


Was well written and researched. One wonders how we ever gained our independence, with such a ragtag army and no generals with much if any military experience.


The 19th Wife
The 19th Wife
Author: David Ebershoff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 303
Review Date: 11/7/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Ebershoff uses many styles from letters and journals to tell the story of Brigham Young's "19th" wife, Eliza,tho she was probably a lot higher number as Young didn't count the wives he was no longer having intimate relations with, the barren, and the old wives. Eliza leaves Young and the church to campaign for the banishment of polygamy and the horrible effect on the many wives, children and polygamous men, as well. I learned a lot of history which I enjoyed, but the last 100 pgs dragged so much I struggled for several days to make myself finish it. 'Course I have to read all the prologs, epilogs and footnote information. A worthy read, just for the historical information.


22 Britannia Road
22 Britannia Road
Author: Amanda Hodgkinson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 2/21/2014


I loved this bk, which is a great historical fiction book. To quote another Amazon reader: "This book is vividly written and has complexity to the plot that continues to draw you in right up until the last chapter. The long lasting effects of war on people are brilliantly portrayed in the story. In post war Britain, the couple has every advantage- an intact family, a house, a car, a good job - but the lingering effects of what happened to them during the war destroy their chances to go forward. The son has been deeply influenced by his time in the forests avoiding both Germans and Russians and living off the land. In one scene his father shows him how to collect and save birds eggs and the boy can only think of how he wants to eat the eggs contents as he did so often in the forests. He has a particularly difficult time socializing and entering into normal relationships. It was heartbreaking and at times almost too sad to bear. In the end though this story is a triumph of the human spirit over adversity


Across a Hundred Mountains: A Novel
Across a Hundred Mountains: A Novel
Author: Reyna Grande
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/18/2020


Really a good book about Mexican immigrant family, and their journeys to America. Very moving!Her other book is equally as good. This is the sequel to it.


Across the Wide and Lonesome Prairie : The Oregon Trail Diary of Hattie Campbell, 1847 (Dear America)
Review Date: 10/23/2018


This was a good synopsis of the life of one of the Oregon wagon bound settlers, but I was disappointed that it was fictional. Nonetheless,a sweet read for a young person.


Across the wide Missouri
Across the wide Missouri
Author: Bernard Augustine De Voto
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/19/2020


I really enjoyed reading about the fur trappers lives, and the settles account with the Indian. There are great picture too. But I did bog down in the fur trade wars. Read all but the lst 50 pages.


Alice's Tulips
Alice's Tulips
Author: Sandra Dallas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 127
Review Date: 6/12/2014
Helpful Score: 1


I like Sandra Dallas's books, though this one took a while to get into. Not one of her best, in my opinion tho interesting historical info about daily life during the Civil War. Light fare.


All Quiet on the Orient Express
All Quiet on the Orient Express
Author: Magnus Mills
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/3/2020


Deadpan British humor and a subtle comedyset in a deidely odd and cliquish billage.


All the Light We Cannot See: A Novel
All the Light We Cannot See: A Novel
Author: Anthony Doerr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 7/3/2017


Winner of the Booker Pulitzer Prize, various other awards, and a NY Times best seller for two and a half years. Story set before and after WWII in Germany and France, two warring countries, contrasting and interweaving the lives of the people about the Nazi occupation of France, about how radio broadcasts alerted the German military to covert actions and the French Resistance. Deeply moving, shocking, poignant, and irrestible. 10 years in the writing, this book is incredible. The alternating short stories can be difficult to follow, but that would be the only setback for e in reading it, highly recommend.


All the Little Live Things
All the Little Live Things
Author: Wallace Stegner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 1/30/2017


An intellectual, piercing, poignant story of a woman stricken with cancer, and her will to live. The prose is truly beautiful, but this is no quick or easy read. I highly recommend Stegner's writing.


The Alphabet Sisters
The Alphabet Sisters
Author: Monica McInerney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 96
Review Date: 9/20/2020


Good chic lit set in Australia. Pretty predictable


Amagansett
Amagansett
Author: Mark Mills
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 9/1/2014


Excellent murder mystery and a very good read!


The Amber Room
The Amber Room
Author: Steve Berry
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 9/17/2020


I dind not, but my sister red this and said it was just an okay mystery. Re; Nazi caching of jewels stolen from the Jews.


An Egg on Three Sticks
An Egg on Three Sticks
Author: Jackie Fischer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 11/8/2018


An excellent coming of age story about a 13 year old girls whose mother has a nervous breakdown. Couldn't put it down.


An Unfinished Life
An Unfinished Life
Author: Mark Spragg
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 8/14/2020


I loved this book. It was beautifully written and reminded me of books by Kent Haruf and Wallace Stegner. Great storyline and character development. Highly recommend! S compelling tale of the new West, and coming of age, out of heartache and abuse.


Angel Fire
Angel Fire
Author: Ron Franscell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/31/2018


Heart wrenching story of two brothers lives, nearly broke my heart.


Angel's Rest
Angel's Rest
Author: Charles Davis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 6/27/2019


Well written, very readable story about a boy raised in a rural community in the Alegheny Mtns in VA. A tragedy, a romance, a coming of age story.


Annie John
Annie John
Author: Jamaica Kincaid
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 11/30/2012


A charming coming of age of a young girl in Antigua. Annie is charming and witty, yet also very audacious and stubborn.


Any Bitter Thing
Any Bitter Thing
Author: Monica Wood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 10/15/2012
Helpful Score: 1


What a great book about abandonment, guilt, broken hearts, relationships, love; I highly recommend it. The characters are so believable and you relly get to know and love them. I'm definitely going to read her other books now!


Ape House
Ape House
Author: Sara Gruen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 118
Review Date: 12/24/2017


IT was pretty good, though I would have liked a lot more information about the bonobos language acquisition skills.


1 to 20 of 490 - Page: