Troy D. (tdaulton) - , - Reviews

1 to 12 of 12
Abduction
Abduction
Author: Robin Cook
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 172
Review Date: 2/17/2009


I loved this book. Very interesting plotline and intricately created characters. Cook really did some good plotting on this one, but I wish there had more to the story. This is one I definitely wish there was a sequel too. This book is for Robin Cook fans as well as people who have never read a Cook book before. Highly recommended.


Batman: Bruce Wayne - Fugitive, Vol. 1
Batman: Bruce Wayne - Fugitive, Vol. 1
Author: Devin Grayson, Ed Brubaker, Chuck Dixon, Kelley Puckett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 6/16/2008


One of Batman's greatest stories ever.


Beware the God Who Smiles
Beware the God Who Smiles
Author: Larry Townsend
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/11/2009
Helpful Score: 1


No good. Absolutely no plot or characterization. Lame sex scenes. Pointless, totally pointless. Don't waste your time.


Friday Night in Beast House
Friday Night in Beast House
Author: Richard Laymon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 3/13/2010


This is NOT one of Richard Laymon's best books.
If you've read the rest of Laymon's Beast House series you'll want to read it just to complete the series. However, at only 141 pages it's only novella length and doesn't even get close to the deep plot of the earlier Beast House books.
I wouldn't recommend this book for anyone who doesn't already love Richard Laymon.
The accompanying novella The Wilds is decent, closer to Laymon's other works.


From the Corner of His Eye
From the Corner of His Eye
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 498
Review Date: 2/11/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I guess, according to the reviews, that I am one of the few who doesn't like this book. I thought the story dragged on, and on, and on. Too many pages of not a lot of action and then an ending that just went flat. Koontz had some very cool ideas here, but it wasn't executed very well.


The Good Thief
The Good Thief
Author: James Buchanan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 7/29/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Incredible story. I have been reading a lot of the gay fiction genre lately and this is one of the absolute best. Well-written plot, well developed characters, realistic romantic issues and hot sex scenes. I definetly recommend this book for all fans of gay fiction.


Perfect Nightmare
Perfect Nightmare
Author: John Saul
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 193
Review Date: 12/17/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I really enjoyed this book. A very quick and easy read, well-created characters and a shocking plot twist that makes perfect sense.


Promises (Coda, Bk 1)
Promises (Coda, Bk 1)
Author: Marie Sexton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 1/12/2010
Helpful Score: 7


This story is simply amazing. The main characters are very realistic and easy to identify with, but the supporting characters are just as interesting and life-like.

The author uses very true to life situations in the course of the story and there isn't a false note to be found.

The love story between Matt and Jared is incredible. Their chemistry is explosive from the very beginning and my heart broke when I thought maybe it wasn't going to work out between them.

The sex scenes sizzle, but are tastefully done without being pornographic.

A true five stars and an A plus for this first time author. I am sure she will have many more wonderful books in the future.

Recommended for anyone who loves romance and the m/m genre!!


The Quickie
The Quickie
Author: Michael Ledwidge, James Patterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 327
Review Date: 4/7/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Definetly NOT my favorite James Patterson book. The characters didn't seem very fleshed out to me at all, they all seemed kind of like cardboard characters. They just didn't seem real. The story didn't flow almost like it was written without knowing how it was going to end. Patterson tried to throw in his usual surprises, but nothing surprised me, I saw everything coming.
If you are a diehard Patterson fan you will want to read it just because he wrote it. However, this isn't the book for a first time Patterson reader.


Step on a Crack (Michael Bennett, Bk 1)
Step on a Crack (Michael Bennett, Bk 1)
Author: James Patterson, Michael Ledwidge
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 412
Review Date: 3/30/2009
Helpful Score: 4


Incredible story. Patterson creates another memorable character with Michael Bennett, father of ten children. The story experly balances the action with the emotional parts of Michael's life. An original plot with well-depicted characters and a shocking ending. Highly recommended!!


A to Z (Coda, Bk 2)
A to Z (Coda, Bk 2)
Author: Marie Sexton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 3/13/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I think A to Z is even better than the author's first book, Promises. Zach and Ang are incredible characters. They, and the trouble they face, are realistic.
If you liked Promises, and I don't know how you couldn't, you will love A to Z. Matt and Jared from Promises appear in this book. But you don't have to read Promises to enjoy this book.
Great plot, great romance, great men, great sex. What more can you ask for?
A+. Highly recommended.


Twilight (Twilight, Bk 1)
Twilight (Twilight, Bk 1)
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 1261
Review Date: 3/17/2009
Helpful Score: 9


I can't believe how much I enjoyed this book. It was recommended to me, so I decided to give it a try, not really thinking I would like it. It caught me almost right away and I hated having to put it down. I am looking forward to getting the rest of the series. I haven't seen the movie so I can't compare it to that. If you haven't read this book, I highly recommend it. There are different genres all mixed in. It has the vampire part of the story, but not too much into the mythology and legends of the blood suckers. A different look at vampires. It also has a young, teen romance, but no where near too much focus on the lovey dovey thing.


1 to 12 of 12