Facebook

Emily W. - Reviews

1 to 17 of 17
The 21 Lessons of Merlyn: A Study in Druid Magic and Lore
The 21 Lessons of Merlyn: A Study in Druid Magic and Lore
Author: Douglas Monroe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 6/18/2011
Helpful Score: 4


I would recommend avoiding not only this book but this author. All of his writing just seems to inform the reader of how wonderful the author believes himself to be and how you, the reader, ought to appreciate his efforts. I found no redeeming value in the book nor appreciation of the author at all.


The Angel Experiment (Maximum Ride, Bk 1)
The Angel Experiment (Maximum Ride, Bk 1)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 184
Review Date: 1/6/2010
Helpful Score: 3


The Angel Experiment starts out feeling choppy but gets better quickly. A good easy read. Appropriate for older children and adults. Worth reading.


Chill Factor (Weather Warden, Bk 3)
Chill Factor (Weather Warden, Bk 3)
Author: Rachel Caine
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 276
Review Date: 10/8/2006


Book three of the Weather Warden series. Fast paced. Good read.


The Darkest Day (Mithgar: Iron Tower, Bk 3)
The Darkest Day (Mithgar: Iron Tower, Bk 3)
Author: Dennis L. McKiernan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 11/12/2006


Book 3 of the series


The Dragons of the Cuyahoga (Cleveland Portal, Bk 1)
The Dragons of the Cuyahoga (Cleveland Portal, Bk 1)
Author: S. Andrew Swann
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 12/25/2006


Pretty good fantasy set in modern times. The fantasy is combined with elements of political intrique and a whodunit murder mystery. Interesting and different.


Eleven on Top (Stephanie Plum, Bk 11)
Eleven on Top (Stephanie Plum, Bk 11)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1216
Review Date: 11/11/2006


Like all the Stephanie, a fast and funny read.


Firestorm (Weather Warden, Bk 5)
Firestorm (Weather Warden, Bk 5)
Author: Rachel Caine
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 196
Review Date: 10/14/2006
Helpful Score: 3


Fast read, lots of action. Great book if you want something simple easy and entertaining.


The Frog, the Wizard, and the Shrew
The Frog, the Wizard, and the Shrew
Author: Maryann Myers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/25/2012


The author's unusual 'voice' struck a chord with me. This book was quirky and lovely and was a wonderful read. The characters, especially Anne Marie and Miss Colorado were warm and interesting. I could not put the book down because of those characters. I definitely recommend this book, particularly if you are looking for something a bit different.


Heat Stroke (Weather Warden, Bk 2)
Heat Stroke (Weather Warden, Bk 2)
Author: Rachel Caine
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 330
Review Date: 10/8/2006


This is the second book of the Weather Warden series. Also a very good read. Fast paced. Good strong characters.


How to Eat Fried Worms
How to Eat Fried Worms
Author: Thomas Rockwell, Emily Arnold McCully (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 89
Review Date: 4/4/2018


My children loved this book in the 80's and my grandchildren love it now! Funny and quirky.


Ill Wind (Weather Warden, Bk 1)
Ill Wind (Weather Warden, Bk 1)
Author: Rachel Caine
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 520
Review Date: 10/8/2006
Helpful Score: 7


Very different to a lot of the fantasy genre out there now. Set in our modern world rather than a fantasy realm. It is a fast read with strong characters. I enjoyed the book very much.


The Silmarillion
The Silmarillion
Author: J. R. R. Tolkien
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 388
Review Date: 10/8/2006


THE Tolkien reading compainion.


The Speed of Dark
The Speed of Dark
Author: Elizabeth Moon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 3/9/2015
Helpful Score: 1


Excellent book. Well written and insightful. It gives you a good perspective into how autistic people perceive things and how they feel. I thoroughly enjoyed every page.


Sunshine
Sunshine
Author: Robin McKinley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 412
Review Date: 11/11/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Neil Gaiman's review said "Pretty much perfect." and I agree throughly!! Great read!


The Tea Companion: A Connoisseur's Guide (Connoisseur's Guides)
The Tea Companion: A Connoisseur's Guide (Connoisseur's Guides)
Author: Jane Pettigrew
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/23/2017


Very informative on the history of tea and how tea is processed. A lovely book for anyone who is a tea lover or curious about tea. This book explains it all from what makes each variety unique to how tea is grown.


Ten Big Ones (Stephanie Plum, Bk 10)
Ten Big Ones (Stephanie Plum, Bk 10)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 1025
Review Date: 11/11/2006


Like all the Stephanie, a fast and funny read.


Windfall (Weather Warden, Bk 4)
Windfall (Weather Warden, Bk 4)
Author: Rachel Caine
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 203
Review Date: 10/8/2006


Book four of the Weather Warden series. Good read. Fast paced with strong characters.


1 to 17 of 17