Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Melani D. (Sailorslady) - Reviews

21 to 40 of 51 - Page:
Larceny and Lace (Vintage Magic, Bk 2)
Larceny and Lace (Vintage Magic, Bk 2)
Author: Annette Blair
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 137
Review Date: 7/3/2011
Helpful Score: 4


This was a fun read, but only if you're not tired of women putting themselves in danger just because they need to figure everything out on their own. The main character's tendency to use sewing related words as exclamations in place of say, a real expletive seems entirely affected and hugely annoying.


Letting Go! (Wrong Bed!) (Harlequin Blaze, No 257)
Letting Go! (Wrong Bed!) (Harlequin Blaze, No 257)
Author: Mara Fox
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 11/22/2006


Fun read. I liked the characters a lot!


Locked In (Sharon McCone, Bk 27)
Locked In (Sharon McCone, Bk 27)
Author: Marcia Muller
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 11/18/2009
Helpful Score: 2


In the latest edition of Muller's Sharon McCone series, Muller seems to have outdone herself. I felt this was one of the best entries into this series to date. The reader gets to follow the trail of multiple investigations from the viewpoint of each of the people in McCone's life. Muller does an excellent job of letting the reader feel McCone's impotence and what drives both her and her investigators. I highly recommend this series!


Manhunt
Manhunt
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 705
Review Date: 11/2/2006


Fun read!


Marked (House of Night, Bk 1)
Marked (House of Night, Bk 1)
Author: Kristin Cast, P. C. Cast
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1192
Review Date: 8/23/2009


Interesting take on vampyres with a smattering of Cherokee mysticism and a healthy dose of witchcraft. Good start to a new series. I look forward to reading the other books in the series.


The Masque of the Black Tulip (Pink Carnation, Bk 2)
The Masque of the Black Tulip (Pink Carnation, Bk 2)
Author: Lauren Willig
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 183
Review Date: 1/25/2009
Helpful Score: 1


What an incredibly fun read! I love the story within a story aspect.


Murder on Astor Place (Gaslight, Bk 1)
Murder on Astor Place (Gaslight, Bk 1)
Author: Victoria Thompson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 227
Review Date: 2/14/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Well written mystery. The author did an excellent job of capturing the social aspect of the times. She made you want to know more about the characters, but not at the expense of moving the story along. I'll definitely read more of this series.


Murder on Lexington Avenue (Gaslight, Bk 12)
Murder on Lexington Avenue (Gaslight, Bk 12)
Author: Victoria Thompson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 6/19/2011


I love this series. I was thrilled when I discovered it and the fact that there were so many that I had yet to read. I'm almost up to date with reading it and I'm sad that I have to wait for future installments. Thompson does so a delightful job of weaving the details of the time period in with a well crafted story with characters that I'd love to sit and have a cup of tea with. I highly recommend this series!


Murder on Nob Hill (Sarah Woolson, Bk 1)
Murder on Nob Hill (Sarah Woolson, Bk 1)
Author: Shirley Tallman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 9/28/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Loved this book! The main character was enjoyable. The mystery was well written and kept my interest.


Murder on Washington Square (Gaslight, Bk 4)
Murder on Washington Square (Gaslight, Bk 4)
Author: Victoria Thompson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 164
Review Date: 2/8/2010


Another excellent installment in Thompson's Gaslight series. Thompson does such an excellent job of recreating the atmosphere of the times. Her character development draws you in. Each time a read one of these books, it's like visiting with old friends.


My Sister, Myself (Dead Ringer, Bk 1) (Harlequin Intrigue, No 923)
My Sister, Myself (Dead Ringer, Bk 1) (Harlequin Intrigue, No 923)
Author: Alice Sharpe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 11/22/2006


Well written mystery!


The Nerd Who Loved Me (Nerds, Bk 2)
The Nerd Who Loved Me (Nerds, Bk 2)
Author: Vicki Lewis Thompson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 112
Review Date: 10/10/2006


What a hoot this was to read!


Predator  (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 14)
Predator (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 14)
Author: Patricia Cornwell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 519
Review Date: 10/10/2006


MUCH better offering that her last two books! I really enjoyed this one.


The Scarpetta Factor (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 17)
The Scarpetta Factor (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 17)
Author: Patricia Cornwell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 198
Review Date: 2/14/2010


I swear, each new installment in the Scarpetta series reveals the characters to be even more twisted and depressing than the last. This book to me felt like Cornwell was floundering for a topic so she just rehashed old characters and dredged up old history. As I finished the book, it almost felt to me that she was preparing to wrap up loose ends and finish the series.

I keep picking up the latest book in this series, always in hopes that she'll return to writing the tight plots and intense stories and I keep being disappointed.


The Seduction of His Wife (Logger, Bk 1)
The Seduction of His Wife (Logger, Bk 1)
Author: Janet Chapman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 202
Review Date: 10/30/2006


Fun read!


Sex and the Psychic Witch (Triplet Witch, Bk 1)
Sex and the Psychic Witch (Triplet Witch, Bk 1)
Author: Annette Blair
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 280
Review Date: 2/6/2009


This is a great entry into a new series by Annette Blair. Thoroughly enjoyable reading!


Shakespeare's Landlord (Lily Bard, Bk 1)
Shakespeare's Landlord (Lily Bard, Bk 1)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 89
Review Date: 6/22/2006


Good read. Lily is a likeable character


Shattered
Shattered
Author: Dick Francis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 11/25/2006


True to Dick Francis' form - another tight written mystery that keeps you reading to the very end!


Silent In The Grave (Lady Julia Grey, Bk 1)
Silent In The Grave (Lady Julia Grey, Bk 1)
Author: Deanna Raybourn
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 183
Review Date: 9/30/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Delightfully well written mystery. The characters very well drawn and intriguing. Can wait to read more in this series.


Smitten (Elsie Hawkins, Bk 2)
Smitten (Elsie Hawkins, Bk 2)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 619
Review Date: 12/2/2006


Absolute fun to read!


21 to 40 of 51 - Page:
Want fewer ads?