Terri K. (blondie1000) - Reviews

1 to 12 of 12
Anansi Boys
Anansi Boys
Author: Neil Gaiman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 512
Review Date: 6/3/2012


Very creative, well weaved story. This would make a fun movie.


Review Date: 10/1/2014


Fun Read. It gets a little long but it is an enjoyable read.


Confessions of a Shopaholic (Shopaholic, Bk 1)
Confessions of a Shopaholic (Shopaholic, Bk 1)
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 336
Review Date: 1/29/2011


Delightful, fun, easy read. I found myself laughing out loud.


Flyy Girl
Flyy Girl
Author: Omar Tyree
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 3/10/2012


Book is written well though it is a bit racist.


Girl In Translation
Girl In Translation
Author: Jean Kwok
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/22/2011


Easy read written beautifully. I loved the flow of the words.


The Good Daughters
The Good Daughters
Author: Joyce Maynard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 12/2/2014
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoyed this beautifully written novel that chronicles the lives of Ruth and Dana "birth sisters". Two women that look nothing alike, that share no interests but yet are linked together for a reason unbeknownst to them. Joyce Maynard does a wonderful job of bringing each character to life and making the reader interested in hearing their story. Luanne Rice, author of 'The Deep Blue Sea for Beginners' writes "the gentle rhythms of rural life,... characters who exist so completely... Joyce Maynard draws me into the world of The Good Daughters, weaves a story of choices and events so intimate I felt I was part of it." I agree with her statement 100%.


MWF Seeking BFF: My Yearlong Search for a New Best Friend
MWF Seeking BFF: My Yearlong Search for a New Best Friend
Author: Rachel Bertsche
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 2/18/2017


Interesting read with several facts on benefits of having friends interwoven into Rachel Bertsche's search for a BFF. The book gets a bit repetitive. How much can a person say about each and every "girl" date they go on and why seeking a BFF doesn't just happen. I would have really enjoyed it had the book been about 75 pages fewer


Real Vampires Have Curves (Real Vampires, Bk 1)
Real Vampires Have Curves (Real Vampires, Bk 1)
Author: Gerry Bartlett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 130
Review Date: 10/3/2012


Solid, fun, fluff book.


Sharp Objects: A Novel
Sharp Objects: A Novel
Author: Gillian Flynn
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 4/28/2014


This is the third Gillian Flynn novel I have read. To date, I liked this one best. I am drawn to the darkness that Flynn's novels typically have and I like the words she uses to build a story. They bring the voice of the story alive. What I don't like are her endings; they tend to border on absurd. This one didn't have a great ending but it was less bizarre than her other novels.


Silver Sparrow
Silver Sparrow
Author: Tayari Jones
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 8/26/2015


Loved this book. James is a bigamist. The story is about his deception, his second wife's agreement to the deception and how it affects his two daughters that are caught in the middle.


Stalking Susan (Riley Spartz, Bk 1)
Stalking Susan (Riley Spartz, Bk 1)
Author: Julie Kramer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 6/2/2016


Fun read that has a style similar to Sophia Kinsella.


Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail
Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail
Author: Cheryl Strayed
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 210
Review Date: 11/9/2014
Helpful Score: 3


Well written story that felt very earnest and forthcoming. Cheryl Strayed shared details of her life that I wouldn't have wanted to share but it was her openness about her past and the deep love she has for her mother that make me like her. I found Cheryl's courage motivational. The book did go on a bit too long for my taste. I wish there was the ability to give 1/2 stars as I would rate it a 3 1/2 star book.


1 to 12 of 12