Gloria C. (Gloria) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 40 - Page:
90 Minutes In Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life
90 Minutes In Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life
Author: Cecil Murphey, Don Piper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 874
Review Date: 11/27/2007


Most of this book is about the difficult recovery after Don Piper's terrible car wreck. His heavenly experience is covered in a couple of chapters. It's not particularly well written and is repetitive.


About a Boy
About a Boy
Author: Nick Hornby
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 254
Review Date: 2/18/2006


I enjoyed this book. It has some witty and off the wall humor in it. Worth the read.


An Unfinished Marriage
An Unfinished Marriage
Author: Joan Anderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 5/22/2006


I'm glad I read this but it I enjoyed her book, A Year By The Sea, so much more.


Case Histories (Jackson Brodie, Bk 1)
Case Histories (Jackson Brodie, Bk 1)
Author: Kate Atkinson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 550
Review Date: 2/12/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This book grabbed me right from the start. Interesting characters and great storylines and I couldn't wait to see how they intertwined. Well, somewhere in the last quarter of the book or so, things just got bizarre. Incidents happened out of the blue it seemed. Some things were not fully explained and the big mystery was a bit of a let down when exposed. I enjoyed it up until the end when it felt as if the author rushed to get finished.


Cats Eye
Cats Eye
Author: Margaret Atwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 2/16/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This is a story about how being bullied as a child shapes your life. The characters are richly developed and believable. We've all known an Elaine or Cordelia in our early years - or we've been one. Atwood is a wonderful story teller and at times her words are more poetry than prose. The ending was a bit of a let down for me. I kept waiting for the twist or big revelation to surface. Instead, it just sort of bubbled to the top.


The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Author: Mark Haddon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4421
Review Date: 4/24/2006


This book offers a thought provoking glimpse of an intelligent, autistic 15 year old and the people in his life. It deals with Christopher's struggles with his condition, as well as his parent's exasperated love.


The Devil in the White City: Murder, Magic, and Madness at the Fair that Changed America
Review Date: 1/22/2007


This book could get a bit tedious at times with all of the details, but I enjoyed it. Larsen really brought history to life for me. The numerous historical facts that originated with the Chicago World's Fair is so interesting. I found it amazing that so much was accomplished during this time period, especially given the ailments that most people had to contend with.


The Distance Between Us
The Distance Between Us
Author: Maggie O'Farrell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 8/27/2011


Like all of O'Farrell's books, The Distance Between Us, contains lots of interesting characters. She jumps a bit from story to story making it a bit difficult at first to keep straight who is who. This is a story of the bond between sisters, a love story and fate I guess. I enjoy O'Farrell's writing style, but the story was a little underwhelming.


The Doctor's Wife
The Doctor's Wife
Author: Elizabeth Brundage
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 668
Review Date: 12/6/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This was a pretty good story. I never really cared for any of the characters though and I wish she hadn't given away the killers identity so early.


Elsewhere
Elsewhere
Author: Gabrielle Zevin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 192
Review Date: 1/7/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This YA novel gives an entertaining look at the afterlife from the perspective of a fifteen year old girl. Interesting that it really has nothing to do with any particular religion or belief, but looks more at living life in the moment - wherever that moment happens to be.


For Women Only : What You Need to Know About the Inner Lives of Men
Review Date: 9/24/2006


A quick read with a few interesting points.


The Glass Castle
The Glass Castle
Author: Jeannette Walls
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3408
Review Date: 11/1/2006


I enjoyed reading this amazing memoir about a truly disfunctional and yet most loyal and loving, in their own way, family. A classic case for what doesn't kill you makes you stronger.


The Handmaid's Tale
The Handmaid's Tale
Author: Margaret Atwood
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 92
Review Date: 4/17/2006
Helpful Score: 2


This is a fascinating, futuristic story about life in the stronghold of a bizarre puritanical based government and the strong personal will to escape their rule. This was my first book by Atwood and I couldn't wait to pick it up each night.


The History of Love
The History of Love
Author: Nicole Krauss
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 494
Review Date: 11/27/2007
Helpful Score: 3


This was an interesting story about how love and an obscure book affected the lives of a very diverse group of people. It was a little confusing to follow in the beginning, got somewhat better in the middle but brought everything together for the reader in the end.


The Kitchen House
The Kitchen House
Author: Kathleen Grissom
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 400
Review Date: 11/10/2012


I enjoyed The Kitchen House. Interesting story about the intertwining of master/servant relationships in the old south. The characters were well developed and the story moved along smoothly.


The Lace Reader (Lace Reader, Bk 1)
The Lace Reader (Lace Reader, Bk 1)
Author: Brunonia Barry
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 225
Review Date: 5/11/2009


A wonderful book about a uniquely intuitive family living in modern day Salem, Mass. Mix that with a little mystery, insanity, love story and cults and you get a very interesting story.


Learning to Sing: Hearing the Music in Your Life
Learning to Sing: Hearing the Music in Your Life
Author: Clay Aiken, Allison Glock
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 11/14/2006


If you're a Clay Aiken fan you'll enjoy this quick to read memoir. His struggles with rejection and exclusion from his peers and his family make up the first portion of the book. He seems to have learned at a young age what is important to him and is consistently striving to stay on his true course. The book also includes some photos and a few favorite recipes. (I was raised in the south, but bean pie is a new one for me.)


Life of Pi
Life of Pi
Author: Yann Martel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3370
Review Date: 2/18/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Wow! What an original, thoughtful, disturbing and wonderful book. Don't let anyone tell you the ending.


Lying Awake
Lying Awake
Author: Mark Salzman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 3/7/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This was an interesting story of the struggle of faith in the lives of cloistered nuns. I'm glad I read it.


Man Walks Into a Room
Man Walks Into a Room
Author: Nicole Krauss
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 8/1/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Samson, a popular college professor, loses all memories after the age of twelve because of a benign brain tumor. This story revolves around how he and his wife cope with this loss. It explores how important memories are in shaping our life and making us who we are. It made me think about how amnesia, although usually portrayed in most fiction as an intriguing condition, would indeed be a rough road to take.


1 to 20 of 40 - Page: