Gina S. (gina329) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 28 - Page:
Agents of the Apocalypse: A Riveting Look at the Key Players of the End Times
Review Date: 2/14/2016


I thought this book was very well written. Because of the way it was written I was better able to understand so many things I was previously confused about. It was a tremendous help to me to have the chapters presented the way they were- first as a fictional story, then the scripture to compare with it and explain it. The use of the fictional story also helped to hold my interest in the book, and make it more real to me. Let's face it, the book of Revelation is complicated one and many books on the subject can leave me more confused and frustrated than when I started. Not so with this one. I learned a great deal from this book, and look forward to reading more on the subject by Dr. Jeremiah. If you're seeking a better understanding of the end times and the sequence of events, I'd highly recommend reading this.


All For One
All For One
Author: Ryne Douglas Pearson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/16/2014


I enjoyed this book. Even though I had things figured out from the beginning the author did a good job creating enough suspense to make me sometimes second guess myself. The story's focus is on the murder of a school bully and how the bullied students and their exceptional teacher band together to protect one another. Unfortunately, while everyone is so busy protecting one another, everyone ends up a victim. It left me questioning a couple of things at the end, but I thought it was a good storyline that kept me turning pages.


Before I Go To Sleep
Before I Go To Sleep
Author: S. J. Watson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 192
Review Date: 1/16/2014


Obviously, a lot of people liked this book, so I guess I'm in the minority on this one. And, I have to admit it isn't a bad book. I gave it a low score because I found it to be very repetitive and quite predictable. After all the hype, I was just a little disappointed.


Blood Memory (Mississippi, Bk 5)
Blood Memory (Mississippi, Bk 5)
Author: Greg Iles
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 120
Review Date: 1/24/2014
Helpful Score: 2


I could not put this book down! I was totally engrossed from start to finish! Yeah, it probably could've stood to be summed up about 100 pages sooner, but it didn't really hinder my enjoyment of the book. The subject matter of childhood sexual abuse and repressed memories is dark, and deeply disturbing, but the storyline is such that you can't help but be sucked in.
The main character, Cat, was a seriously damaged soul and a psychological mess. But, the author did an incredible job of delving into her heart and mind and making you care about her and the problems she faced. It was easy to feel her pain and her desperation for answers concerning her past. A great example of what good character development should be! It's mind boggling to me that this character was written by a man! I was amazed at the depth to which he took the character and addressed certain other issues. Given the scope of her flaws, it was appreciated that she wasn't portrayed as weak and helpless or over-extended to superwoman status. There were other characters like Pearlie and Luke who were also equally intriguing.
While certain parts were pretty predictable, Iles is a master storyteller and it didn't detract much from the story. The fact that it was a two-layered mystery with Cat also assisting the police and FBI in solving a series of murders kept the story balanced and more interesting. It certainly helped that there was a steady flow of action and enough twists and turns to keep me wondering what would happen next!
Iles is a favorite author of mine, and while I haven't read all of his books, each one leaves me eagerly looking for the next one


The Book of Night Women
The Book of Night Women
Author: Marlon James
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 1/16/2014


Aside from the vulgar and crude language of the book, I enjoyed it. The Jamaican dialect took some getting used to, but the story itself kept me enthralled. I couldn't stop reading until I learned the fate of Lilith, and how the story would end. Interesting book.


The Bungalow
The Bungalow
Author: Sarah Jio
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 1/16/2014
Helpful Score: 1


I absolutely loved this book! It was a heart wrenching, but very touching love story. I'm not a romance reader, but this one worked fine for me. The setting is Bora Bora, so right away I was interested. Add to that, the story of best friends joining the war effort in the Pacific as nurses, a murder, and all the life changing events they experience, and I was hooked.
The writing flowed easily and at a timely pace which is always a plus. There's enough intrigue to keep you wondering, but the murder itself wasn't much of a mystery. I felt there were a couple of weak spots and not quite believeable coincidences, but overall it certainly didn't stop it from being an exceptional read. It's one of those books that evokes a range of different emotions, with an ending that leaves an impression and makes you want to sit and absorb it all for a little while. This book definitely turned out to be as good as the ratings and everyone claimed it to be!


