Cheryl N. (greedyreader) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 23 - Page:
The 158 Pound Marriage
The 158 Pound Marriage
Author: John Irving
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 1/7/2011


although I'm a big fan of John Irving, I just couldn't keep with this book.


Crossing to Safety
Crossing to Safety
Author: Wallace Stegner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 8/31/2010


I hadn't read anything beyond Stegner's short stories and was pleasantly surprised that this novel holds up every bit as well as those. At first, I thought that part of his writing was a bit stilted or reserved, perhaps maybe even a little "beyond the grasp of the unacademic," but once I got into the flow, I revised this opinion. He did handle his women subjects well, something that I think a lot of male authors either over-do or under-do. The telling of the tale in remembrance form (flashback) was the only way to handle the story, in my opinion. All in all, I very much enjoyed the book and will look for another of his novels.


The Girl Who Played with Fire (Millenium, Bk 2)
The Girl Who Played with Fire (Millenium, Bk 2)
Author: Stieg Larsson, Reg Keeland (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 831
Review Date: 1/13/2011


I liked this book better than the first one and cannot wait to read the third in the series. Larsson develops Lizbeth more fully making the reader much more able to sympathize with her. In doing so, however, he does minimize Mikael, which is rather confusing as he was concentrated on so intensely in The Girl With the Dragon Tatoo.


Girl with a Pearl Earring
Girl with a Pearl Earring
Author: Tracy Chevalier
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1453
Review Date: 8/2/2011


interesting how Chevalier spun a story around a painting.


The Inheritance of Loss
The Inheritance of Loss
Author: Kiran Desai
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 5/1/2011


Kiran Desai writes in a similar manner to Rohinton Mistry.


Into the Darkest Corner (Larger Print)
Into the Darkest Corner (Larger Print)
Author: Elizabeth Haynes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 11/7/2013


Creepiness at its finest. The author had the reader second guessing exactly who was crazy or dangerous and who was not. Our book club decided that every one of us is OCD in one way or another.


The Lincoln Lawyer (Mickey Haller, Bk 1)
The Lincoln Lawyer (Mickey Haller, Bk 1)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 5/1/2011


Nice twist of events. Reminded me of the crime shows currently on TV (Law and Order, perhaps). Mickey is a redeemable main character.


Little Bee (aka The Other Hand)
Little Bee (aka The Other Hand)
Author: Chris Cleave
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 828
Review Date: 10/30/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I read through this book very quickly --- it was hard for me to put down! I liked the way the author switched between the two main characters' view points. Having Little Bee as an unpredictable voice was enticing. The way she masked telling of extremely grave situations with her black/dry humour was excellent! All in all, Cleve helped to make sheltered readers more aware of horror of encroaching "civilization" by putting a face and personality on on tiny part of the world. He humanized aspects of terror that most of us in the free world benignly glance over. Cleve also placed behaviour in the free world under a microscope to enhance the little horrors we take for granted as being the norm, as being typical or expected.


Lost
Lost
Author: Gregory Maguire
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 296
Review Date: 1/13/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I am a big fan of Maguire's and have read nearly all of his books, but was disappointed in this book. It just seemed to wrap up in too predictable of a manner and lost the element of surprise.


The Memory Keeper's Daughter
The Memory Keeper's Daughter
Author: Kim Edwards
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5409
Review Date: 2/27/2011


The book's central premise of secretly hiding a life intrigued me. Upon reading this book, I'd like to know more about how the medical profession of the era could simply dismiss a mentally handicapped infant as not being "worthy."


Olive Kitteridge
Olive Kitteridge
Author: Elizabeth Strout
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 884
Review Date: 9/7/2010


I had mixed feelings about this book the entire way through. The writing and technique are beautiful. Strout's telling a tale using mini-tales with a central theme was a unique way of letting the audience make judgements about Olive Kitteridge. I got to feeling depressed a bit at some of the topics in the mini-tales, and, of course, got angry and even outraged at times --- just the way Strout wanted her audience to. I did very much enjoy the little "interview" of Strout and Olive and the end of my copy as it threw out different ways to think about the story and characters. This book would be wonderful for a book club discussion, especially one comprised of people of different ages and walks in life.


People of the Book
People of the Book
Author: Geraldine Brooks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 313
Review Date: 2/1/2011


I was apprehensive about reading this book after a friend of mine tried to read it and declared that she didn't care what or who was found next. However, I found it all fascinating! I come from a Christian background and know relatively little about other religions. Brooks has helped me make some "ah ha" connections amongst the three "cousin" religions in a way that only a good story teller can do. I appreciate the history entwined in the mystery. My only criticism is that the modern main character is lacking, but perhaps this was the author's intent so that the reader can see her flaws more clearly.


Red Lights
Red Lights
Author: Georges Simenon, Norman Denny (Translator
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 11/16/2010


I hadn't read Simenon before. I was amazed how he captured the flaws of humanity in the early 1950's and yet this is very much pertinent to modern times.


A Redbird Christmas
A Redbird Christmas
Author: Fannie Flagg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 135
Review Date: 12/13/2010


Light, feel good reading as only Fannie Flagg does best.


A Reliable Wife
A Reliable Wife
Author: Robert Goolrick
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 1062
Review Date: 10/19/2010


This book is full of surprises! I thought I knew what I was going to be getting when I started reading it, but was pleasantly surprised at the various twists and turns. It did get a little graffic and gritty in places, but I don't think that I would have it any other way now that I've completed it. The minor characters of Alice and Mrs. (and Mr.) Larsen made me curious and wanting to know more about them, especially the Larsen's, but I can see why Goolrick didn't flesh them out. I kept rooting for Antonio, though I'm not sure why. I think I was looking for his redemption, but that would've been too unreal.


Sarah's Key
Sarah's Key
Author: Tatiana de Rosnay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1471
Review Date: 12/13/2010


I liked this book very much. I did feel, however, that the modern day main character was not as developed at the historical main character. That didn't interrupt the flow of the book. I had no clue that these things happened in France during World War II.


The Secret Papers of Madame Olivetti
The Secret Papers of Madame Olivetti
Author: Annie Vanderbilt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 9/27/2010


I found this book very light. I just didn't get into the characters. The descriptions of the places were well done, however.


Shanghai Girls
Shanghai Girls
Author: Lisa See
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 394
Review Date: 2/27/2011


Lisa See has re-defined a time period and people in such a way that I felt I was living through it all.


Shutter Island
Shutter Island
Author: Dennis Lehane
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 2/7/2011


fun psychological thriller. My son saw the movie and was very enthusiastic about it, so I got this book and am so glad I did, even though this isn't usually a genre I typically read.


The Space Between Us
The Space Between Us
Author: Thrity Umrigar
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 234
Review Date: 9/20/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I really liked this book and can't wait to read more by this author! Umrigar now ranks right up there for me with Rohinton Mistry. I read The Help by Kathryn Stockett earlier this year and find this book to be similar. There are so many levels of prejudice grown from ignorance. Humans are frustrating, fascinating beings --- no matter what race, religion, nationality.


1 to 20 of 23 - Page: