Mark P. (MarkKawika) - Reviews

1 to 15 of 15
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 3674
Review Date: 1/5/2006


The "prequel" to _The DaVinci Code_ is also a really good read. Totally worth it.


Baldur's Gate
Baldur's Gate
Author: Philip Athans
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 1/5/2006


A fairly standard-fare fantasy. Nothing special. The thing that most disappointed me was that Minsc and Boo were nowhere to be found.


Bimbos of the Death Sun (Windwalker Book)
Bimbos of the Death Sun (Windwalker Book)
Author: Sharyn McCrumb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 10/30/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Amusing take on GenCon (which I've never been to). I'm not sure I want to go based on this. The auther seems to know her geeks well.


The Cobra Event
The Cobra Event
Author: Richard Preston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 220
Review Date: 3/31/2006


A very exciting book. Well worth the read.


Crewel Lye: A Caustic Yarn (Xanth, Bk 8)
Crewel Lye: A Caustic Yarn (Xanth, Bk 8)
Author: Piers Anthony
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 174
Review Date: 1/5/2006


Typical Xanth. If you enjoy Xanth you know what you're getting.


Deception Point
Deception Point
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 1733
Review Date: 1/5/2006


An excellent thriller. Not quite up to par with The DaVinci Code, but excellent nonetheless.


Flashman (Flashman Papers, Bk 1)
Flashman (Flashman Papers, Bk 1)
Author: George MacDonald Fraser
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 3/30/2006


What a cad Flashy is. It's pretty fun to read, though there are parts that make me wince. And boy was it fascinating to learn about the First Afghan War.


Flowers in the Attic (Dollangagers, Bk 1)
Flowers in the Attic (Dollangagers, Bk 1)
Author: V. C. Andrews
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 7/5/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Not bad, but rather immaturely written. The language was very flowery, it reminded me a lot fo a romance novel (though I've only read a few of those). Seems like it could have taken half the number of pages to tell this story. But, then again, it's a classic, so who am I to complain?


The Genesis Code
The Genesis Code
Author: John Case
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 129
Review Date: 1/5/2006


Very enjoyable, though a bit formulaic. A quick read.


The Guns of August
The Guns of August
Author: Barbara W. Tuchman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/16/2006


An excellent example of a history book. Well written, interesting, and very educational. I learned mounds of information about the participants in the Great War, and enjoyed every minute of it.


Heaven's Reach (Uplift Storm, Bk 3) (Uplift, Bk 6)
Heaven's Reach (Uplift Storm, Bk 3) (Uplift, Bk 6)
Author: David Brin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 1/5/2006


David Brin is one of my favorite authors, and this book lives up to his high standards.


In the Garden of Iden (The Company, Bk 1)
In the Garden of Iden (The Company, Bk 1)
Author: Kage Baker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 3/30/2006


Pretty good sci-fi with a little too much "love" plot for my tastes. I'm told it gets better later in the series.


Notes on the Making of Apocalypse Now
Notes on the Making of Apocalypse Now
Author: Eleanor Coppola
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/30/2006


A pretty interesting diary about the making the Apocalypse Now. The ending left me wanting to know what happened to their lives next!


Sewer, Gas and Electric: The Public Works Trilogy
Sewer, Gas and Electric: The Public Works Trilogy
Author: Matt Ruff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 1/5/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Quite amusing. A quick read. The author has some very interesting ideas and the book is fun to read.


Sphere
Sphere
Author: Michael Crichton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 794
Review Date: 3/31/2006


Heck of a good thriller. Much better than the movie.


1 to 15 of 15