Cut to the Bone (Body Farm, Bk 8)
Cut to the Bone (Body Farm, Bk 8)
Author: Jefferson Bass
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 1/28/2014


It took me over 50 pages to get into this book, and it still wasn't much of a page turner. Some parts grabbed me and got my attention, but it never seemed to last long. Given the setting was the beginning development of the famous Body Farm, there was plenty of gory descriptions. In fact, I feel like there was an over abundance of unnecessary descriptions about nearby places such as the football stadium and how long it took to get there, and other lengthy bits about landscape, etc. I ended up doing a good bit of scanning. Also, if you're like me and have a phobia of snakes, you won't like the couple of scenes where one is involved. A huge turn off for me, especially near the end with a very unnecessary death. I almost quit the book in the beginning when it described the snake eating a rabbit. I was totally repulsed! So, if you're an animal lover, but not a fan of snakes...skip it.
I wasn't overly impressed with the characters, although I did like Jenny, the young artist that helped with sketches. The only other character that stood out was one of the "lucky" victims, Janelle.


Every Secret Thing
Every Secret Thing
Author: Susanna Kearsley (aka Emma Cole)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 1/16/2014


This book will probably be one of those books that lingers in my mind for a little while. It was beautiful, touching, and sadly haunting. There was suspense, adventure, and a love story at the core of this book. I was intrigued from the beginning as to where this story would go, and it kept me guessing to the very end. While some things were rather obvious, and sometimes a little coincidental, it didn't take away much from the overall story. My only complaint is that it felt a little too drawn out. It was very well written, but I'm not fond of lots of descriptive details and had that been eliminated I think I would have enjoyed it more. The story itself was quite captivating, though. I've always had an interest in WWII, and I learned things I wasn't aware of from this book. I enjoyed the transitions from past to present, and was totally enamored with the character and story of Andrew Deacon.


Henry's Sisters
Henry's Sisters
Author: Cathy Lamb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 89
Review Date: 12/31/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I have to admit I was a little put off by the first several pages, but I'm so glad I stuck with it! It was a wonderful book that tapped into many different emotions. I loved the quirky, diverse characters, the bond they felt to one another, and their undying devotion to Henry which forces them all on a journey they never wanted to take. Watching the characters grow and evolve through good and bad was touching. Grandma was a hoot, and Henry will steal your heart! I enjoyed many laughs, a few tears, but overall a heartwarming and touching novel. This one will definitely go down as a favorite on my list!


In the Blood: A Novel
In the Blood: A Novel
Author: Lisa Unger
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 1/12/2015


I've been looking for a good psychological thriller, and this one definitely fits the bill! I love that it kept me guessing throughout the whole book! It has all the ingredients of a good psychological thriller- characters that are dark and sinister, eerie mind games, consistent suspense,and an overall creepy atmosphere. Each time I put the book down I couldn't wait until I could pick it up again! I look forward to reading more books by this author!


The Kite Runner
The Kite Runner
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5710
Review Date: 1/16/2014


I liked this book, and it opened up a whole range of emotions for me. It wasn't an easy read for me because of the frustration, anger, and heartbreak it evoked. The core of it all delves into our human nature where jealousy, loyalty, betrayal, honesty, and the need for acceptance exists.

As a person that doesn't have much knowledge of Afghanistan and its culture, it was fairly interesting to get a glimpse into that world. However, at times, because of that, it made for a slower read for me. I found myself getting tripped up on the addition of a foreign language so that things didn't flow as smoothly as I'd have liked. But, I suppose in a way it did add to the "atmosphere" of the story and make you feel that you were there.
As for the storyline, there were a couple of surprising twists I didn't see coming, but toward the end it became quite predictable.

I felt the characters were well developed which always adds a deeper experience with the book. The character of Hassan continuously tugged at my heart, and I struggled with the heartbreak I felt for him. As always, I was pulling for the underdog, and he will remain one of those characters that sticks with me for a long time.
For most of the book I didn't care for the main character, Amir. His cowardice, among other things, was truly hard to accept. In his defense, he did however always seem to be aware of his profound wrong doings and weaknesses, with a conscience to feel guilt. I suppose you could label this book as a brutally honest look at the very human, seriously flawed people that we are sometimes, and the mistakes we make that impact us and others the rest of our lives. But, where there are mistakes, guilt and regrets, there is also a chance for redemption and forgiveness; and that's what this book is about.


