Facebook
Want fewer ads?

Betty E. (betbru) - Reviews

1 to 9 of 9
Brain on Fire: My Month of Madness
Brain on Fire: My Month of Madness
Author: Susannah Cahalan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 6/23/2020


Fascinating account of a horrible disease. Fortunately the author was led in the direction of a very capable doctor. She also had a great support team making sure she had the best of care.


The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Author: Mark Haddon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4441
Review Date: 1/9/2013


I tried twice to read this book and just couldn't get into it. That is very unusual for me.


The Last Child
The Last Child
Author: John Hart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 11/19/2013


Excellent book! It kept me on edge until the end. I have now put orders in for his other books hoping they will do the same.


Locked In
Locked In
Author: Michael Esposito
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/9/2013


This is a bad case of a doctor trying to write a book. He either was writing way over my head or talking down to me. But, as always, that's just my opinion.


Off Season
Off Season
Author: Anne Rivers Siddons
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 78
Review Date: 1/9/2013


I will be passing this book along to a couple of friends befor posting it. This is the type of book that book clubs were made for! I can just hear the discussions!The worst part was finishing the book. I did shed a tear quietly. My husband tends to look at me strange when I'm reading and crying!


Saving Max
Saving Max
Author: Antoinette van Heugten
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 76
Review Date: 9/30/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I really had problems with the tense this book was written in. Also, I didn't feel conected with the characters. Now that I have that out of my system, the plot was good. The old cliche of "twists and turns" fits. I bought this book thinking it was going to be a 5-star. I can only give it a 3.5 because I was curious enough to finish it.


Shiver (New Orleans, Bk 4)
Shiver (New Orleans, Bk 4)
Author: Lisa Jackson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 468
Review Date: 2/4/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I really think she's done better! The big challenge in writing mysteries seems to. E to do it without the sex. These books are few and far between!


Still Alice
Still Alice
Author: Lisa Genova
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 459
Review Date: 1/9/2013


I read this book once before trying to understand dementia. Now, my Mom has been diagnosed and I picked it back up to re-read for a new understanding. The author has the knowledge and the ability to present this disease in a format I can understand.Excellent work!


Those Girls
Those Girls
Author: Chevy Stevens
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 10/23/2016


I really couldn't put this book down!


1 to 9 of 9
Want fewer ads?