Diana S. (dianaschirmer) - Reviews

1 to 8 of 8
The Fountainhead
The Fountainhead
Author: Ayn Rand
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 6/20/2011


It seems it is possible to enjoy someone's work if you wouldn't enjoy his/her company. I love the philosophy Rand presents here. Inspiring, bold, brilliant. The characters are memorable; Rand brings philosophy to life and makes it accessible. Plus, it's a great story with one of the world's best, most visual endings. Gives me chills every time I read it (and yes, despite its bulk, I read it about once a year). Worth it.


The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Millennium, Bk 1)
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Millennium, Bk 1)
Author: Stieg Larsson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 2083
Review Date: 6/20/2011


I've tried this one three times. Perhaps the story surrounding the series is more intriguing. I think for this book, the movies will have to suffice.


Grammar Girl's Quick and Dirty Tips for Better Writing
Grammar Girl's Quick and Dirty Tips for Better Writing
Author: Mignon Fogarty
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 1/28/2011
Helpful Score: 2


Fogarty explains away the mystique of grammar. I use it in my college ENGL 101 classroom and frequently overhear students comment: "I didn't know grammar was this easy." Plus, her name alone is a selling point. Fun and informative, light-hearted and timely.


The Hunger Games (Hunger Games, Bk 1)
The Hunger Games (Hunger Games, Bk 1)
Author: Suzanne Collins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2295
Review Date: 6/20/2011


I didn't *hate* Twilight, but this series gives modern girls a better feminist figure to follow. I'm a huge fan of dystopian fiction and think Collins does it well (no YA/teen author can beat The Giver).

The second and third books seem to have too much crammed into them, but this one is well paced and fun. Looking forward to the movie!


The Kite Runner
The Kite Runner
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5712
Review Date: 6/20/2011


A somewhat readable book, but nothing great. Good books and stories stick with a person--get into his/her brain and refuses to quit. I forgot this story the minute it ended. I really wanted to like it. Sorry.


Life of Pi
Life of Pi
Author: Yann Martel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3372
Review Date: 1/28/2011


Slow going in the first few chapters, but the twist in the last two pages makes it ALL worth it. Stunning--in the hammer-between-the-eyes, I-see-birdies sense.


Lucky
Lucky
Author: Alice Sebold
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 1359
Review Date: 1/28/2011


I tried reading this three times and just can't get past the brutal first scene. It takes guts to write a book like this--I wish I had enough to finish it.


The New York Trilogy: City of Glass / Ghosts / The Locked Room
The New York Trilogy: City of Glass / Ghosts / The Locked Room
Author: Paul Auster
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 6/20/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I would posit that this book (at least the first segment) is an amazing, thought-provoking twist to the typical mystery. Unpredictable with a driving but not over-driven element of ambiguity. This isn't a Who-Done-It, it's a What-Does-It-All-Mean. Much more fun and reverberating.


1 to 8 of 8