Me and Emma
Me and Emma
Author: Elizabeth Flock
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 1/16/2014


This was a fast read for me, because I simply couldn't put it down! It's one of the few books that I can honestly say really made me sit back at the end and say, Wow! Maybe other readers were more perceptive, but I never saw it coming. Hopefully you will have the same experience :)


The Memory Thief
The Memory Thief
Author: Rachel Keener
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 1/16/2014


I can't really put my finger on what it was about this book, but it just didn't grab me. It's not a bad book by any means because I enjoyed the author's style and depth of writing. The characters of Hannah and Angel were well developed and the alternating perspectives of the two was complimentary to the story and kept it interesting. However, it was easy to figure out where the story was going long before you got there. That's not necessarily a bad thing if there's enough in between to make it worth your while, but I eventually lost interest. I wouldn't NOT recommend this book, but I enjoyed the author's other book, The Killing Tree, much better.


Never Saw It Coming
Never Saw It Coming
Author: Linwood Barclay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 1/16/2014
Helpful Score: 1


A quick, fun read with lots of twists and turns! I liked the fast pace and the straight to the point style of writing without all the extra fluff.


The One I Left Behind
The One I Left Behind
Author: Jennifer McMahon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 1/16/2014


If you're looking for a good "whodunit", try this one. What made this book so captivating for me was the fact that almost anyone could have been the murderer. I couldn't rest until I figured out who it was! At times I thought things could have moved along a little faster, but all in all, the story was well told. The character I at one point thought was the killer I think would have been better than who it actually turned out to be, but oh well. This won't be the last book I read by McMahon :)


The Orchardist
The Orchardist
Author: Amanda Coplin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 1/16/2014
Helpful Score: 2


After reading this book I felt like I'd been on a long, dark, painfully slow and uneventful journey that took me nowhere. I hesitate to give it less than 3 stars simply because at times I did enjoy the book and had the feeling it was going to be a memorable story. As it turns out, by the halfway point I was bored and quickly becoming uninterested. On a positive note, I thought the author had a beautiful style of writing and a lovely way with words. However, I did find it somewhat overly descriptive, and the lack of quotation marks when a character spoke was annoying.
Probably the biggest issue I had with the book was the lack of connection to the characters. There was very little verbal exchange between the characters and not enough character development to feel like I "knew" them. Without these things it's hard for me to care about them or what happens to them.
Other reviewers have mentioned that it is slow paced. It is. I also quickly tired of the detailed, mundane, repetitiveness of the day to day life. That, combined with my frustration with the characters and the absence of any significant happenings had me closing the book several times. I was sadly disappointed in this book and actually had to force myself to finish it.(less


Paper Towns
Paper Towns
Author: John Green
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 124
Review Date: 1/16/2014


It started off good, and I was actually liking it, but the storyline just didn't hold my interest. Ended up skipping and scanning just to finish it to see how it ended. Not impressed with the ending.


Pay It Forward
Pay It Forward
Author: Catherine Ryan Hyde
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 1/16/2014


Great book! Very inspiring.


Room
Room
Author: Emma Donoghue
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 450
Review Date: 1/16/2014


I was a little slow getting into this book, but once I did I couldn't put it down! I loved the beautiful portrayal of the bond between mother and child. I thought the author did a good job with the story, especially the creativity she used in describing the day to day life for two people in one small room for such a long time. Even more interesting was seeing the whole situation unfold through the eyes of a child! Good read!


Same Kind of Different As Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together
Review Date: 6/30/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I thoroughly enjoyed this book! It's a powerful story of unconditional love, acceptance and true friendship, and how those things can change lives. I found it to be very inspirational, and I loved that it was told through the eyes of two people rather than just one. Because of that, I think it made more of an impact. This was an extremely touching book to me, it's rare for me to cry when I read a book, no matter how emotional it may be for me, but this one definitely had me misty eyed. Certain parts actually gave me goosebumps! This is one of those books that I intend to pass around to my friends and family. I even got an extra copy to keep for myself. When I run across a book like this that reaches out and touches me to the point that I want to strive harder to be a better person, I deem it necessary to share the inspiration with others!


1 to 20 of 28 - Page: