Joan W. (justreadingabook) - Reviews

21 to 40 of 1437 - Page:
After The Ending (The Ending Series) (Volume 1)
After The Ending (The Ending Series) (Volume 1)
Author: Lindsey Fairleigh, Lindsey Pogue
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/4/2014


This was a pleasant surprise for me, I usually don't read end of the world Sci-Fi type books. The story grabs your attention right from the beginning,characters are developed well and the pace is very intense. Multiply storylines going within the main thread makes for great tension, suspense and keeping your ideas going. Had to purchase the second book since this was a great read.


Again the Magic (Wallflowers, Prequel)
Again the Magic (Wallflowers, Prequel)
Author: Lisa Kleypas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 486
Review Date: 2/2/2012


Really enjoyed this storyline and the characters. A great read.


Ain't She Sweet?
Ain't She Sweet?
Author: Susan Elizabeth Phillips
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 296
Review Date: 1/25/2011


I really enjoyed this book, it had a wonderful storyline with a very strong woman who is making something of herself even in the worst of times. Makes you laugh out loud at her southern sass.


Ain't She Sweet? (Audio Cassette) (Unabridged)
Ain't She Sweet? (Audio Cassette) (Unabridged)
Author: Susan Elizabeth Phillips, Kate Flemming
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 2/25/2010


Love this book, great strong women and a really hard situation. Shows that you can go home and make things right and better. The sparks and humor throught this story really makes this a fun read and re-read. Great book for the beach or a rainy day.


The Alchemist
The Alchemist
Author: Paulo Coelho, Alan R. Clarke (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 752
Review Date: 7/26/2011


This is a wonderful book. A story for those who are willing to seek and find the beauty in everyday life and the changes that go with that life. You will appreciate the trials and successes of the characters and even relate to the process they go through to find beauty and peace in life. A excellent read.


The Alchemist's Daughter
The Alchemist's Daughter
Author: Katharine McMahon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 10/15/2012


This was a interesting book since I didn't really understand what a Alchemist was. The story was well done and abit frustrating sometimes but it all comes together towards the end of the book. Why you get frustrated with the main character has a reason. Very interesting.


Alice I Have Been
Alice I Have Been
Author: Melanie Benjamin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 2/2/2016


Wow, ah not sure what I want to say about this book. I am sure you have read other reviews as I have so here is my take on the book.
Story is very interesting in learning the details of the writing of AIW, while reading I was prompted to learn more about CL and checked out the internet for his pictures etc.
I think the relationship between them is odd and it would have appeared the same to others in that timeframe also, men who are "more comfortable" around children especially little girls is always going to raise a red flag. Photographing them and other little girls was just creepy.
I was abit annoyed at Alice and how she came across as very self serving, high handed and abit bitchy. Sorry for the language.
The story is a bit slower than I liked but was very engrossing in detail and development of characters and history of the making of AIW.
I was constantly reminding myself that this was fiction but the details of most of the story were fact. This book will stay with you and will make you think long after you have finished the last page.


The Alienist
The Alienist
Author: Caleb Carr
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 543
Review Date: 3/9/2018


Excellent story, starts of slowly but builds and continues the suspense throughout the book, very well developed characters, you learn more about them as the story unfolds.
Gives a great visual of NY City and the ugliness that could be found there.
Lots of wonderful history and background information on the workings of the police dept. in NY and how change is always struggle for those in power.


All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Kindergarten: Uncommon Thoughts on Common Things
Review Date: 9/2/2011


A fun read.


All I Want for Christmas Is...: Letters from Santa's Mailbag
All I Want for Christmas Is...: Letters from Santa's Mailbag
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 2/25/2010


Super fun book to read at one setting or a letter or two a day. Will make you smile, laugh, remember and think of what you can do. Great for kids and grown-ups! Don't miss for the holiday season.


All That Remains (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 3)
All That Remains (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 3)
Author: Patricia Cornwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 533
Review Date: 2/15/2011


One of my favorite stories in the Scarpetta series, excellent story with lots of information, twists and turns and a great finish. You gotta read these if you love a great book.


All the Light We Cannot See
All the Light We Cannot See
Author: Anthony Doerr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 6/22/2015
Helpful Score: 1


What an amazingly simple yet complex story told in two voice that connect the reader and the characters together. This book was smooth and I mean that it does not have a fast paced plot or twists and turns. It continues on as life in that time did. You experience life and as they do, hope for all the best it has to offer. Beautiful writing, wonderful characters and strength. A must read.


All Those Things We Never Said
All Those Things We Never Said
Author: Marc Levy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/13/2017


I have to say I honestly tried to like and enjoy this book. The main characters were very angry, bitter and argumentative all the time.
It was an interesting idea of how to give love ones extra time with someone who has passed.
The story bounced around too much, instead of giving bits of background on the characters, you would get half a chapter of it making it hard to go back to the story.
I found it hard to believe in the characters and how they were acting to each other and those who were suppose to be important in their lives, I mean who says no I hate my father so much that I won't be his heir even though I am struggling in life? There were too many flip flopping emotions and actions by the characters for me and it wasn't an enjoyable read.


All Through the Night (Holiday Classics)
All Through the Night (Holiday Classics)
Author: Mary Higgins Clark
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 152
Review Date: 9/30/2010


A good read for those who enjoy MHC books.


Allegiant (Divergent, Bk 3)
Allegiant (Divergent, Bk 3)
Author: Veronica Roth
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 229
Review Date: 7/8/2015


OK, this book had a completely different voice to it and really can throw you off after reading the first two. Why the author would change to that style is beyond me. She now writes from the main characters point of view which is weird. Story picks up right where it left off, couple of twists but still pretty predictable in the outcome. Good trilogy, fun read.


Almost a Gentleman
Almost a Gentleman
Author: Pam Rosenthal
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 11/10/2012


I really liked this book for the great storyline and the development of the characters. It would have been nice to know alittle more about Phoebe in the beginning but if you have read any HR you can piece together the reasons she has. The end of the book seemed rushed to get in all the sex they could and after a while it was like seriously. Still the book was interesting, great details and development.


Along Came a Duke (Rhymes with Love, Bk 1)
Along Came a Duke (Rhymes with Love, Bk 1)
Author: Elizabeth Boyle
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 75
Review Date: 2/18/2014


I can somewhat relate to some of the reviews posted. I did like the storyline, the rake of a duke was abit over the top for HR BUT I felt that what he did and said was something a lot of guys wanted to say. It did show how mean and deceiving family could be just to have a better standing in the ton and more money. I liked the banter between them. I hope that is really the way they would speak to each other when familiar. A good read.


Altered: Art Projects
Altered: Art Projects
Author: Jill Haglund
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/17/2012


What a wonderful book showing many different ideas to make altered art. This is a good book for those who want to get into it and need a jumping off point and also for those who want to try a new technique/project. Lots of wonderful eye candy to enjoy. A good book for your craft library.


Altered Books Workshop: 18 Creative Techniques for Self-Expression
Altered Books Workshop: 18 Creative Techniques for Self-Expression
Author: Bev Brazelton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 3/15/2011


Excellent book for those who are just starting to make altred books and lots of great ideas for those who want to expand and try some different ways to alter. A great reference book to have on hand.


Always a Scoundrel
Always a Scoundrel
Author: Suzanne Enoch
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 147
Review Date: 2/25/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Love her books, you will enjoy the setting, intrigue and the storyline. Great back and forth with the storyline and plot. Combines perfect sizzle and adventure. She does not disappoint with her books. Great read.


21 to 40 of 1437 - Page: